Drew Hohensee, DC, CCSP - Kinetic Integration Manual Therapy and Performance

Amazing!
5.0

Dr. Hohensee is the best doctor I have ever seen when dealing with injury. Having ran competitively in college, he totally understands runners. I have been having hip issues that have left me unable to run. He worked with me for nearly three hours to identify where my weaknesses were, what I can do to fix them, and how to move forward from this. He is incredibly thorough. I would recommend him to anyone!

Date of Review
January 21, 2016 8:26 am
Type of injury(s) this practitioner treated you for (Optional)
Hip/glute/piriformis pain
What are his/her go-to methods of treatment? (Optional)
Active Release Therapy
Is this health practitioner an athlete? If yes, please list type. (Optional)
In past life, yes.
How many miles do you usually run per week? (Optional)
50+ miles/week
What is your typical training pace or a recent race time? (Optional)
1:22 Half
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
  • You must to post comments
Very thorough
4.5

I saw Drew for a weird diaphragm cramp i kept getting in races. Couldn’t figure out what was happening. My regular PT focuses mostly on body alignment and is great at manually adjusting me to get me back in proper alignment but this just wasn’t fixing the problem. So i went to see Drew and i liked him b/c he found i had a huge knot in my diaphragm and spent an entire session massaging it out. Next race i had no issues. Think seeing him would be a great compliment to my regular PT b/c his focus seems to be a little different and uses many other manual techniques that can be helpful for muscle injuries/issues. He spends lots of time with you and is very thorough. You never feel like he is rushing you in and out.

Date of Review
June 2, 2014 11:01 am
Type of injury(s) this practitioner treated you for (Optional)
Other
What are his/her go-to methods of treatment? (Optional)
ART/massage
Is this health practitioner an athlete? If yes, please list type. (Optional)
runner
How many miles do you usually run per week? (Optional)
35-50 miles/week
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
  • You must to post comments
Consistent Quality
5.0

I have utilized Drew’s expertise for acute running injuries, general maintenance, and for strength building/stabilization progression. As a former collegiate runner, his passion is to work with runners. He is prompt, offers flexible appointment scheduling (which was especially helpful when you’re stretched thin working a 9-5), and up to date with current techniques and therapies. For me personally, it has always been important to have a deep trust in the knowledge of my health care provider: to work with someone who is professional, focused, and knowledgeable. Drew exceeds my expectations by not only having a comprehensive understanding of anatomy and physiology, but also mastering a runner’s application of the bodily mechanics. I have struggled with patella tendonitis and various hip-related strains for years- Drew has worked with me to correct the imbalances and weaknesses which caused my injuries, and also strengthen myself to prevent recurrences. With his help, I’ve been able to run consistently and make huge improvements in my cumulative fitness.

If you couldn’t tell, I’m a huge fan of Drew’s work. If you’re looking for someone who truly understands athletes (with years of apt experience to back him up), give Kinetic Integration a call. J

Date of Review
June 1, 2014 8:36 am
What are his/her go-to methods of treatment? (Optional)
ART, E-stim, Graston, Strength training, Dry Needling
Is this health practitioner an athlete? If yes, please list type. (Optional)
Former NCAA Divison 1 (Cross Country and Track)
How many miles do you usually run per week? (Optional)
35-50 miles/week
What is your typical training pace or a recent race time? (Optional)
1:25 Half Marathon
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
  • You must to post comments
Fantastic
5.0
Screen shot 2014-03-08 at 3.42.45 PM.png

Drew is one of the most professional and top notch healthcare providers I’ve been too. I’ve seen Drew for major injuries, minor aches and pains as well preventative check ups and adjustments. Drew is very thorough and spent a lot of time with me. What I think the clinic does best is pairs manual therapy with strength training. Connected to the clinic is a large, turf floored workout room with med balls, free wights, kettle bells, balance boards, foam rollers, a slide board, ropes and numerous other tools. I’ve spent a lot of time working out under Drew’s guidance. I would definitely recommend the clinic to any runner.

Date of Review
March 8, 2014 4:24 pm
Type of injury(s) this practitioner treated you for (Optional)
Ankle tightness/pain, IT Band syndrome
What are his/her go-to methods of treatment? (Optional)
Manual therapy, ART, Graston, adjustments, Strength exercises
Is this health practitioner an athlete? If yes, please list type. (Optional)
Runner
How many miles do you usually run per week? (Optional)
50+ miles/week
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
  • You must to post comments
Drew is very thorough!
4.5

I’ve seen Drew two to three times, and I was very impressed with how thorough he is. On my first visit I came to see him for knee pain following a marathon. He evaluated how I walk and several components of strength and flexibility. I learned from him that my left hamstring and hip were much tighter and had less range of motion than my right side. He did some ART and took a lot of time showing me strength exercises and stretches to help treat the underlying causes of my pain. I noticed when I ran the next day, that my hip was moving much better than before! I would definitely see Drew again.

Oh, and Drew really gets the competitive runner mentality as a former collegiate athlete, and as someone who works with professional athletes as well.

Date of Review
March 4, 2014 2:31 pm
Type of injury(s) this practitioner treated you for (Optional)
Knee pain, Hip/glute/piriformis pain
What are his/her go-to methods of treatment? (Optional)
ART, adjustments, strength exercises
Is this health practitioner an athlete? If yes, please list type. (Optional)
Yes, Drew ran competitively in college
How many miles do you usually run per week? (Optional)
50+ miles/week
What is your typical training pace or a recent race time? (Optional)
Marathon - 2:56
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
  • You must to post comments
Drew's the man!
5.0

I’ve been seeing Drew for almost all of my injuries for about 2 years now. He is easy to get into which initially attracted me. He understands my goals and necessity for getting healthy ASAP. When I am fairly healthy, seeing Drew and having him work on me for an hour is like flossing my body out. I have been the healthiest I have been in years because of him. The things that makes him stand above the crowd is that he is very humble – for example, he will not force an adjustment like many of my previous chiropractors have. He will also never mention the many professional runners that he treats; rather, he will spend whatever time necessary on you and focus on you. He has come in at 9pm on a Friday night as I was coming back into town and needed an adjustment before my marathon that weekend. He will provide payment plans that work if you don’t have insurance (or it runs out, as in my case). Finally, he offers a free strength class every week to a small group of us which is evidence that he truly cares about you as a runner, to be healthy and meet your goals. He may never make a ton of money because of how generous he is! Very rare to find a doctor with a demeanor like Drew.

Date of Review
March 2, 2014 10:31 am
Type of injury(s) this practitioner treated you for (Optional)
IT Band syndrome, Hamstring pain, Hip/glute/piriformis pain, Low back pain
What are his/her go-to methods of treatment? (Optional)
ART, adjustments, strength exercises
Is this health practitioner an athlete? If yes, please list type. (Optional)
Used to be high level runner
How many miles do you usually run per week? (Optional)
50+ miles/week
What is your typical training pace or a recent race time? (Optional)
3:00 marathon
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
  • You must to post comments
Drew is a healer
5.0

Drew is wonderful. He really listens to what you are saying about your injuries and he goes above and beyond what’s required of him to know the most about it and get you healthy. As a former very competitive and successful runner himself he gets it and knows you just want to get back out there. He’s aggressive with treatment but gentle in demeanor. He helped me with many foot injuries, has supported me in my running goals, and provided strength opportunities for me to get stronger and be healthier. Drew is great at what he does.

Date of Review
March 1, 2014 11:51 pm
Type of injury(s) this practitioner treated you for (Optional)
Plantar fasciitis, Ankle tightness/pain, Stress fracture, Hip/glute/piriformis pain
What are his/her go-to methods of treatment? (Optional)
ART, adjustments, ultrasound, strength exercises
Is this health practitioner an athlete? If yes, please list type. (Optional)
Runner
How many miles do you usually run per week? (Optional)
50+ miles/week
What is your typical training pace or a recent race time? (Optional)
Half marathon: 1:18
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
  • You must to post comments
Showing 7 results
DrewHohensee_Photo_250w.jpg 3 years ago
  • You must to post comments
Screen shot 2014-03-08 at 3.42.45 PM.png 3 years ago by Rose City Runner in Fantastic
  • You must to post comments
Showing 2 results
Find a healthcare provider to keep you running healthy. Read reviews by Portland runners of their favorite physical therapists, chiropractors, massage therapistsM.D.s & D.O.s, naturopaths, nurse practitioners, acupuncturistspodiatrists, and trainers in the Portland, OR metro area. Use the Search, Location, Category, and Sort fields on the main Healthcare Providers page to narrow your search and find exactly who you're looking for.