Reviews

Can't live without Kelly!
5.0
  • carmonaj reviewed 4 years ago
  • last edited 4 years ago

Kelly is simply amazing! She knows the body better than anyone i have ever seen allowing her to really figure out what the issue is rather than just treating the “symptom” or pain. I have been seeing her for just about 8 years now and i have learned so much through her as far as where my weaknesses are, how my body compensates, and what strengthening exercises i need to do to stay healthy. The 8 years is not a reflection of how long i have been injured by the way:) I see her most of the time for simply maintenance, making sure everything is in alignment to avoid injury. She is personally one of the nicest, more genuine people i know and spends a lot of time with you really helping you work through your injury or concern.

Drew is a healer
5.0

Drew is wonderful. He really listens to what you are saying about your injuries and he goes above and beyond what’s required of him to know the most about it and get you healthy. As a former very competitive and successful runner himself he gets it and knows you just want to get back out there. He’s aggressive with treatment but gentle in demeanor. He helped me with many foot injuries, has supported me in my running goals, and provided strength opportunities for me to get stronger and be healthier. Drew is great at what he does.

Drew's the man!
5.0

I’ve been seeing Drew for almost all of my injuries for about 2 years now. He is easy to get into which initially attracted me. He understands my goals and necessity for getting healthy ASAP. When I am fairly healthy, seeing Drew and having him work on me for an hour is like flossing my body out. I have been the healthiest I have been in years because of him. The things that makes him stand above the crowd is that he is very humble – for example, he will not force an adjustment like many of my previous chiropractors have. He will also never mention the many professional runners that he treats; rather, he will spend whatever time necessary on you and focus on you. He has come in at 9pm on a Friday night as I was coming back into town and needed an adjustment before my marathon that weekend. He will provide payment plans that work if you don’t have insurance (or it runs out, as in my case). Finally, he offers a free strength class every week to a small group of us which is evidence that he truly cares about you as a runner, to be healthy and meet your goals. He may never make a ton of money because of how generous he is! Very rare to find a doctor with a demeanor like Drew.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Kelly is amazing!
5.0
  • Amy reviewed 4 years ago

I’ve seen Kelly for almost five years, and I honestly don’t know what I would do without her. Her go-to method of treatment is osteopathic manipulations (adjustments), and she is VERY good at them. When I first saw Kelly, I had developed really bad hamstring pain that I couldn’t eliminate with rolling, stretching, and rest. Kelly determined that my pelvis was rotated quite badly which was pulling on my hamstring. She adjusted my pelvis and gave me several exercises to strengthen my core and glutes. With proper care, the hamstring pain went away.

A couple of years later, after a speed workout on the track, I woke up the following morning feeling like someone had taken a baseball bat to one of my knees – it hurt so bad! I iced and took some time off thinking the pain would just go away, but the pain persisted, and I wasn’t able to run. When I saw Kelly, she found that my talus (in my ankle) was locked up, so my ankle was not moving properly. After adjusting my ankle, I was able to begin running again in the next day or two, and my knee healed!

I have had similar experiences several times with Kelly and have learned that when your joints are not moving properly, they will cause strain, injury, and pain somewhere in your body.

The key to having success with Kelly’s treatment strategy is to make sure you’re doing the strength exercises she recommends. Without proper functional strength, your body will revert to bad habits and your alignment will get messed up again. As I’ve gotten stronger, I’ve needed to see Kelly less frequently for adjustments. I’ve also found that incorporating a good stretching and self-massage routine (and supplementing with sports massage) also helps to keep my body properly aligned, so I don’t need to get adjusted as often.

Kelly is also a great sounding board as a fellow athlete. She has great experience from racing Ironmans and understands the training, rest, and health issues that competitive athletes face.

Just to warn you, Kelly’s waiting list for new patients is LONG, but if you can get in to see her, you will be so happy!

Drew is very thorough!
4.5
  • Amy reviewed 4 years ago

I’ve seen Drew two to three times, and I was very impressed with how thorough he is. On my first visit I came to see him for knee pain following a marathon. He evaluated how I walk and several components of strength and flexibility. I learned from him that my left hamstring and hip were much tighter and had less range of motion than my right side. He did some ART and took a lot of time showing me strength exercises and stretches to help treat the underlying causes of my pain. I noticed when I ran the next day, that my hip was moving much better than before! I would definitely see Drew again.

Oh, and Drew really gets the competitive runner mentality as a former collegiate athlete, and as someone who works with professional athletes as well.

Steve Mitchell helped me
4.0
  • Amy reviewed 4 years ago
  • last edited 4 years ago

I saw Steve Mitchell a couple of years ago when I was training for a marathon and desperately needed to see someone who knows how to adjust the ankle. The talus in my right ankle was locked up, causing really bad right knee pain. He adjusted my pelvis and ankle as needed and gave me some good strength exercises to work on, because my right hip was much weaker than my left, causing the problem with the talus and knee.

Karlee is a great massage therapist for runners!
4.5
  • Amy reviewed 4 years ago

First, Karlee is a competitive runner, which is so helpful since she knows all the places on runners that get tight and cause injury and pain. For the few days after getting a massage from Karlee, I feel like my running form is much smoother and straighter. I used to think of massage as a luxury, and now I think of it as a key tool in staying healthy and injury-free. I wish I could see her every week!

Amber's massages are so relaxing!
5.0
  • Amy reviewed 4 years ago

Amber really has a gift for giving a good, relaxing, overall body massage. After one massage in particular, I felt so relaxed and smooth in a workout a couple days later. She also will use doTerra essential oils in your massage if you like, which I find help me feel so uplifted afterward. I don’t feel like Amber’s focus is really sports massage, but if you want a great feel-good massage, she is a wonderful place to go!

SI issues
5.0

Kelly seems to intuitively know what is wrong and then fixes the issue. I had seen 5 previous physical therapists for SI issues and despite many strength programs, was still all out of whack. Once I saw Kelly, she determined my right side was longer than my left, my tailbone was off and my right SI joint wasn’t moving correctly. She knew in my first visit what needed to be done. I felt so much better!

Kelly has great advice on how to manage a injury (can you run with the injury or need to take running down a notch, speed or no speed etc.) She tries to keep you running as much as possible and understands a runner’s mentality, what is needed for race day, and how your body might react to different types of training.

Kelly’s wait list is long. I was on it for 4 months initially to get in for my first appointment but it was worth the wait. I say, get on it! You won’t be disappointed.

So tight!
5.0

I went to see Vicky while training for a marathon and she worked on my super tight quads, hips, gluts, calves. Her massage was so effective that I felt like my body had been unlocked. A week after one of her massages, I ran a training race and felt like I could move again.

She is a athlete herself and knows when it is most helpful to work a massage into your training week. She gives you information about where your body is tight, in places you might not have known. She can dig deep and really get in there to release your muscles.

I also appreciate her willingness to work with my crazy/tight schedule to fit a appointment in with her. She makes it easy!

I would highly recommend her!

Deep!
5.0

Marlena knows what to do and exactly how to do it to work out your problem sites. She is wonderful. She, like Kelly, the PT she works with, seems to intuitively get how your body is working (or not working) and will fix it. She has years of experience so I think she’s seen and worked with everything. Her super strong fingers dig in to get to the issue and I’ve always walked away with so much more mobility back in my glutes, hips, it band, legs, etc.

I appreciate how Kelly and Marlena work together to get my body to a healthier, happier state.

Portland's new foot and ankle specialist
5.0

I’ve had the pleasure of working with Dr. Meeker on the professional side – not as a patient. He is foot/ankle and ortho trauma trained and a fantastic addition to OHSU Orthopedics. He is very kind and compassionate with his patients – especially the more challenging patients. He’s able to treat sports injuries as well as complex fractures with ease. He has an elegant soft demeanor about him that makes him easy to warm up to and trust. He is an excellent teacher to the orthopedic residents and his staff is lovely to work with. I recommend him without hesitation.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Great therapy
5.0

Karlee is an excellent therapist. She has an intuitive touch, and knew just where I was hurting. I came in with shoulder pain, my left shoulder was killing me after I did a long hard workout. After just two massages I felt 100% better. I no try to make it part of my training regime to see her after hard efforts. She is the best!

Solid LMT
4.5

I found Vicky to be very target focused, helping me with the specific area where I had pain. She gives deep tissue massage, that is truly “deep tissue” meaning, you may need to grab the table, but she’ll work out the tightness. Incredibly empathetic and solid bedside manner. Very professional and easy to schedule.

H2C "Miracle"
5.0
  • Es42 reviewed 4 years ago

I was a day out from running Hood to Coast with lots of knee pain. Bob saw me, made some adjustments, did an amazing taping job and I was able to complete the race with little to no problems – I never thought that would happen.
I incorporate running into other athletic activities I do as well. Bob has helped me with various knee and shoulder issues.
Great guy. Former Navy submarine diver, and former bodybuilder. Lifelong athlete. Runs a high performance Crossfit gym at his location as well.

If you're looking for the strongest masseuse out there...
5.0

I strongly prefer to see women massage therapists when I need whole body work. I’ve had a hard time finding a woman who goes hard all the time without me having to always ask for more pressure. From the very beginning of the hour Aarisa tests my pain tolerance and relentlessly gets into my knotted body. She will of course go lighter if you ask her. I also like that while sometimes we engage in conversation, sometimes we don’t, and it’s not awkward either way. I get massages from her every few weeks and wish it was even more often! Her rates are great ($60 I think) but your first time is only $40 if you want to give her a try. Oh – and be sure to grab a wonderful bite from Proper Eats on your way out which is below her office, one of my favorite restaurants in Portland!

Graston King
3.5

I have to believe that Ted has the most trained in Graston technique in Portland. So if you’re looking for that, hands down I would recommend him! He also has a lot of experience with traveling with Team USA teams and the Portland Timbers. Ted helped keep me running for about a year. My only concern is that he is usually very booked and it would usually take 2-3 weeks to set up an appointment. Sometimes I felt like he didn’t have a ton of time with me during appointments, and treatment could be a bit one-dimensional instead of more problem solving since the treatment didn’t seem to be helping my injury much. But this was what I experienced mostly for just my last injury I had while seeing him (achilles tendonitis), so I would still recommend him in general.

Great method of PT that will complement anything else you are doing
4.5

If only Ike were closer! I had great success incorporating Ike into my doctor regime. I believe he is the only doc in the area that practices Strain Counter Strain, which has a long explanation, but is summed up as a method to release the kinks in your blood flow like a hose that is kinks and can’t flow. It feels very gentle, and while at first it was hard to believe it was working with how gentle it was, I definitely got results. It complements any other method of treatment you might be getting.

Besides that, Ike is the man. He truly cares about you as an athlete and person, and is seriously one of the most positive guys you’ll ever meet. An all around very giving and caring doctor, and I love seeing him around still!

Fantastic
5.0

Drew is one of the most professional and top notch healthcare providers I’ve been too. I’ve seen Drew for major injuries, minor aches and pains as well preventative check ups and adjustments. Drew is very thorough and spent a lot of time with me. What I think the clinic does best is pairs manual therapy with strength training. Connected to the clinic is a large, turf floored workout room with med balls, free wights, kettle bells, balance boards, foam rollers, a slide board, ropes and numerous other tools. I’ve spent a lot of time working out under Drew’s guidance. I would definitely recommend the clinic to any runner.

Looking forward to going back!
4.5

I’ve only gotten to see Vicki once, and loved my time there! She was very pleasant to be around and chat with. Unfortunately it was a few days before a race so I didn’t get to experience all that she has to offer. She did get quite into my quads and so from that alone I do know she’s got a lot in her! I will definitely be seeing her anytime my main therapist is not available.

Go here to get your blood drawn...
4.0

I try to get my ferritin levels checked quarterly so that I can keep up on how I am feeling in relation to that. I had some liver enzyme issues that Vanessa closely tracked and had me get an ultrasound at the hospital. Everyone ended up being normal, but I’m glad that she takes the careful route on everything. She understands runners and is more on the aggressive side as far as suggesting to keep running through whatever you’re feeling.

Pros:
-Feeling tired/off? They see lots of runners and know what to test for. I always ask for Ferritin, Iron, B, and D, and anything else they think. They’ll also test for food allergies.
-Vanessa is very straight forward and to the point about things. I like that about her. Some people don’t.
-I can usually make same day appointments and it’s very quickly in and out.

Cons:
-Sometimes it takes awhile for them to get back to you, especially if you miss the initial phone call about your results. You can be playing phone tag for awhile.
-They used to have a lady who drew blood who was the best! The new one is so-so.

Worst Kept Secret!!
5.0
  • LMD reviewed 4 years ago

My first experience with Kelly was several years ago. A GI problem prompted some time off running and strenuous workouts, which lead to weakness, imbalance and my return to running brought injury. Of course I didn’t know this at first. I saw some good bodywork professionals who kept me running, I did strengthening exercises to regain lost core strength, but things were not getting better. I was treating symptoms with the massage and Graston, and things needed to get bad before I would realize I needed to try something different. And they did, I got to the point where I had trouble and pain walking up my front stairs. The final straw was being unable to sit up in bed. My fear and first question to Kelly was to find out if I had a sports hernia. The good news was “no”, the bad was that everything else was all locked up. My right hip was forward and rotated, left hip rotated back. Psoas and SI joint pretty unhappy from their poorly functioning state. Multiple appointments a week, a growing list of home exercises, and a halt to running. Seeing a PT is a commitment (time, money), so I pledged that I would do as I was told. Kelly kept me understanding the goals of each session, the progression she hoped I would make. I felt like I could do my part with the home exercises. When I was healthy and strong enough to return to running, Kelly directed me through it. I graduated!

I haven’t been in such a sorry state since, but Kelly is the defense against becoming really injured. Depending on what my training looks like, I’ll try to have tune-ups every 6-8 weeks, or as needed. I know that I need to go to Lifestyles after any major traveling. I was able to check-in with Kelly post-baby to make sure returning to running and other exercise was advisable. I feel a confidence in knowing that I am an established patient of Kelly’s. She has such an incredible understanding of the body, and visiting Lifestyles PT is a pretty enjoyable experience!

I was directed to Kelly by a good friend, and I have spread the word to family, friends and clients. A PT this good is hard to not talk about, but yes it can get challenging to get scheduled — but I have witnessed this, they definitely do their best to make it work when possible!

Solid Evaluation
5.0

I always like going to a new person for an evaluation, because I can tell how thorough they are. Shawn was incredibly thorough. Took time to listen and do strength tests to really understand the origin of my injury. I am still in treatment, but the exercises he has shown me and drills he has me doing are already helping. Not to mention, he has an alter g treadmill, so my test runs will be as safe as possible.

This guy is the real deal, just don't get him talking with his hands.
5.0

Michael is solid and has saved a number of my workouts. As a previous runner for Team USA, he understands the runner both mind and body. I mostly have seen him for calf issues, but he works the quads and IT bands like a mad man. I have gone in with tweaks and have literally walked out with no pain. Much of this is understanding the origin of the tightness and taking the time (he often runs over-fyi…) to get it right. I’ve seen him for years and think he is one of the best, if not the best in Portland.

Bob Cook
5.0

Bob Cook is an amazing coach not only because of his training but because he really cares and is passionate about what he is doing. I ran into some shoulder issues as well as some knee pain. When I went in to see Bob he took the time to not only listen to me, but he taught me about what my body was doing with certain movements. He put me on my own workout program to focus on specific movements, stretches and lifts to help strengthen the areas around my shoulder pain. He is very knowledgable and truly wants you to be healthy and active. He knows the importance of proper movement and how to correct “bad habits” not only in lifting, but running and day to day movement. As a mother of five kids I didn’t have the time to not be able to move my shoulder…. And with Bob’s programming and visits I was back at it! I highly recommend him to anyone who is looking for professional care from someone who is honest and truly cares about your recovery.

magic hands
5.0

I have been seeing Justin for over 10 years now and would recommend him to anyone that is looking for an ART provider. I have seen him for injuries (IT band, heel/ankle, hamstring, etc) and maintenance over the years and I swear he is the glue that keeps me healthy and on the road! He understands the body and the mind of the runner and his top priority is to get you healthy while keeping you active. He does his best to stay away from the 3 words every runner hates to hear…”take time off”.

BEST sports massage
5.0
  • bcforster reviewed 4 years ago
  • last edited 4 years ago

I have seen Holley a handful of times and would recommend her to anyone looking for deep tissue, localized work. She has years of experience of working with professional athletes including olympic runners and is great at finding those problem areas and really working them out. The first time I saw Holley was a few weeks before a marathon and I have also seen her post-race and mid-training cycle. She always takes a few minutes to ask about any issues as well as my race schedule so she knows how deep to go. She is also certified in KT Tape and will use it to help extend the benefit of massage.

Knowledgeable PT, comprehensive facility
4.5

I started seeing Dan a few months ago when I was having some fibular head pain. He started with a comprehensive analysis of my running history, imbalances, weaknesses, etc. He has helped to adjust my hips and ankles, as well as give me some strengthening and stretching exercises. I feel like with his athletic background, he understands the mindset of a runner and is realistic in the amount of stretching, etc one actually has time for. I have definitely noticed an improvement in my overall strength since I started working with him.

Knows her stuff!!!
5.0
  • beaver2000 reviewed 4 years ago
  • last edited 4 years ago

I’ve been seeing Holley for a couple years now and she knows her stuff! She’s very experienced in sports related injuries and has gotten me ready for Ironman competitions as well as Half and Full Marathons. She is and will remain a part of my Team!!!!

Massage
5.0
  • runturner reviewed 4 years ago
  • last edited 4 years ago

Holley is very welcoming and incredibly knowledgeable. She is great at asking questions to get to the root of issues and giving you feedback while she is working on problem areas. She is incredibly knowledgeable and sends you home feeling amazing!

Love Kelly!
5.0
  • MJA reviewed 4 years ago
  • last edited 4 years ago

About two years ago I started experiencing some low back/SI issues. After seeing 2 sports chiropractors for several months without much relief… a friend referred me to Kelly.

Within minutes of my first appointment she was able to identify the problem, find my weaknesses and came up with a plan to get me running healthy with just a couple of follow up visits. I walked out with less pain and with confidence that I would be running healthy soon!

Over time my mileage picked up and I decided to train for my first marathon. I experienced some wear and tear and the beginnings of common running injuries, but Kelly was able to find and treat them before they became major issues.

As a competitive athlete, Kelly understands the way runners think. She is caring, has great energy, and is committed to helping her clients reach their goals.

Now I see Kelly for maintenance and tune ups every 4-6 weeks depending on what I’m training for. She is a miracle worker… I don’t think I would be running strong without her!

He gets runners!
4.0
  • MJA reviewed 4 years ago

I started seeing John while struggling with a hip flexor injury that left me unable to run even after a month of time off. I left the first appointment with less pain, better range of motion, and an exercise plan to strengthen my weak glutes and core.

I was about to start training for a spring marathon and John was able to get me up and running again within a week! He gave me the tools I needed to do some self treatment at home which made a huge difference in my recovery.

John’s goal is to keep his patients running while rehabbing, and to have them on a home treatment plan to minimize the need for office visits. It’s easy to make appointments… and often he can squeeze you in for same day appointments!

Great massage!
5.0
  • MJA reviewed 4 years ago
  • last edited 4 years ago

Vicky is awesome! She has kept me running strong throughout marathon training and has been able to find potential problem areas and work them out before they become bigger issues. She can do a super DEEP tissue massage or overall maintenance work depending on what your needs are. Her online scheduling is really convenient and she has been able to squeeze me in on short notice!

Many of my runner friends see Vicky regularly and have nothing but great things to say!

Love Element!
4.5
  • MJA reviewed 4 years ago

Noah has worked on me while I struggled with SI issues and IT band pain. He does really gentle and effective adjustments as well as ART and Graston. His clinic (Element Sports Wellness) has an awesome gym with new equipment and in-house PT and massage therapy.

Noah is not only a great chiropractor, but has checked in with me before and after races… has been really supportive and encouraging as well as helped me come back from stubborn injuries! He is an all around great person who gets the athlete’s mentality!

Kyle is amazing
5.0

Kyle helps us ladies with things that we don’t always think are issues: hormones. As we train and as we age, as women, our hormones change and can make recovery tough, can cause weight gain, absorption issues, and exhaustion that we can’t explain. Kyle has been studying these links and helping women deal with these issues for many years. She is a great listener and the office environment is very comforting. If you have night sweats, not recoering, low iron and D, muscle pain and fatigue that you can’t explain, and fogginess…go see Kyle!

Excellent diagnostician
5.0
  • Nlm reviewed 4 years ago

I have seen Adam a number of times over the past few years for three very different problems. Adam is an ultra marathoner and has an incredibly strong intuitive understanding of the mechanics of running as well as the psychology of runners. He is very thorough in figuring out the root of the problem, not just looking at symptoms. The exercises he prescribes aren’t too burdensome and very helpful in getting me back to running pain free.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Knowledgeable about running and loves her job
5.0

I went to Erika to get help with a chronic piriformis injury. I have battled hamstring issues for over 5 years and just cannot seem to improve despite visiting multiple PT’s, LMT’s, Orthopedist, and Chiropractors. During my first appointment Erika video taped me running on a treadmill, evaluated my running, and offered clear advice on how to improve my form to prevent further injury. She then used various methods to treat the injury itself – stretching, pressure point release, and massage. Finally, she prescribed key exercises for me to do on my own. I went to Erika regularly for about 6 weeks and experienced a strong improvement. Erika is a great partner for any runner and can give advice not only on form but also on the correct shoe for your gait. I strongly recommend Erika!

The Best PT
5.0
  • traceycj reviewed 4 years ago
  • last edited 4 years ago

Victoria is the best therapist I’ve ever seen. She’s extremely knowledgeable and really understands running and sports related issues and injuries. At other facilities I’ve always felt like a number. I did not get that feeling here. I felt like she genuinely cared about making me feel better and “fixing” me. I would recommend Victoria to anyone in the Sherwood, Tualatin, Tigard area.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
First move well then move a lot :)
4.5

I have had many running injuries over the years but a proximal high hamstring injury put me out of competition. I struggled to get back several times only to get compensation injury after compensation injury. I would think I was fixed and get back to training only to get injured again within six months. Alex finally got through to why this was happening and now I am 100% and working my way back to becoming the runner I used to be. Alex has thorough knowledge of anatomy and physiology, knows the athletic body and it’s needs to function well and is an excellent listener and communicator. He will guide you in the process of rebuilding your athletic body if you are patient. Like I said, I have been to many doctors, PTs, chiropractor etc.. Alex is the best if you want to become a well put together endurance athlete.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Finally - someone who figured me out!
5.0

I’ve been suffering with deep, radiating hip pain for many months. I have seen 3 other health care providers in attempt to identify the problem with little results. Alex was so much more thorough in his assessment of my injury – checking my whole body and how it is interacting with my hip and he has given me hope that it’s going to get better!!! I will continue to see him for this and future needs. He is a great listener, straight forward communicator and I am on the road to recovery because of him!

amazing pt
5.0

Colleen is as caring and gifted PT. She takes her time to assess the root cause of the problem. She cured my hamstring and toe injuries. She is willing to work with your schedule. She understands runners as she is a competitive runner herself.

Consistent Quality
5.0

I have utilized Drew’s expertise for acute running injuries, general maintenance, and for strength building/stabilization progression. As a former collegiate runner, his passion is to work with runners. He is prompt, offers flexible appointment scheduling (which was especially helpful when you’re stretched thin working a 9-5), and up to date with current techniques and therapies. For me personally, it has always been important to have a deep trust in the knowledge of my health care provider: to work with someone who is professional, focused, and knowledgeable. Drew exceeds my expectations by not only having a comprehensive understanding of anatomy and physiology, but also mastering a runner’s application of the bodily mechanics. I have struggled with patella tendonitis and various hip-related strains for years- Drew has worked with me to correct the imbalances and weaknesses which caused my injuries, and also strengthen myself to prevent recurrences. With his help, I’ve been able to run consistently and make huge improvements in my cumulative fitness.

If you couldn’t tell, I’m a huge fan of Drew’s work. If you’re looking for someone who truly understands athletes (with years of apt experience to back him up), give Kinetic Integration a call. J

The runner's chiropractor
5.0
  • hornse82 reviewed 4 years ago
  • last edited 4 years ago

Pros:
– Dr. Howell is a runner, so he understands our injuries, and knows what they feel like

  • A visit to Dr. Howell’s office is efficient – assesses your issue, works on issue, gives you take home advice

  • I always feel better when I leave then I did when I came in – he’s a healer

  • Need an appointment today? Usually no problem! I can usually get same day appointments

  • Overall, super nice, knowledgable guy. I wouldn’t see anyone else.

Cons:
– None!

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Runners - go see John
4.5

I found John through my Chiropractor, Dr. Howell and I couldn’t be happier with his care. I scheduled my first visit at the start of a marathon training cycle – and ended up going back for a visit every two weeks until the race. John is super knowledgable about common running injuries, aches and pains. He focuses his work on the places you need healing, each visit his work is customized to where you need it. His massages thorough and strong – think massage therapy with an emphasis on therapy.

Bonus – he is covered by some insurance plans.

Very thorough
4.5
  • carmonaj reviewed 4 years ago
  • last edited 4 years ago

I saw Drew for a weird diaphragm cramp i kept getting in races. Couldn’t figure out what was happening. My regular PT focuses mostly on body alignment and is great at manually adjusting me to get me back in proper alignment but this just wasn’t fixing the problem. So i went to see Drew and i liked him b/c he found i had a huge knot in my diaphragm and spent an entire session massaging it out. Next race i had no issues. Think seeing him would be a great compliment to my regular PT b/c his focus seems to be a little different and uses many other manual techniques that can be helpful for muscle injuries/issues. He spends lots of time with you and is very thorough. You never feel like he is rushing you in and out.

Focused Massage
4.0
  • MJA reviewed 4 years ago

I saw John last fall when I was struggling with some hip flexor issues and about to start marathon training. He is really easy to talk to and knowledgable about running injuries and common muscle imbalances in runners.

I see a chiropractor at the same clinic and often scheduled appts with both of them back to back. John would work on me and then let the chiro know how things looked from the last visit. They worked together to get me up and running in just a couple of weeks.

I would recommend John for anyone with a sports injury… he knows his stuff and is covered by my insurance!

Kelly is great at adjustments
4.0

I saw Kelly for various aches and pains but most notably I used her building up to the Boston Marathon in 2011. I had serious foot pain and she was able to make adjustments and tape me up which allowed me to run pain free and PR in the marathon. Kelly does thorough evaluations of your entire body to determine the source of the pain and problem. She has a nice bedside manner as well.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
John is very helpful
4.0

John is a competitive runner himself so he understands your desire to get better and get better quickly. He focuses on your area of concern and works hard to get it healed quickly. You can usually get an appointment quickly and there are other health care professionals in the office as well that can help you with the bigger picture. I have always appreciated John’s dedication and hard work to determine and fix issues I have had over the years.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Shawn is awesome
5.0

I went to Shawn for a serious foot injury and found him incredibly helpful. Not only did he help me get better quickly but he also gave me exercises and drills to complete before my runs that were helpful and made sense. He gave an incredibly thorough evaluation at my first visit and listened carefully to all the issues I had been having. He knows about the body, about shoes, recovery and comeback training plans and more. He is comprehensive and his office in LO has everything you could ever need. I really appreciated Shawn and his staff.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Great for runners and non-runners!
4.5
  • lakerunner reviewed 4 years ago
  • last edited 4 years ago

As others mentioned in their reviews, John is a competitive runner. I went to see him for recurring injury, one that another non-runner PT wrote off because she could not “fix” it. John immediately understood the issue, treated it on site multiple times, and told me that this injury takes at least a year to heal. John also gave me exercises and dynamic stretches to do on my own to help the recovery. I continue to integrate his tips into my daily and weekly workouts and feel that my chronic condition may actually one day go away!
John is accessible, friendly, and employs a wonderful staff. I am currently dealing with another non-running related issue and plan to make an appointment with him to address it because I just really like working with John!

Showing 1 - 50 of 100 results