Reviews

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Shawn is awesome
5.0

I went to Shawn for a serious foot injury and found him incredibly helpful. Not only did he help me get better quickly but he also gave me exercises and drills to complete before my runs that were helpful and made sense. He gave an incredibly thorough evaluation at my first visit and listened carefully to all the issues I had been having. He knows about the body, about shoes, recovery and comeback training plans and more. He is comprehensive and his office in LO has everything you could ever need. I really appreciated Shawn and his staff.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Great for runners and non-runners!
4.5
  • lakerunner reviewed 4 years ago
  • last edited 4 years ago

As others mentioned in their reviews, John is a competitive runner. I went to see him for recurring injury, one that another non-runner PT wrote off because she could not “fix” it. John immediately understood the issue, treated it on site multiple times, and told me that this injury takes at least a year to heal. John also gave me exercises and dynamic stretches to do on my own to help the recovery. I continue to integrate his tips into my daily and weekly workouts and feel that my chronic condition may actually one day go away!
John is accessible, friendly, and employs a wonderful staff. I am currently dealing with another non-running related issue and plan to make an appointment with him to address it because I just really like working with John!

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Great PT!
4.5

I started going to Chantel after breaking my second metatarsal and realizing that after it had “healed” there was still quite a bit of pain and discomfort. Adjusting my stride to compensate for my foot brought on other aches and pains in my hips and knees.
Stride Strong came highly recommended by the owner of Fit Right and I would concur that my experience was nothing but positive.
Chantel spent the initial 1.5 hrs reviewing my case, evaluating my stride and strength tests. She listens and is proactive. Stridestrong has a website that allows patients to log-in and view animated clips of the exercises they are assigned which has proved to be very useful weeks later.

I’ve seen great improvement and although I’m still working through some issues her exercises and tips are invaluable. My only complaint is that their offices are in Beaverton otherwise I’d go more often!

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Kelly is amazing!
5.0
  • Amy reviewed 4 years ago

I’ve seen Kelly for almost five years, and I honestly don’t know what I would do without her. Her go-to method of treatment is osteopathic manipulations (adjustments), and she is VERY good at them. When I first saw Kelly, I had developed really bad hamstring pain that I couldn’t eliminate with rolling, stretching, and rest. Kelly determined that my pelvis was rotated quite badly which was pulling on my hamstring. She adjusted my pelvis and gave me several exercises to strengthen my core and glutes. With proper care, the hamstring pain went away.

A couple of years later, after a speed workout on the track, I woke up the following morning feeling like someone had taken a baseball bat to one of my knees – it hurt so bad! I iced and took some time off thinking the pain would just go away, but the pain persisted, and I wasn’t able to run. When I saw Kelly, she found that my talus (in my ankle) was locked up, so my ankle was not moving properly. After adjusting my ankle, I was able to begin running again in the next day or two, and my knee healed!

I have had similar experiences several times with Kelly and have learned that when your joints are not moving properly, they will cause strain, injury, and pain somewhere in your body.

The key to having success with Kelly’s treatment strategy is to make sure you’re doing the strength exercises she recommends. Without proper functional strength, your body will revert to bad habits and your alignment will get messed up again. As I’ve gotten stronger, I’ve needed to see Kelly less frequently for adjustments. I’ve also found that incorporating a good stretching and self-massage routine (and supplementing with sports massage) also helps to keep my body properly aligned, so I don’t need to get adjusted as often.

Kelly is also a great sounding board as a fellow athlete. She has great experience from racing Ironmans and understands the training, rest, and health issues that competitive athletes face.

Just to warn you, Kelly’s waiting list for new patients is LONG, but if you can get in to see her, you will be so happy!

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Knowledgeable about running and loves her job
5.0

I went to Erika to get help with a chronic piriformis injury. I have battled hamstring issues for over 5 years and just cannot seem to improve despite visiting multiple PT’s, LMT’s, Orthopedist, and Chiropractors. During my first appointment Erika video taped me running on a treadmill, evaluated my running, and offered clear advice on how to improve my form to prevent further injury. She then used various methods to treat the injury itself – stretching, pressure point release, and massage. Finally, she prescribed key exercises for me to do on my own. I went to Erika regularly for about 6 weeks and experienced a strong improvement. Erika is a great partner for any runner and can give advice not only on form but also on the correct shoe for your gait. I strongly recommend Erika!

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Thai and table massage
5.0

I’ve been seeing DJ for the last 5 years. He helped me recover and return to running after an injury and has been instrumental in keeping me healthy.
He is great at smoothing out those nagging trigger points and creates a very relaxed environment. Somehow I’m able to fall asleep even while he’s digging his knees into my calf and hamstring! I highly recommend seeing him both for injury prevention and maintenance.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
First move well then move a lot :)
4.5

I have had many running injuries over the years but a proximal high hamstring injury put me out of competition. I struggled to get back several times only to get compensation injury after compensation injury. I would think I was fixed and get back to training only to get injured again within six months. Alex finally got through to why this was happening and now I am 100% and working my way back to becoming the runner I used to be. Alex has thorough knowledge of anatomy and physiology, knows the athletic body and it’s needs to function well and is an excellent listener and communicator. He will guide you in the process of rebuilding your athletic body if you are patient. Like I said, I have been to many doctors, PTs, chiropractor etc.. Alex is the best if you want to become a well put together endurance athlete.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Finally - someone who figured me out!
5.0

I’ve been suffering with deep, radiating hip pain for many months. I have seen 3 other health care providers in attempt to identify the problem with little results. Alex was so much more thorough in his assessment of my injury – checking my whole body and how it is interacting with my hip and he has given me hope that it’s going to get better!!! I will continue to see him for this and future needs. He is a great listener, straight forward communicator and I am on the road to recovery because of him!

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Runners - go see John
4.5

I found John through my Chiropractor, Dr. Howell and I couldn’t be happier with his care. I scheduled my first visit at the start of a marathon training cycle – and ended up going back for a visit every two weeks until the race. John is super knowledgable about common running injuries, aches and pains. He focuses his work on the places you need healing, each visit his work is customized to where you need it. His massages thorough and strong – think massage therapy with an emphasis on therapy.

Bonus – he is covered by some insurance plans.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
I never hesitate to recommend Kimberly
5.0
  • Erika Cox reviewed 2 years ago
  • last edited 2 years ago

Kimberly’s credentials are impressive but the way she listens and recommends and follows up is proof of her qualifications to heal. I’ve seen her for running injuries (feet), my husband has seen her for wrist, shoulder golf injury and my teen sees her for spine, core strengthening for golf longevity. I know dancers see her, tennis players, lacrosse players. Kimberly is an athletes doctor. She knows what questions to ask to find the right road to wellness and it’s as individualized as the person! I never hesitate to recommend Kimberly to friends, especially when I hear, “I’ve had this foot pain all my life.” And I know with Kimberly, she’ll help identify why, what can be done to heal and the route to a pain-free life!

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Great therapy
5.0

Karlee is an excellent therapist. She has an intuitive touch, and knew just where I was hurting. I came in with shoulder pain, my left shoulder was killing me after I did a long hard workout. After just two massages I felt 100% better. I no try to make it part of my training regime to see her after hard efforts. She is the best!

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
John is very helpful
4.0

John is a competitive runner himself so he understands your desire to get better and get better quickly. He focuses on your area of concern and works hard to get it healed quickly. You can usually get an appointment quickly and there are other health care professionals in the office as well that can help you with the bigger picture. I have always appreciated John’s dedication and hard work to determine and fix issues I have had over the years.

Can't live without Kelly!
5.0
  • carmonaj reviewed 4 years ago
  • last edited 4 years ago

Kelly is simply amazing! She knows the body better than anyone i have ever seen allowing her to really figure out what the issue is rather than just treating the “symptom” or pain. I have been seeing her for just about 8 years now and i have learned so much through her as far as where my weaknesses are, how my body compensates, and what strengthening exercises i need to do to stay healthy. The 8 years is not a reflection of how long i have been injured by the way:) I see her most of the time for simply maintenance, making sure everything is in alignment to avoid injury. She is personally one of the nicest, more genuine people i know and spends a lot of time with you really helping you work through your injury or concern.

Graston King
3.5

I have to believe that Ted has the most trained in Graston technique in Portland. So if you’re looking for that, hands down I would recommend him! He also has a lot of experience with traveling with Team USA teams and the Portland Timbers. Ted helped keep me running for about a year. My only concern is that he is usually very booked and it would usually take 2-3 weeks to set up an appointment. Sometimes I felt like he didn’t have a ton of time with me during appointments, and treatment could be a bit one-dimensional instead of more problem solving since the treatment didn’t seem to be helping my injury much. But this was what I experienced mostly for just my last injury I had while seeing him (achilles tendonitis), so I would still recommend him in general.

Great massage!
5.0
  • MJA reviewed 4 years ago
  • last edited 4 years ago

Vicky is awesome! She has kept me running strong throughout marathon training and has been able to find potential problem areas and work them out before they become bigger issues. She can do a super DEEP tissue massage or overall maintenance work depending on what your needs are. Her online scheduling is really convenient and she has been able to squeeze me in on short notice!

Many of my runner friends see Vicky regularly and have nothing but great things to say!

Back and Running!
5.0

I have been skeptical, to say the least, about most doctors and healthcare providers. And as a runner I have attempted to avoid going to the doctor, oftentimes being too late and they tell me to take a break and stop running. I ignore it, get hurt worse, and then sit and mope. With Dr. Dean, I was worried that he would do the same thing. And with a push from friends I made an appointment. With my jaded intentions I walked through the door expecting to hear I had a season ending injury and that I needed to take time off. Exactly the opposite! He sat me down, told me I just had things I needed to do to manage the pain, and in turn fix and eliminate the pain. He said that I could still run the race I had signed up for, and that I would actually become faster with his help! Who doesn’t like to hear that?? Thank you to Dr. Dean for all of his advice. He truly just wants to help runners get out there and enjoy the miles.

Amazing! Recommend to EVERYONE
5.0
  • Anthony Lee reviewed 1 year ago
  • last edited 1 year ago

Being an ultra marathon runner, there is a lot of strain on my legs. It took about couple months of painful practices and frustration to finally do something about it, but when I went to my first appointment about 2 years ago now, Dr. Jen Davis knew exactly what to do. Dr. Davis is amazingly knowledgeable. She takes the time to know about your total health and is there to find the root of the problem. She is a great listener and will work with you to focus on your concerns. I go in regularly for adjustments to stay healthy. It is great to have a PT where they take the time to actually fix the problem and not patch the symptom. With a couple Graston treatments, the scar tissue in my legs began to break down and also dry needling and E-Stimulus, I was able to compete pain free. I was also given multiple exercises to prevent further injuries and to stay pain free. I am not injuryproof but all thanks to Dr. Davis, I know I’ll get fixed up faster than other practicitioners. I would recommend her to any runner or athlete or person dealing with an injury. She is an athlete herself and knows a variety of techniques to get you back to what you love most. Thank you for everything!

Dr Distante is Amazing!!
5.0
  • Rebecca von Duering reviewed 10 months ago

I started to see Dr Distante in September 2015 for some GI distress. After going through testing and different supplement and dietary alterations she has helped transform me completely! I moved here from another state and with that move came side effects from the stress. I suffered from GI distress, insomnia, and anxiety. And with all of her natural intervention I’m back to me again!! She’s also worked with my son who had reflux, facial/arm skin bumps, and motor tics. Turns out he has food intolerances. Again, with her help and intervention he is just about cured–no drugs! I can’t speak highly enough about her. She educates you and guides you in treatment that is all natural and she is realistic (I’m a full time working mom of 3…). I recommend her to everyone I talk to! 😉

Drew is a healer
5.0

Drew is wonderful. He really listens to what you are saying about your injuries and he goes above and beyond what’s required of him to know the most about it and get you healthy. As a former very competitive and successful runner himself he gets it and knows you just want to get back out there. He’s aggressive with treatment but gentle in demeanor. He helped me with many foot injuries, has supported me in my running goals, and provided strength opportunities for me to get stronger and be healthier. Drew is great at what he does.

Great method of PT that will complement anything else you are doing
4.5

If only Ike were closer! I had great success incorporating Ike into my doctor regime. I believe he is the only doc in the area that practices Strain Counter Strain, which has a long explanation, but is summed up as a method to release the kinks in your blood flow like a hose that is kinks and can’t flow. It feels very gentle, and while at first it was hard to believe it was working with how gentle it was, I definitely got results. It complements any other method of treatment you might be getting.

Besides that, Ike is the man. He truly cares about you as an athlete and person, and is seriously one of the most positive guys you’ll ever meet. An all around very giving and caring doctor, and I love seeing him around still!

Love Element!
4.5
  • MJA reviewed 4 years ago

Noah has worked on me while I struggled with SI issues and IT band pain. He does really gentle and effective adjustments as well as ART and Graston. His clinic (Element Sports Wellness) has an awesome gym with new equipment and in-house PT and massage therapy.

Noah is not only a great chiropractor, but has checked in with me before and after races… has been really supportive and encouraging as well as helped me come back from stubborn injuries! He is an all around great person who gets the athlete’s mentality!

an athlete treating athletes
5.0

I’ve been going to Foland for the last 4-5 years. He has a huge fund of knowledge as an elite runner and how to treat athletes of all abilities. Whether it’s a tight back, my chronic right hip issue, and putting my feet back together, he’s patient, kind, and willing to work with me to get me back out running again.

The best PT I've ever had!
5.0
  • Grayson Ollar reviewed 1 year ago
  • last edited 1 year ago

Working with Jen Davis has been something that’s helped me significantly over my high school running career, and is still benefiting me today. During my early years of high school, I was plagued with running injuries to a point where every week some new muscle would hurt. When I started going to physical therapy sessions with Jen, we were able to pin down the causes of my injuries, and work on these weaknesses. After each session, I would leave feeling better than before, and with more understanding of what I needed to do to get better. Now that I am running on a collegiate level I have been working harder then ever before. Having Jen guide me over the years on how to stay healthy, I have been able to find success at this new level of running without fear of injury. And while running injuries can be inevitable at times, because of Jen, I know how to get over them and come back stronger than ever.

Rachel is great!
5.0
  • Rebecca von Duering reviewed 10 months ago

Rachel is so great! I’ve been seeing her regularly for almost 2 years! She is so sensitive and at the same time assertive. She uses traditional massage but also cupping which helps tremendously!

Drew's the man!
5.0

I’ve been seeing Drew for almost all of my injuries for about 2 years now. He is easy to get into which initially attracted me. He understands my goals and necessity for getting healthy ASAP. When I am fairly healthy, seeing Drew and having him work on me for an hour is like flossing my body out. I have been the healthiest I have been in years because of him. The things that makes him stand above the crowd is that he is very humble – for example, he will not force an adjustment like many of my previous chiropractors have. He will also never mention the many professional runners that he treats; rather, he will spend whatever time necessary on you and focus on you. He has come in at 9pm on a Friday night as I was coming back into town and needed an adjustment before my marathon that weekend. He will provide payment plans that work if you don’t have insurance (or it runs out, as in my case). Finally, he offers a free strength class every week to a small group of us which is evidence that he truly cares about you as a runner, to be healthy and meet your goals. He may never make a ton of money because of how generous he is! Very rare to find a doctor with a demeanor like Drew.

Fantastic
5.0

Drew is one of the most professional and top notch healthcare providers I’ve been too. I’ve seen Drew for major injuries, minor aches and pains as well preventative check ups and adjustments. Drew is very thorough and spent a lot of time with me. What I think the clinic does best is pairs manual therapy with strength training. Connected to the clinic is a large, turf floored workout room with med balls, free wights, kettle bells, balance boards, foam rollers, a slide board, ropes and numerous other tools. I’ve spent a lot of time working out under Drew’s guidance. I would definitely recommend the clinic to any runner.

Kyle is amazing
5.0

Kyle helps us ladies with things that we don’t always think are issues: hormones. As we train and as we age, as women, our hormones change and can make recovery tough, can cause weight gain, absorption issues, and exhaustion that we can’t explain. Kyle has been studying these links and helping women deal with these issues for many years. She is a great listener and the office environment is very comforting. If you have night sweats, not recoering, low iron and D, muscle pain and fatigue that you can’t explain, and fogginess…go see Kyle!

Need a doc who gets it?
5.0

I went to Dr. Howard on a referral from my PC, and was dreading having to explain to another non-runner that my mileage is not abnormal, and that stopping running altogether is simply not an option. My hip had been giving me trouble for a while and was not getting much better, so my chiropractor wanted me to try and get an MRI to see what it could be. Dr. Howard started our visit with a general list of questions, and my responses soon changed her questions to those that only fellow runner would know to ask.

Dr. Howard is an accomplished triathlete and Ironwoman who has the experience to understand running/biking/swimming injuries and how those impact the day-to-day life of runners, cyclists, and swimmers. It was not only refreshing, but encouraging to talk with a doctor who spoke my language and understood what taking a few days off of running would mean to me. When she asked me to promise to not run until the results of my MRI came back, I was able to promise without crossing my fingers behind my back and feeling like I was being talked down to.

Not only am I happy to say my MRI came back clean, but Dr. Howard called me herself to tell me and said she would look for me at the tri we are both doing on Sunday. If you have Kaiser, I highly recommend Dr. Howard. She gets it!

A Dream Come True
5.0
  • Sheryl Walsh reviewed 1 year ago
  • last edited 1 year ago

I called Dr. Davis three weeks before I was suppose to run the Boston Marathon, my dream race, a goal I had been working towards most of my adult life. I had been running my last 20 mile training run and stepped in a pothole halfway through the run. My ankle was swollen, stiff, and sore and I was upset! She talked some sense into me, and got me running again in a week. I ran a great race, even qualified again for next year! Unfortunately my body was a wreck even before I twisted my ankle. I had injured my hip 9 months prior and had been through physical therapy, two orthopedic exams, an MRI, and finally decided to have a steroid shot in my hip so I could train for Boston. The shot was wearing off too soon when I met Dr. Davis three weeks before the marathon and I was staring to have a lot of pain again. She performed dry needling and I really felt like it was a miracle! In just a few sessions, as well as at home stretching, I felt 90% better, what a relief after battling this pain for 9 months. Now, I would say my hip is completely recovered. Lastly, after I expressed interest, she got me started on a minimalist shoe running plan and I spent the summer working up to running in the new shoes and am loving it. I feel like I really can run forever, pain free. I cannot recommend Dr. Davis enough, she has a true passion for her profession and a love for the sport which you can feel from your first visit.

Dr Li is a miracle worker
4.5
  • Rebecca von Duering reviewed 10 months ago

I started seeing Dr Li almost 2 years ago for migraines. I had never been to acupuncture before. Well–it was awesome. I felt immediate relief during treatment and after 4 weeks of treatment once weekly my migraines were gone! 2 more weeks for safe keeping and now I go once a month for prevention. As long as I keep that up they stay at bay. No drugs! The best part is when I go I tell her anything else that is bugging me and she adds that into the protocol and voila! The pain is gone!!

Looking forward to going back!
4.5

I’ve only gotten to see Vicki once, and loved my time there! She was very pleasant to be around and chat with. Unfortunately it was a few days before a race so I didn’t get to experience all that she has to offer. She did get quite into my quads and so from that alone I do know she’s got a lot in her! I will definitely be seeing her anytime my main therapist is not available.

Excellent diagnostician
5.0
  • Nlm reviewed 4 years ago

I have seen Adam a number of times over the past few years for three very different problems. Adam is an ultra marathoner and has an incredibly strong intuitive understanding of the mechanics of running as well as the psychology of runners. He is very thorough in figuring out the root of the problem, not just looking at symptoms. The exercises he prescribes aren’t too burdensome and very helpful in getting me back to running pain free.

One of the best
5.0

I can’t say enough about Kurt. If you are an athlete and want an amazing sports massage, he is the one to see. Kurt knows all the small details and commonly tight areas on runners. He picks up on very specific things and works on them until he notices a change. Every massage I have gotten from Kurt has been excellent. I am a physical therapist and refer many patients to him with 100% confidence they will have nothing short of a positive experience and one of the best massages of their life.

Terrific Doctor!!
5.0

I first saw Dr. Cornwall b/c my PT referred me to him to get PRP injections in my ankle. If you have gotten PRP injections before, you know how very painful they are so i was of course pretty nervous about the process. Dr. Cornwall made the entire experience really great. He is extremely approachable and easy to talk to which is hard to find with doctors these days. He made me feel so comfortable. I went back recently to Dr. Cornwall to get the same PRP injections in my other foot and he was just as great. I would see Dr. Cornwall as a primary care physician. I find that DO’s are extremely well rounded in their knowledge and really take time with you! The other thing i really like about him is he does manual adjustments which is a bonus!

Review of Jen Davis
5.0
  • Larry Betten reviewed 1 year ago
  • last edited 1 year ago

Jen has consistently healed my injuries many times through her competent and caring professionalism.
I have been competing on Team USA with USA Triathlon for the past six years and her care has allowed me to continue with my training and competition. I have told her that she is a miracle healer and it is all true.

Lindsy is Awesome!
5.0
  • Jessica Groff reviewed 6 months ago

I am an avid runner and 7 time marathoner. Lindsy has helped me throughout my journey as a runner. After every marathon I have terrible ankle pain and swelling and I know that as soon as I can get in to see her I will be back to my old self again. She has an amazing way of troubleshooting any issue and finding the solution to get you back out there pounding the pavement. I can’t recommend Lindsy enough, she is an incredible therapist and a wonderful person. Just go see her already!

Drew is very thorough!
4.5
  • Amy reviewed 4 years ago

I’ve seen Drew two to three times, and I was very impressed with how thorough he is. On my first visit I came to see him for knee pain following a marathon. He evaluated how I walk and several components of strength and flexibility. I learned from him that my left hamstring and hip were much tighter and had less range of motion than my right side. He did some ART and took a lot of time showing me strength exercises and stretches to help treat the underlying causes of my pain. I noticed when I ran the next day, that my hip was moving much better than before! I would definitely see Drew again.

Oh, and Drew really gets the competitive runner mentality as a former collegiate athlete, and as someone who works with professional athletes as well.

Go here to get your blood drawn...
4.0

I try to get my ferritin levels checked quarterly so that I can keep up on how I am feeling in relation to that. I had some liver enzyme issues that Vanessa closely tracked and had me get an ultrasound at the hospital. Everyone ended up being normal, but I’m glad that she takes the careful route on everything. She understands runners and is more on the aggressive side as far as suggesting to keep running through whatever you’re feeling.

Pros:
-Feeling tired/off? They see lots of runners and know what to test for. I always ask for Ferritin, Iron, B, and D, and anything else they think. They’ll also test for food allergies.
-Vanessa is very straight forward and to the point about things. I like that about her. Some people don’t.
-I can usually make same day appointments and it’s very quickly in and out.

Cons:
-Sometimes it takes awhile for them to get back to you, especially if you miss the initial phone call about your results. You can be playing phone tag for awhile.
-They used to have a lady who drew blood who was the best! The new one is so-so.

Internist in Pasadena
5.0
  • Selltrack reviewed 3 years ago
  • last edited 3 years ago

Started seeing Dr. Hillier about 3 years ago after undergoing open heart surgery. Although I had been seeing a different doctor years prior, Dr. Hillier was recommended to me by multiple people. I have loved seeing her since the beginning! She’s very thorough, efficient, and knows her stuff!!! I rarely have any waiting time, and her staff is awesome!!! If you’re in the area and need a regular physician, she’s the one!!!

Sr. Runner Still Running!
5.0

As a 55 yr old runner who also teaches fitness & leads running groups, it was imperative that I try to stay injury free. Jen helped me come up with a plan that will keep me competitive & enjoying what I Love most: running daily! She also dry needled me when I had an issue that was solved quickly. She is a professional that cares about the community as well & participates & leads events that are important.

It is a pleasure to know her & recommend her. She will use her extensive knowledge & training to keep you moving forward with your goals!

Steve Mitchell helped me
4.0
  • Amy reviewed 4 years ago
  • last edited 4 years ago

I saw Steve Mitchell a couple of years ago when I was training for a marathon and desperately needed to see someone who knows how to adjust the ankle. The talus in my right ankle was locked up, causing really bad right knee pain. He adjusted my pelvis and ankle as needed and gave me some good strength exercises to work on, because my right hip was much weaker than my left, causing the problem with the talus and knee.

Worst Kept Secret!!
5.0
  • LMD reviewed 4 years ago

My first experience with Kelly was several years ago. A GI problem prompted some time off running and strenuous workouts, which lead to weakness, imbalance and my return to running brought injury. Of course I didn’t know this at first. I saw some good bodywork professionals who kept me running, I did strengthening exercises to regain lost core strength, but things were not getting better. I was treating symptoms with the massage and Graston, and things needed to get bad before I would realize I needed to try something different. And they did, I got to the point where I had trouble and pain walking up my front stairs. The final straw was being unable to sit up in bed. My fear and first question to Kelly was to find out if I had a sports hernia. The good news was “no”, the bad was that everything else was all locked up. My right hip was forward and rotated, left hip rotated back. Psoas and SI joint pretty unhappy from their poorly functioning state. Multiple appointments a week, a growing list of home exercises, and a halt to running. Seeing a PT is a commitment (time, money), so I pledged that I would do as I was told. Kelly kept me understanding the goals of each session, the progression she hoped I would make. I felt like I could do my part with the home exercises. When I was healthy and strong enough to return to running, Kelly directed me through it. I graduated!

I haven’t been in such a sorry state since, but Kelly is the defense against becoming really injured. Depending on what my training looks like, I’ll try to have tune-ups every 6-8 weeks, or as needed. I know that I need to go to Lifestyles after any major traveling. I was able to check-in with Kelly post-baby to make sure returning to running and other exercise was advisable. I feel a confidence in knowing that I am an established patient of Kelly’s. She has such an incredible understanding of the body, and visiting Lifestyles PT is a pretty enjoyable experience!

I was directed to Kelly by a good friend, and I have spread the word to family, friends and clients. A PT this good is hard to not talk about, but yes it can get challenging to get scheduled — but I have witnessed this, they definitely do their best to make it work when possible!

The Best PT
5.0
  • traceycj reviewed 4 years ago
  • last edited 4 years ago

Victoria is the best therapist I’ve ever seen. She’s extremely knowledgeable and really understands running and sports related issues and injuries. At other facilities I’ve always felt like a number. I did not get that feeling here. I felt like she genuinely cared about making me feel better and “fixing” me. I would recommend Victoria to anyone in the Sherwood, Tualatin, Tigard area.

Cardiologist in Pasadena
5.0
  • Selltrack reviewed 3 years ago
  • last edited 3 years ago

Started seeing dr Roth over 5 years ago when I was pregnant with my son. I was having feinting issues so I was referred to Dr. Roth. He detected and diagnosed my heart condition which had gone undetected since birth!!! 3 years later I was having open heart surgery because of his thoroughness. His practice has many doctors in it and all are very qualified. The practice is efficient, very little waiting time, and extremely thorough. I always enjoy seeing Dr. ROTH and highly recommend his services to anyone needing a cardiologist!

Best in the Business
5.0
  • arbayer reviewed 3 years ago
  • last edited 3 years ago

Karl is by far one of the best all around therapists I have ever seen! He is thorough and will go the extra mile to get you healthy. He loves working with runners and does a great job with anything you throw at him. I have seen him for a whole gamut of things from a quad strain to an MCL strain to SI problems to many more and he has found a way to treat them all. I would recommend him to anyone looking for a great PT, especially if you are a runner!

62 year old Ultra Runner and Dr. Jen keeps me running pain free while recently setting PR's !
5.0

I first saw Dr. Jen Davis approximately 2 years ago.

When I originally went to see her I was concerned that I might be approaching the end of running for me. After just a few minutes of analysis she assured me that I’d be running again and probably faster than before.

She was right ! I’m now running further and faster at age 62.

If you have any issue or pain I highly recommend you see Dr. Jen.

Karlee is a great massage therapist for runners!
4.5
  • Amy reviewed 4 years ago

First, Karlee is a competitive runner, which is so helpful since she knows all the places on runners that get tight and cause injury and pain. For the few days after getting a massage from Karlee, I feel like my running form is much smoother and straighter. I used to think of massage as a luxury, and now I think of it as a key tool in staying healthy and injury-free. I wish I could see her every week!

Solid Evaluation
5.0

I always like going to a new person for an evaluation, because I can tell how thorough they are. Shawn was incredibly thorough. Took time to listen and do strength tests to really understand the origin of my injury. I am still in treatment, but the exercises he has shown me and drills he has me doing are already helping. Not to mention, he has an alter g treadmill, so my test runs will be as safe as possible.

Well Done Massage
4.5

Aarisa was great at identifying areas that I needed work on more than others and prefer to have a woman massage therapist. It had been about a year since I had my last massage and she knew how hard to go on me. She always made sure to check if it was too much pressure. I also really appreciated how she made sure I know that too much pressure where it’s just too painful will do more harm than good. I was mildly sore in certain areas after the massage but the next day I had a 14 mi long run and there was almost no pain. My body and legs felt nice and loose compared to how I usually feel, and enjoyed my run. I was so happy to find out how good my legs felt. She didn’t work too hard or too light, but just the right amount. She only charges $45 for 60 minutes for the first appointment. It was also nice that she works on Saturdays, which is nice for me and those who work Monday-Friday throughout the day.

Wonderful core rehab program!
4.5
  • Amy reviewed 3 years ago

Kelly specializes in core rehab and helping people close diastasis recti without surgery by learning to activate and strengthen their transverse abdominis. I’ve had three children, two of whom were 9.5 and 10 lbs, and I was left with diastasis recti that was three to four finger-widths wide. Before seeing Kelly, I felt so disconnected from my core. At the end of some nights, my stomach would hang out, and I had no idea how to tell my body to pull it in. When I was running, I also didn’t know how to properly engage my core and my form felt so jagged and off. Throughout my four visits with Kelly, she taught me how to engage my transverse, how to find neutral pelvis, stretches to do throughout the day to help release tight areas and help the transverse engage, and how to ensure I was using the transverse properly throughout strength exercises. My stomach is flatter now, and my diastasis is narrower and shallower. I hope to close it completely if I keep up the exercises I learned through Kelly’s core rehab program. My only caution is that Kelly’s visits are quite expensive, so make sure you know ahead of time what to expect payment-wise so it doesn’t come as a surprise. Still, I would totally recommend Kelly Dean to anyone who wants to close diastasis recti and/or learn to better engage their core in running, strength work, and tasks performed throughout the day. The transverse is supposed to stabilize us in everything we do, and mine definitely wasn’t working properly before seeing Kelly. You can read my full blog post about learning to engage my transverse here: http://runningfavorites.com/how-learning-to-engage-my-transverse-abdominis-has-smoothed-my-running-form-and-flattened-my-tummy/.

Showing 1 - 50 of 100 results