Reviews

Bob Cook
5.0

Bob Cook is an amazing coach not only because of his training but because he really cares and is passionate about what he is doing. I ran into some shoulder issues as well as some knee pain. When I went in to see Bob he took the time to not only listen to me, but he taught me about what my body was doing with certain movements. He put me on my own workout program to focus on specific movements, stretches and lifts to help strengthen the areas around my shoulder pain. He is very knowledgable and truly wants you to be healthy and active. He knows the importance of proper movement and how to correct “bad habits” not only in lifting, but running and day to day movement. As a mother of five kids I didn’t have the time to not be able to move my shoulder…. And with Bob’s programming and visits I was back at it! I highly recommend him to anyone who is looking for professional care from someone who is honest and truly cares about your recovery.

Need relaxation? Need deep work?
5.0

Shannon has an incredible way of making you feel relaxed even during the most painful IT Band work. She has a variety of tricks up her sleeve (cupping, hot stones, foot scrubs, essential oils) to customize your massage to your needs. For those of you ladies who are expecting, her table also has a removable panel and netting for your belly while she works on your back. That’s right, you get to lay on your belly! Sweet space, great massage, and only $45 for your first hour massage! Not a bad deal!

Knowledgeable PT, comprehensive facility
4.5

I started seeing Dan a few months ago when I was having some fibular head pain. He started with a comprehensive analysis of my running history, imbalances, weaknesses, etc. He has helped to adjust my hips and ankles, as well as give me some strengthening and stretching exercises. I feel like with his athletic background, he understands the mindset of a runner and is realistic in the amount of stretching, etc one actually has time for. I have definitely noticed an improvement in my overall strength since I started working with him.

Fantastic
5.0

Drew is one of the most professional and top notch healthcare providers I’ve been too. I’ve seen Drew for major injuries, minor aches and pains as well preventative check ups and adjustments. Drew is very thorough and spent a lot of time with me. What I think the clinic does best is pairs manual therapy with strength training. Connected to the clinic is a large, turf floored workout room with med balls, free wights, kettle bells, balance boards, foam rollers, a slide board, ropes and numerous other tools. I’ve spent a lot of time working out under Drew’s guidance. I would definitely recommend the clinic to any runner.

Terrific Running Gait Analysis
5.0
  • Michael Cal reviewed 2 years ago
  • last edited 2 years ago

I went to Colleen for a gait analysis. She performed a thorough history and examination before doing a video analysis of my running stride on the treadmill. She showed me how I was running and measured the angles of my stride from multiple camera angles. Then she made suggestions for how to improve efficiency and reduce strain on my body and the risk of injury. I was able to make immediate improvements that, with continued training, should help me to run faster and pain-free going forward.

I would highly recommend Colleen!

A Dream Come True
5.0
  • Sheryl Walsh reviewed 1 year ago
  • last edited 1 year ago

I called Dr. Davis three weeks before I was suppose to run the Boston Marathon, my dream race, a goal I had been working towards most of my adult life. I had been running my last 20 mile training run and stepped in a pothole halfway through the run. My ankle was swollen, stiff, and sore and I was upset! She talked some sense into me, and got me running again in a week. I ran a great race, even qualified again for next year! Unfortunately my body was a wreck even before I twisted my ankle. I had injured my hip 9 months prior and had been through physical therapy, two orthopedic exams, an MRI, and finally decided to have a steroid shot in my hip so I could train for Boston. The shot was wearing off too soon when I met Dr. Davis three weeks before the marathon and I was staring to have a lot of pain again. She performed dry needling and I really felt like it was a miracle! In just a few sessions, as well as at home stretching, I felt 90% better, what a relief after battling this pain for 9 months. Now, I would say my hip is completely recovered. Lastly, after I expressed interest, she got me started on a minimalist shoe running plan and I spent the summer working up to running in the new shoes and am loving it. I feel like I really can run forever, pain free. I cannot recommend Dr. Davis enough, she has a true passion for her profession and a love for the sport which you can feel from your first visit.

Kyle is amazing
5.0

Kyle helps us ladies with things that we don’t always think are issues: hormones. As we train and as we age, as women, our hormones change and can make recovery tough, can cause weight gain, absorption issues, and exhaustion that we can’t explain. Kyle has been studying these links and helping women deal with these issues for many years. She is a great listener and the office environment is very comforting. If you have night sweats, not recoering, low iron and D, muscle pain and fatigue that you can’t explain, and fogginess…go see Kyle!

BEST sports massage
5.0
  • bcforster reviewed 4 years ago
  • last edited 4 years ago

I have seen Holley a handful of times and would recommend her to anyone looking for deep tissue, localized work. She has years of experience of working with professional athletes including olympic runners and is great at finding those problem areas and really working them out. The first time I saw Holley was a few weeks before a marathon and I have also seen her post-race and mid-training cycle. She always takes a few minutes to ask about any issues as well as my race schedule so she knows how deep to go. She is also certified in KT Tape and will use it to help extend the benefit of massage.

Cardiologist in Pasadena
5.0
  • Selltrack reviewed 3 years ago
  • last edited 3 years ago

Started seeing dr Roth over 5 years ago when I was pregnant with my son. I was having feinting issues so I was referred to Dr. Roth. He detected and diagnosed my heart condition which had gone undetected since birth!!! 3 years later I was having open heart surgery because of his thoroughness. His practice has many doctors in it and all are very qualified. The practice is efficient, very little waiting time, and extremely thorough. I always enjoy seeing Dr. ROTH and highly recommend his services to anyone needing a cardiologist!

Solid LMT
4.5

I found Vicky to be very target focused, helping me with the specific area where I had pain. She gives deep tissue massage, that is truly “deep tissue” meaning, you may need to grab the table, but she’ll work out the tightness. Incredibly empathetic and solid bedside manner. Very professional and easy to schedule.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Finally - someone who figured me out!
5.0

I’ve been suffering with deep, radiating hip pain for many months. I have seen 3 other health care providers in attempt to identify the problem with little results. Alex was so much more thorough in his assessment of my injury – checking my whole body and how it is interacting with my hip and he has given me hope that it’s going to get better!!! I will continue to see him for this and future needs. He is a great listener, straight forward communicator and I am on the road to recovery because of him!

Great for exercise-related injuries
5.0

As an over-50 runner, and someone who has tried a number of different health care modalitites — massage, chiropractic, PT, etc. — over the years to recover from exercise-related injuries, I hold Alexis’s skills and knowledge in extremely high regard. Her initial intake of me was in-depth and thorough, and her treatments — along with the home exercises she assigned — addressed both the injury itself and the physical weaknesses and imbalances that helped me get injured in the first place. She also addressed some other non-running related issues I had going on. Alexis takes time to ask about and listen to what’s really going on with you. When I read about how many professional runners are beginning to use acupuncture as part of their recovery toolkit, I decided to give Alexis a try, and I’m extremely glad that I did!

Steve Mitchell helped me
4.0
  • Amy reviewed 4 years ago
  • last edited 4 years ago

I saw Steve Mitchell a couple of years ago when I was training for a marathon and desperately needed to see someone who knows how to adjust the ankle. The talus in my right ankle was locked up, causing really bad right knee pain. He adjusted my pelvis and ankle as needed and gave me some good strength exercises to work on, because my right hip was much weaker than my left, causing the problem with the talus and knee.

Can't live without Kelly!
5.0
  • carmonaj reviewed 4 years ago
  • last edited 3 years ago

Kelly is simply amazing! She knows the body better than anyone i have ever seen allowing her to really figure out what the issue is rather than just treating the “symptom” or pain. I have been seeing her for just about 8 years now and i have learned so much through her as far as where my weaknesses are, how my body compensates, and what strengthening exercises i need to do to stay healthy. The 8 years is not a reflection of how long i have been injured by the way:) I see her most of the time for simply maintenance, making sure everything is in alignment to avoid injury. She is personally one of the nicest, more genuine people i know and spends a lot of time with you really helping you work through your injury or concern.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Great PT!
4.5

I started going to Chantel after breaking my second metatarsal and realizing that after it had “healed” there was still quite a bit of pain and discomfort. Adjusting my stride to compensate for my foot brought on other aches and pains in my hips and knees.
Stride Strong came highly recommended by the owner of Fit Right and I would concur that my experience was nothing but positive.
Chantel spent the initial 1.5 hrs reviewing my case, evaluating my stride and strength tests. She listens and is proactive. Stridestrong has a website that allows patients to log-in and view animated clips of the exercises they are assigned which has proved to be very useful weeks later.

I’ve seen great improvement and although I’m still working through some issues her exercises and tips are invaluable. My only complaint is that their offices are in Beaverton otherwise I’d go more often!

He gets runners!
4.0
  • MJA reviewed 4 years ago

I started seeing John while struggling with a hip flexor injury that left me unable to run even after a month of time off. I left the first appointment with less pain, better range of motion, and an exercise plan to strengthen my weak glutes and core.

I was about to start training for a spring marathon and John was able to get me up and running again within a week! He gave me the tools I needed to do some self treatment at home which made a huge difference in my recovery.

John’s goal is to keep his patients running while rehabbing, and to have them on a home treatment plan to minimize the need for office visits. It’s easy to make appointments… and often he can squeeze you in for same day appointments!

Perfect for Runners
5.0
  • carmonaj reviewed 3 years ago
  • last edited 3 years ago

This was my first ever massage and i loved it! what i didn’t want was just a “feel good” massage with oils and incense (which i’m sure she would be great at too). Instead it was exactly what i needed and wanted. Karlee was able to work out a large knot i had in my psoas. She hit every spot that runners tend to be tight making me realize how much i need to make this part of my running injury prevention treatment plan:)

So tight!
5.0

I went to see Vicky while training for a marathon and she worked on my super tight quads, hips, gluts, calves. Her massage was so effective that I felt like my body had been unlocked. A week after one of her massages, I ran a training race and felt like I could move again.

She is a athlete herself and knows when it is most helpful to work a massage into your training week. She gives you information about where your body is tight, in places you might not have known. She can dig deep and really get in there to release your muscles.

I also appreciate her willingness to work with my crazy/tight schedule to fit a appointment in with her. She makes it easy!

I would highly recommend her!

Well Done Massage
4.5

Aarisa was great at identifying areas that I needed work on more than others and prefer to have a woman massage therapist. It had been about a year since I had my last massage and she knew how hard to go on me. She always made sure to check if it was too much pressure. I also really appreciated how she made sure I know that too much pressure where it’s just too painful will do more harm than good. I was mildly sore in certain areas after the massage but the next day I had a 14 mi long run and there was almost no pain. My body and legs felt nice and loose compared to how I usually feel, and enjoyed my run. I was so happy to find out how good my legs felt. She didn’t work too hard or too light, but just the right amount. She only charges $45 for 60 minutes for the first appointment. It was also nice that she works on Saturdays, which is nice for me and those who work Monday-Friday throughout the day.

Professional and effective
5.0
  • Amy reviewed 9 months ago

I’ve been seeing Jenny for massage every six weeks for over a year, and I always look forward to our appointments. She effectively loosens and releases tightness I develop through regular running, sometimes in areas I didn’t even know were tight! I’ve found regular massage is a great way to keep my body in its natural alignment and prevent running injuries. In addition to being a massage therapist, Jenny has a background in athletic training, so she’s also a great resource in treating and recovering from injuries. Often she’ll give me a stretch, strength exercise, or taping strategy to help me heal more quickly. Her massage room is always clean and tranquil, and I love that she heats the massage bed!

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Thai and table massage
5.0

I’ve been seeing DJ for the last 5 years. He helped me recover and return to running after an injury and has been instrumental in keeping me healthy.
He is great at smoothing out those nagging trigger points and creates a very relaxed environment. Somehow I’m able to fall asleep even while he’s digging his knees into my calf and hamstring! I highly recommend seeing him both for injury prevention and maintenance.

If you're looking for the strongest masseuse out there...
5.0

I strongly prefer to see women massage therapists when I need whole body work. I’ve had a hard time finding a woman who goes hard all the time without me having to always ask for more pressure. From the very beginning of the hour Aarisa tests my pain tolerance and relentlessly gets into my knotted body. She will of course go lighter if you ask her. I also like that while sometimes we engage in conversation, sometimes we don’t, and it’s not awkward either way. I get massages from her every few weeks and wish it was even more often! Her rates are great ($60 I think) but your first time is only $40 if you want to give her a try. Oh – and be sure to grab a wonderful bite from Proper Eats on your way out which is below her office, one of my favorite restaurants in Portland!

Drew is very thorough!
4.5
  • Amy reviewed 4 years ago

I’ve seen Drew two to three times, and I was very impressed with how thorough he is. On my first visit I came to see him for knee pain following a marathon. He evaluated how I walk and several components of strength and flexibility. I learned from him that my left hamstring and hip were much tighter and had less range of motion than my right side. He did some ART and took a lot of time showing me strength exercises and stretches to help treat the underlying causes of my pain. I noticed when I ran the next day, that my hip was moving much better than before! I would definitely see Drew again.

Oh, and Drew really gets the competitive runner mentality as a former collegiate athlete, and as someone who works with professional athletes as well.

Lindsy is Awesome!
5.0
  • Jessica Groff reviewed 4 months ago

I am an avid runner and 7 time marathoner. Lindsy has helped me throughout my journey as a runner. After every marathon I have terrible ankle pain and swelling and I know that as soon as I can get in to see her I will be back to my old self again. She has an amazing way of troubleshooting any issue and finding the solution to get you back out there pounding the pavement. I can’t recommend Lindsy enough, she is an incredible therapist and a wonderful person. Just go see her already!

This guy is the real deal, just don't get him talking with his hands.
5.0

Michael is solid and has saved a number of my workouts. As a previous runner for Team USA, he understands the runner both mind and body. I mostly have seen him for calf issues, but he works the quads and IT bands like a mad man. I have gone in with tweaks and have literally walked out with no pain. Much of this is understanding the origin of the tightness and taking the time (he often runs over-fyi…) to get it right. I’ve seen him for years and think he is one of the best, if not the best in Portland.

Dr. Evan Ellis--Best Ortho in Town
5.0
  • tmagoo reviewed 3 years ago
  • last edited 3 years ago

As an avid runner with chronic knee problems, I have seen many Sports Med Dr.s, PT’s and Ortho’s throughout the greater Portland area. With more than a decade of treatment under my belt, I am so happy to have finally found someone who truly has made a significant and positive impact. While many Dr.’s have told me to find a new sport, Dr. Ellis decided to work with me to find a way to support my running, keep me healthy, comfortable and active. He has offers unique approaches that don’t always include going under the knife. He is energetic, charismatic, engaging, on time and goes way above and beyond on every visit. I would HIGHLY recommend Dr. Ellis to anyone with knee or shoulder problems. While he specializes in athletes, he treats a wide demographic.

Dr Distante is Amazing!!
5.0
  • Rebecca von Duering reviewed 8 months ago

I started to see Dr Distante in September 2015 for some GI distress. After going through testing and different supplement and dietary alterations she has helped transform me completely! I moved here from another state and with that move came side effects from the stress. I suffered from GI distress, insomnia, and anxiety. And with all of her natural intervention I’m back to me again!! She’s also worked with my son who had reflux, facial/arm skin bumps, and motor tics. Turns out he has food intolerances. Again, with her help and intervention he is just about cured–no drugs! I can’t speak highly enough about her. She educates you and guides you in treatment that is all natural and she is realistic (I’m a full time working mom of 3…). I recommend her to everyone I talk to! 😉

Sr. Runner Still Running!
5.0

As a 55 yr old runner who also teaches fitness & leads running groups, it was imperative that I try to stay injury free. Jen helped me come up with a plan that will keep me competitive & enjoying what I Love most: running daily! She also dry needled me when I had an issue that was solved quickly. She is a professional that cares about the community as well & participates & leads events that are important.

It is a pleasure to know her & recommend her. She will use her extensive knowledge & training to keep you moving forward with your goals!

Love Element!
4.5
  • MJA reviewed 4 years ago

Noah has worked on me while I struggled with SI issues and IT band pain. He does really gentle and effective adjustments as well as ART and Graston. His clinic (Element Sports Wellness) has an awesome gym with new equipment and in-house PT and massage therapy.

Noah is not only a great chiropractor, but has checked in with me before and after races… has been really supportive and encouraging as well as helped me come back from stubborn injuries! He is an all around great person who gets the athlete’s mentality!

Highly recommended
5.0
  • abbeyfanya reviewed 2 years ago
  • last edited 2 years ago

I began to see Karl Kolbeck after my physical therapist left her practice. She said to me, “if I needed PT, I’d see Karl.” I first saw Karl as the “shoulder guru” to help me reduce pain when swimming. He also helped me recover through a torn soleus and later a hamstring ligament injury. He was responsive to my compulsive desire to return to running, weight lifting, and triathlon. He provided wonderful, thoughtful care, thorough follow up, and referrals when needed. Through my recovery process, I was so impressed with his care that I referred other athlete friends to reap the rewards.

Wonderful core rehab program!
4.5
  • Amy reviewed 2 years ago

Kelly specializes in core rehab and helping people close diastasis recti without surgery by learning to activate and strengthen their transverse abdominis. I’ve had three children, two of whom were 9.5 and 10 lbs, and I was left with diastasis recti that was three to four finger-widths wide. Before seeing Kelly, I felt so disconnected from my core. At the end of some nights, my stomach would hang out, and I had no idea how to tell my body to pull it in. When I was running, I also didn’t know how to properly engage my core and my form felt so jagged and off. Throughout my four visits with Kelly, she taught me how to engage my transverse, how to find neutral pelvis, stretches to do throughout the day to help release tight areas and help the transverse engage, and how to ensure I was using the transverse properly throughout strength exercises. My stomach is flatter now, and my diastasis is narrower and shallower. I hope to close it completely if I keep up the exercises I learned through Kelly’s core rehab program. My only caution is that Kelly’s visits are quite expensive, so make sure you know ahead of time what to expect payment-wise so it doesn’t come as a surprise. Still, I would totally recommend Kelly Dean to anyone who wants to close diastasis recti and/or learn to better engage their core in running, strength work, and tasks performed throughout the day. The transverse is supposed to stabilize us in everything we do, and mine definitely wasn’t working properly before seeing Kelly. You can read my full blog post about learning to engage my transverse here: http://runningfavorites.com/how-learning-to-engage-my-transverse-abdominis-has-smoothed-my-running-form-and-flattened-my-tummy/.

Review of Jen Davis
5.0
  • Larry Betten reviewed 1 year ago
  • last edited 1 year ago

Jen has consistently healed my injuries many times through her competent and caring professionalism.
I have been competing on Team USA with USA Triathlon for the past six years and her care has allowed me to continue with my training and competition. I have told her that she is a miracle healer and it is all true.

Looking forward to going back!
4.5

I’ve only gotten to see Vicki once, and loved my time there! She was very pleasant to be around and chat with. Unfortunately it was a few days before a race so I didn’t get to experience all that she has to offer. She did get quite into my quads and so from that alone I do know she’s got a lot in her! I will definitely be seeing her anytime my main therapist is not available.

One of the best
5.0

I can’t say enough about Kurt. If you are an athlete and want an amazing sports massage, he is the one to see. Kurt knows all the small details and commonly tight areas on runners. He picks up on very specific things and works on them until he notices a change. Every massage I have gotten from Kurt has been excellent. I am a physical therapist and refer many patients to him with 100% confidence they will have nothing short of a positive experience and one of the best massages of their life.

62 year old Ultra Runner and Dr. Jen keeps me running pain free while recently setting PR's !
5.0

I first saw Dr. Jen Davis approximately 2 years ago.

When I originally went to see her I was concerned that I might be approaching the end of running for me. After just a few minutes of analysis she assured me that I’d be running again and probably faster than before.

She was right ! I’m now running further and faster at age 62.

If you have any issue or pain I highly recommend you see Dr. Jen.

Kelly is great at adjustments
4.0

I saw Kelly for various aches and pains but most notably I used her building up to the Boston Marathon in 2011. I had serious foot pain and she was able to make adjustments and tape me up which allowed me to run pain free and PR in the marathon. Kelly does thorough evaluations of your entire body to determine the source of the pain and problem. She has a nice bedside manner as well.

Go here to get your blood drawn...
4.0

I try to get my ferritin levels checked quarterly so that I can keep up on how I am feeling in relation to that. I had some liver enzyme issues that Vanessa closely tracked and had me get an ultrasound at the hospital. Everyone ended up being normal, but I’m glad that she takes the careful route on everything. She understands runners and is more on the aggressive side as far as suggesting to keep running through whatever you’re feeling.

Pros:
-Feeling tired/off? They see lots of runners and know what to test for. I always ask for Ferritin, Iron, B, and D, and anything else they think. They’ll also test for food allergies.
-Vanessa is very straight forward and to the point about things. I like that about her. Some people don’t.
-I can usually make same day appointments and it’s very quickly in and out.

Cons:
-Sometimes it takes awhile for them to get back to you, especially if you miss the initial phone call about your results. You can be playing phone tag for awhile.
-They used to have a lady who drew blood who was the best! The new one is so-so.

The best PT I've ever had!
5.0
  • Grayson Ollar reviewed 1 year ago
  • last edited 1 year ago

Working with Jen Davis has been something that’s helped me significantly over my high school running career, and is still benefiting me today. During my early years of high school, I was plagued with running injuries to a point where every week some new muscle would hurt. When I started going to physical therapy sessions with Jen, we were able to pin down the causes of my injuries, and work on these weaknesses. After each session, I would leave feeling better than before, and with more understanding of what I needed to do to get better. Now that I am running on a collegiate level I have been working harder then ever before. Having Jen guide me over the years on how to stay healthy, I have been able to find success at this new level of running without fear of injury. And while running injuries can be inevitable at times, because of Jen, I know how to get over them and come back stronger than ever.

Dr Li is a miracle worker
4.5
  • Rebecca von Duering reviewed 8 months ago

I started seeing Dr Li almost 2 years ago for migraines. I had never been to acupuncture before. Well–it was awesome. I felt immediate relief during treatment and after 4 weeks of treatment once weekly my migraines were gone! 2 more weeks for safe keeping and now I go once a month for prevention. As long as I keep that up they stay at bay. No drugs! The best part is when I go I tell her anything else that is bugging me and she adds that into the protocol and voila! The pain is gone!!

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
First move well then move a lot :)
4.5

I have had many running injuries over the years but a proximal high hamstring injury put me out of competition. I struggled to get back several times only to get compensation injury after compensation injury. I would think I was fixed and get back to training only to get injured again within six months. Alex finally got through to why this was happening and now I am 100% and working my way back to becoming the runner I used to be. Alex has thorough knowledge of anatomy and physiology, knows the athletic body and it’s needs to function well and is an excellent listener and communicator. He will guide you in the process of rebuilding your athletic body if you are patient. Like I said, I have been to many doctors, PTs, chiropractor etc.. Alex is the best if you want to become a well put together endurance athlete.

Simply the BEST!
5.0

I’ve been seeing Jen for a couple of years now and she continues to impress me with how passionate she is about her work. She is always looking to learn as much as she can so that she can give her patients the best treatment. One of Jen’s unique (I think) treatments is dry needling. I’d never even heard of it before I started seeing Jen and it’s amazing how much one session can improve mobility. Jen is great to work with and really helpful in providing materials to help her patients understand what is going on and how to go about getting better. I am admittedly terrible at doing my assigned exercises and she always tries to come up with new and easier ways to help me fit them into my busy schedule. Jen’s focus is running but she understands the way the muscles in the body work so thoroughly that I’m positive she could help with any type of issue you may be having. If you’re looking for a physical therapist I’d recommend Jen in a heartbeat!

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
John is very helpful
4.0

John is a competitive runner himself so he understands your desire to get better and get better quickly. He focuses on your area of concern and works hard to get it healed quickly. You can usually get an appointment quickly and there are other health care professionals in the office as well that can help you with the bigger picture. I have always appreciated John’s dedication and hard work to determine and fix issues I have had over the years.

The perfect PT for a runner!
5.0
  • Sarah reviewed 1 year ago
  • last edited 12 months ago

Jen Davis is the best!
A couple weeks after my first 50k my ankle started hurting–I had another 50k on the books, just a few months out. Discouraged, I called Jen. My first appointment was set up immediately. Jen reviewed my running history, past injuries, did a full gait analysis, asked about my previous race results, and my goals. She was thorough.
Jen quickly identified the cause of my ankle pain and treated it with manual adjustments, dry needling, and exercises during our sessions and at home. My treatment plan was so well-rounded that I came out of it a stronger and faster runner. Jen helped me heal my ankle, but also taught me exercises to strengthen my full body, keep me balanced, and increase my running efficiency.
I absolutely recommend Jen to running friends! It’s so wonderful to work with a PT who is also a runner. To get advice and guidance from an athlete who understands I’m not looking for an excuse to stop running for a while. Jen never told me I couldn’t run. She encouraged me to go easy during the healing process and to be mindful as I build up mileage and intensity again. Jen is focused on getting healthy runners to run to their potential. She’s awesome.

Need a doc who gets it?
5.0

I went to Dr. Howard on a referral from my PC, and was dreading having to explain to another non-runner that my mileage is not abnormal, and that stopping running altogether is simply not an option. My hip had been giving me trouble for a while and was not getting much better, so my chiropractor wanted me to try and get an MRI to see what it could be. Dr. Howard started our visit with a general list of questions, and my responses soon changed her questions to those that only fellow runner would know to ask.

Dr. Howard is an accomplished triathlete and Ironwoman who has the experience to understand running/biking/swimming injuries and how those impact the day-to-day life of runners, cyclists, and swimmers. It was not only refreshing, but encouraging to talk with a doctor who spoke my language and understood what taking a few days off of running would mean to me. When she asked me to promise to not run until the results of my MRI came back, I was able to promise without crossing my fingers behind my back and feeling like I was being talked down to.

Not only am I happy to say my MRI came back clean, but Dr. Howard called me herself to tell me and said she would look for me at the tri we are both doing on Sunday. If you have Kaiser, I highly recommend Dr. Howard. She gets it!

Best in the Business
5.0
  • arbayer reviewed 2 years ago
  • last edited 2 years ago

Karl is by far one of the best all around therapists I have ever seen! He is thorough and will go the extra mile to get you healthy. He loves working with runners and does a great job with anything you throw at him. I have seen him for a whole gamut of things from a quad strain to an MCL strain to SI problems to many more and he has found a way to treat them all. I would recommend him to anyone looking for a great PT, especially if you are a runner!

amazing pt
5.0

Colleen is as caring and gifted PT. She takes her time to assess the root cause of the problem. She cured my hamstring and toe injuries. She is willing to work with your schedule. She understands runners as she is a competitive runner herself.

Amazing!
5.0

Dr. Hohensee is the best doctor I have ever seen when dealing with injury. Having ran competitively in college, he totally understands runners. I have been having hip issues that have left me unable to run. He worked with me for nearly three hours to identify where my weaknesses were, what I can do to fix them, and how to move forward from this. He is incredibly thorough. I would recommend him to anyone!

Internist in Pasadena
5.0
  • Selltrack reviewed 3 years ago
  • last edited 3 years ago

Started seeing Dr. Hillier about 3 years ago after undergoing open heart surgery. Although I had been seeing a different doctor years prior, Dr. Hillier was recommended to me by multiple people. I have loved seeing her since the beginning! She’s very thorough, efficient, and knows her stuff!!! I rarely have any waiting time, and her staff is awesome!!! If you’re in the area and need a regular physician, she’s the one!!!

Expert in injury recovery and running.
5.0
  • Dan Holstein reviewed 1 year ago
  • last edited 1 year ago

Thank you Jen Davis in helping me fulfill a longtime goal of running a marathon! I would not have been able to complete this feat if it were not for Jen Davis and the expert advice, manual therapy procedures, exercise, training and rehabilitation. The manual therapy and following a daily regiment of exercises was a key in my recovery. Retraining old thinking and implementing a new set of plans, are easier said than done.Through those procedures, plan and constant encouragement I’m able to run pain free today. This is nothing short of a miracle. 2 years ago I tore my right bi-cep tendon from my knee in a soccer injury. I followed that up with meniscus surgery on my other knee 6 months later. I was told to look at other forms of exercise. As to running a marathon……out of the question. I can’t begin to tell you how good this feels to be back enjoying the activities I love and crossing the finish line at this years Portland Marathon (2015). Thanks again Jen. I’m ready for the 45th Portland Marathon for 2016 this next Sunday. See you out there!

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Knowledgeable about running and loves her job
5.0

I went to Erika to get help with a chronic piriformis injury. I have battled hamstring issues for over 5 years and just cannot seem to improve despite visiting multiple PT’s, LMT’s, Orthopedist, and Chiropractors. During my first appointment Erika video taped me running on a treadmill, evaluated my running, and offered clear advice on how to improve my form to prevent further injury. She then used various methods to treat the injury itself – stretching, pressure point release, and massage. Finally, she prescribed key exercises for me to do on my own. I went to Erika regularly for about 6 weeks and experienced a strong improvement. Erika is a great partner for any runner and can give advice not only on form but also on the correct shoe for your gait. I strongly recommend Erika!

Showing 1 - 50 of 100 results