Reviews

Lindsy Palisca is amazing!
5.0
  • Alec Josephson reviewed 3 months ago

I’m a 56 year old runner who suffered from plantar fasciitis for almost 18 months. I went to my doctor, a podiatrist, and an orthopedic surgeon. The recommended prescriptions of orthotics, cortisone shots, and stretching did not work. I thought my running career was over. I was referred to Lindsy by the sales person at the local athletic gear store. She said “Lindsy will have you up and running in two weeks.” Well, it didn’t take two weeks. I was up and running after 3 visits! With a couple more visits, I have been running pain free for almost a year. Lindsy is amazing and highly recommended. She knows her stuff, and she is a neat person! FIVE BIG STARS!

Highly recommended
5.0
  • abbeyfanya reviewed 2 years ago
  • last edited 2 years ago

I began to see Karl Kolbeck after my physical therapist left her practice. She said to me, “if I needed PT, I’d see Karl.” I first saw Karl as the “shoulder guru” to help me reduce pain when swimming. He also helped me recover through a torn soleus and later a hamstring ligament injury. He was responsive to my compulsive desire to return to running, weight lifting, and triathlon. He provided wonderful, thoughtful care, thorough follow up, and referrals when needed. Through my recovery process, I was so impressed with his care that I referred other athlete friends to reap the rewards.

Perfect for Runners
5.0
  • carmonaj reviewed 3 years ago
  • last edited 3 years ago

This was my first ever massage and i loved it! what i didn’t want was just a “feel good” massage with oils and incense (which i’m sure she would be great at too). Instead it was exactly what i needed and wanted. Karlee was able to work out a large knot i had in my psoas. She hit every spot that runners tend to be tight making me realize how much i need to make this part of my running injury prevention treatment plan:)

So grateful for Karl!
5.0
  • Chelsea Blanchard reviewed 1 year ago
  • last edited 1 year ago

I went to see Karl after struggling to fix a stubborn hip/back/glute/who-knows-what injury. I went in feeling like I was unfixable and expecting to hear that I needed to take time off and hope everything heals with rest. Fortunately, I left with extreme renewed confidence! Not only did I leave the clinic physically feeling better than when I went in, Karl was able to identify the problem and put me at ease that there was hope! I appreciate that he really explains what is going on, by educating I think he sets one up for greater chance of success and less relapse. He provided me with exercises to continue to improve at home, and without him I think I would still be nursing a stubborn and frustrating injury. Most importantly Karl and the entire staff at Rose City Physical Therapy are very kind, what an oasis of positive energy! Grateful for Karl and his staff, I highly recommend their expertise on any injury. I am confident they can fix it!

Knows her stuff!!!
5.0
  • beaver2000 reviewed 3 years ago
  • last edited 3 years ago

I’ve been seeing Holley for a couple years now and she knows her stuff! She’s very experienced in sports related injuries and has gotten me ready for Ironman competitions as well as Half and Full Marathons. She is and will remain a part of my Team!!!!

Professional and effective
5.0
  • Amy reviewed 4 months ago

I’ve been seeing Jenny for massage every six weeks for over a year, and I always look forward to our appointments. She effectively loosens and releases tightness I develop through regular running, sometimes in areas I didn’t even know were tight! I’ve found regular massage is a great way to keep my body in its natural alignment and prevent running injuries. In addition to being a massage therapist, Jenny has a background in athletic training, so she’s also a great resource in treating and recovering from injuries. Often she’ll give me a stretch, strength exercise, or taping strategy to help me heal more quickly. Her massage room is always clean and tranquil, and I love that she heats the massage bed!

He gets runners!
4.0
  • MJA reviewed 3 years ago

I started seeing John while struggling with a hip flexor injury that left me unable to run even after a month of time off. I left the first appointment with less pain, better range of motion, and an exercise plan to strengthen my weak glutes and core.

I was about to start training for a spring marathon and John was able to get me up and running again within a week! He gave me the tools I needed to do some self treatment at home which made a huge difference in my recovery.

John’s goal is to keep his patients running while rehabbing, and to have them on a home treatment plan to minimize the need for office visits. It’s easy to make appointments… and often he can squeeze you in for same day appointments!

H2C "Miracle"
5.0
  • Es42 reviewed 3 years ago

I was a day out from running Hood to Coast with lots of knee pain. Bob saw me, made some adjustments, did an amazing taping job and I was able to complete the race with little to no problems – I never thought that would happen.
I incorporate running into other athletic activities I do as well. Bob has helped me with various knee and shoulder issues.
Great guy. Former Navy submarine diver, and former bodybuilder. Lifelong athlete. Runs a high performance Crossfit gym at his location as well.

Portland's new foot and ankle specialist
5.0

I’ve had the pleasure of working with Dr. Meeker on the professional side – not as a patient. He is foot/ankle and ortho trauma trained and a fantastic addition to OHSU Orthopedics. He is very kind and compassionate with his patients – especially the more challenging patients. He’s able to treat sports injuries as well as complex fractures with ease. He has an elegant soft demeanor about him that makes him easy to warm up to and trust. He is an excellent teacher to the orthopedic residents and his staff is lovely to work with. I recommend him without hesitation.

Love Element!
4.5
  • MJA reviewed 3 years ago

Noah has worked on me while I struggled with SI issues and IT band pain. He does really gentle and effective adjustments as well as ART and Graston. His clinic (Element Sports Wellness) has an awesome gym with new equipment and in-house PT and massage therapy.

Noah is not only a great chiropractor, but has checked in with me before and after races… has been really supportive and encouraging as well as helped me come back from stubborn injuries! He is an all around great person who gets the athlete’s mentality!

Looking forward to going back!
4.5

I’ve only gotten to see Vicki once, and loved my time there! She was very pleasant to be around and chat with. Unfortunately it was a few days before a race so I didn’t get to experience all that she has to offer. She did get quite into my quads and so from that alone I do know she’s got a lot in her! I will definitely be seeing her anytime my main therapist is not available.

Kyle is amazing
5.0

Kyle helps us ladies with things that we don’t always think are issues: hormones. As we train and as we age, as women, our hormones change and can make recovery tough, can cause weight gain, absorption issues, and exhaustion that we can’t explain. Kyle has been studying these links and helping women deal with these issues for many years. She is a great listener and the office environment is very comforting. If you have night sweats, not recoering, low iron and D, muscle pain and fatigue that you can’t explain, and fogginess…go see Kyle!

Drew's the man!
5.0

I’ve been seeing Drew for almost all of my injuries for about 2 years now. He is easy to get into which initially attracted me. He understands my goals and necessity for getting healthy ASAP. When I am fairly healthy, seeing Drew and having him work on me for an hour is like flossing my body out. I have been the healthiest I have been in years because of him. The things that makes him stand above the crowd is that he is very humble – for example, he will not force an adjustment like many of my previous chiropractors have. He will also never mention the many professional runners that he treats; rather, he will spend whatever time necessary on you and focus on you. He has come in at 9pm on a Friday night as I was coming back into town and needed an adjustment before my marathon that weekend. He will provide payment plans that work if you don’t have insurance (or it runs out, as in my case). Finally, he offers a free strength class every week to a small group of us which is evidence that he truly cares about you as a runner, to be healthy and meet your goals. He may never make a ton of money because of how generous he is! Very rare to find a doctor with a demeanor like Drew.

Terrific Running Gait Analysis
5.0
  • Michael Cal reviewed 1 year ago
  • last edited 1 year ago

I went to Colleen for a gait analysis. She performed a thorough history and examination before doing a video analysis of my running stride on the treadmill. She showed me how I was running and measured the angles of my stride from multiple camera angles. Then she made suggestions for how to improve efficiency and reduce strain on my body and the risk of injury. I was able to make immediate improvements that, with continued training, should help me to run faster and pain-free going forward.

I would highly recommend Colleen!

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Great PT!
4.5

I started going to Chantel after breaking my second metatarsal and realizing that after it had “healed” there was still quite a bit of pain and discomfort. Adjusting my stride to compensate for my foot brought on other aches and pains in my hips and knees.
Stride Strong came highly recommended by the owner of Fit Right and I would concur that my experience was nothing but positive.
Chantel spent the initial 1.5 hrs reviewing my case, evaluating my stride and strength tests. She listens and is proactive. Stridestrong has a website that allows patients to log-in and view animated clips of the exercises they are assigned which has proved to be very useful weeks later.

I’ve seen great improvement and although I’m still working through some issues her exercises and tips are invaluable. My only complaint is that their offices are in Beaverton otherwise I’d go more often!

Karlee is a great massage therapist for runners!
4.5
  • Amy reviewed 3 years ago

First, Karlee is a competitive runner, which is so helpful since she knows all the places on runners that get tight and cause injury and pain. For the few days after getting a massage from Karlee, I feel like my running form is much smoother and straighter. I used to think of massage as a luxury, and now I think of it as a key tool in staying healthy and injury-free. I wish I could see her every week!

Very thorough
4.5
  • carmonaj reviewed 3 years ago
  • last edited 3 years ago

I saw Drew for a weird diaphragm cramp i kept getting in races. Couldn’t figure out what was happening. My regular PT focuses mostly on body alignment and is great at manually adjusting me to get me back in proper alignment but this just wasn’t fixing the problem. So i went to see Drew and i liked him b/c he found i had a huge knot in my diaphragm and spent an entire session massaging it out. Next race i had no issues. Think seeing him would be a great compliment to my regular PT b/c his focus seems to be a little different and uses many other manual techniques that can be helpful for muscle injuries/issues. He spends lots of time with you and is very thorough. You never feel like he is rushing you in and out.

Solid Evaluation
5.0

I always like going to a new person for an evaluation, because I can tell how thorough they are. Shawn was incredibly thorough. Took time to listen and do strength tests to really understand the origin of my injury. I am still in treatment, but the exercises he has shown me and drills he has me doing are already helping. Not to mention, he has an alter g treadmill, so my test runs will be as safe as possible.

Well Done Massage
4.5

Aarisa was great at identifying areas that I needed work on more than others and prefer to have a woman massage therapist. It had been about a year since I had my last massage and she knew how hard to go on me. She always made sure to check if it was too much pressure. I also really appreciated how she made sure I know that too much pressure where it’s just too painful will do more harm than good. I was mildly sore in certain areas after the massage but the next day I had a 14 mi long run and there was almost no pain. My body and legs felt nice and loose compared to how I usually feel, and enjoyed my run. I was so happy to find out how good my legs felt. She didn’t work too hard or too light, but just the right amount. She only charges $45 for 60 minutes for the first appointment. It was also nice that she works on Saturdays, which is nice for me and those who work Monday-Friday throughout the day.

This guy is the real deal, just don't get him talking with his hands.
5.0

Michael is solid and has saved a number of my workouts. As a previous runner for Team USA, he understands the runner both mind and body. I mostly have seen him for calf issues, but he works the quads and IT bands like a mad man. I have gone in with tweaks and have literally walked out with no pain. Much of this is understanding the origin of the tightness and taking the time (he often runs over-fyi…) to get it right. I’ve seen him for years and think he is one of the best, if not the best in Portland.

Review of Jen Davis
5.0
  • Larry Betten reviewed 8 months ago
  • last edited 8 months ago

Jen has consistently healed my injuries many times through her competent and caring professionalism.
I have been competing on Team USA with USA Triathlon for the past six years and her care has allowed me to continue with my training and competition. I have told her that she is a miracle healer and it is all true.

Back and Running!
5.0

I have been skeptical, to say the least, about most doctors and healthcare providers. And as a runner I have attempted to avoid going to the doctor, oftentimes being too late and they tell me to take a break and stop running. I ignore it, get hurt worse, and then sit and mope. With Dr. Dean, I was worried that he would do the same thing. And with a push from friends I made an appointment. With my jaded intentions I walked through the door expecting to hear I had a season ending injury and that I needed to take time off. Exactly the opposite! He sat me down, told me I just had things I needed to do to manage the pain, and in turn fix and eliminate the pain. He said that I could still run the race I had signed up for, and that I would actually become faster with his help! Who doesn’t like to hear that?? Thank you to Dr. Dean for all of his advice. He truly just wants to help runners get out there and enjoy the miles.

Worst Kept Secret!!
5.0
  • LMD reviewed 3 years ago

My first experience with Kelly was several years ago. A GI problem prompted some time off running and strenuous workouts, which lead to weakness, imbalance and my return to running brought injury. Of course I didn’t know this at first. I saw some good bodywork professionals who kept me running, I did strengthening exercises to regain lost core strength, but things were not getting better. I was treating symptoms with the massage and Graston, and things needed to get bad before I would realize I needed to try something different. And they did, I got to the point where I had trouble and pain walking up my front stairs. The final straw was being unable to sit up in bed. My fear and first question to Kelly was to find out if I had a sports hernia. The good news was “no”, the bad was that everything else was all locked up. My right hip was forward and rotated, left hip rotated back. Psoas and SI joint pretty unhappy from their poorly functioning state. Multiple appointments a week, a growing list of home exercises, and a halt to running. Seeing a PT is a commitment (time, money), so I pledged that I would do as I was told. Kelly kept me understanding the goals of each session, the progression she hoped I would make. I felt like I could do my part with the home exercises. When I was healthy and strong enough to return to running, Kelly directed me through it. I graduated!

I haven’t been in such a sorry state since, but Kelly is the defense against becoming really injured. Depending on what my training looks like, I’ll try to have tune-ups every 6-8 weeks, or as needed. I know that I need to go to Lifestyles after any major traveling. I was able to check-in with Kelly post-baby to make sure returning to running and other exercise was advisable. I feel a confidence in knowing that I am an established patient of Kelly’s. She has such an incredible understanding of the body, and visiting Lifestyles PT is a pretty enjoyable experience!

I was directed to Kelly by a good friend, and I have spread the word to family, friends and clients. A PT this good is hard to not talk about, but yes it can get challenging to get scheduled — but I have witnessed this, they definitely do their best to make it work when possible!

Rachel is the best!
5.0
  • efdevine reviewed 3 years ago
  • last edited 3 years ago

For years I have been going to get massage therapy about 1x/8 weeks (on average), so I’ve experienced a lot of massage therapists. I found Rachel about 3 years ago now and she is the best! She very quickly had a good understanding of my body and what “issues” it has that she could help with. She was able to give me feedback on what was going on with me and what might be causing it. My running as well as my day-to-day well-being has improved greatly by seeing her on a regular basis. She does book up fast, so you need to plan about 6 weeks in advance to see her and schedule early!

The perfect PT for a runner!
5.0
  • Sarah reviewed 7 months ago
  • last edited 7 months ago

Jen Davis is the best!
A couple weeks after my first 50k my ankle started hurting–I had another 50k on the books, just a few months out. Discouraged, I called Jen. My first appointment was set up immediately. Jen reviewed my running history, past injuries, did a full gait analysis, asked about my previous race results, and my goals. She was thorough.
Jen quickly identified the cause of my ankle pain and treated it with manual adjustments, dry needling, and exercises during our sessions and at home. My treatment plan was so well-rounded that I came out of it a stronger and faster runner. Jen helped me heal my ankle, but also taught me exercises to strengthen my full body, keep me balanced, and increase my running efficiency.
I absolutely recommend Jen to running friends! It’s so wonderful to work with a PT who is also a runner. To get advice and guidance from an athlete who understands I’m not looking for an excuse to stop running for a while. Jen never told me I couldn’t run. She encouraged me to go easy during the healing process and to be mindful as I build up mileage and intensity again. Jen is focused on getting healthy runners to run to their potential. She’s awesome.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
First move well then move a lot :)
4.5

I have had many running injuries over the years but a proximal high hamstring injury put me out of competition. I struggled to get back several times only to get compensation injury after compensation injury. I would think I was fixed and get back to training only to get injured again within six months. Alex finally got through to why this was happening and now I am 100% and working my way back to becoming the runner I used to be. Alex has thorough knowledge of anatomy and physiology, knows the athletic body and it’s needs to function well and is an excellent listener and communicator. He will guide you in the process of rebuilding your athletic body if you are patient. Like I said, I have been to many doctors, PTs, chiropractor etc.. Alex is the best if you want to become a well put together endurance athlete.

Massage
5.0
  • runturner reviewed 3 years ago
  • last edited 3 years ago

Holley is very welcoming and incredibly knowledgeable. She is great at asking questions to get to the root of issues and giving you feedback while she is working on problem areas. She is incredibly knowledgeable and sends you home feeling amazing!

Excellent diagnostician
5.0
  • Nlm reviewed 3 years ago

I have seen Adam a number of times over the past few years for three very different problems. Adam is an ultra marathoner and has an incredibly strong intuitive understanding of the mechanics of running as well as the psychology of runners. He is very thorough in figuring out the root of the problem, not just looking at symptoms. The exercises he prescribes aren’t too burdensome and very helpful in getting me back to running pain free.

Can't live without Kelly!
5.0
  • carmonaj reviewed 3 years ago
  • last edited 3 years ago

Kelly is simply amazing! She knows the body better than anyone i have ever seen allowing her to really figure out what the issue is rather than just treating the “symptom” or pain. I have been seeing her for just about 8 years now and i have learned so much through her as far as where my weaknesses are, how my body compensates, and what strengthening exercises i need to do to stay healthy. The 8 years is not a reflection of how long i have been injured by the way:) I see her most of the time for simply maintenance, making sure everything is in alignment to avoid injury. She is personally one of the nicest, more genuine people i know and spends a lot of time with you really helping you work through your injury or concern.

Dr Distante is Amazing!!
5.0
  • Rebecca von Duering reviewed 3 months ago

I started to see Dr Distante in September 2015 for some GI distress. After going through testing and different supplement and dietary alterations she has helped transform me completely! I moved here from another state and with that move came side effects from the stress. I suffered from GI distress, insomnia, and anxiety. And with all of her natural intervention I’m back to me again!! She’s also worked with my son who had reflux, facial/arm skin bumps, and motor tics. Turns out he has food intolerances. Again, with her help and intervention he is just about cured–no drugs! I can’t speak highly enough about her. She educates you and guides you in treatment that is all natural and she is realistic (I’m a full time working mom of 3…). I recommend her to everyone I talk to! 😉

Best ever!
5.0
  • Sonya Wilkerson reviewed 8 months ago
  • last edited 8 months ago

I have seen 4 different PT and Lifestyles is the best. They have done an excellent job diagnosis my running injuries. They are very good at patiently describing the exercises I should do. Kelly has let me video her several times so I’m sure I do them right.

I have quickly healed and gotten back to running with their help.

Plus, they are all light hearted and funny!

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Runners - go see John
4.5

I found John through my Chiropractor, Dr. Howell and I couldn’t be happier with his care. I scheduled my first visit at the start of a marathon training cycle – and ended up going back for a visit every two weeks until the race. John is super knowledgable about common running injuries, aches and pains. He focuses his work on the places you need healing, each visit his work is customized to where you need it. His massages thorough and strong – think massage therapy with an emphasis on therapy.

Bonus – he is covered by some insurance plans.

MLS Laser resolved my chronic IT Band Syndrome.
5.0
  • Lee reviewed 1 year ago
  • last edited 1 year ago

As a physical therapist and distance runner I have had a mild case of IT band syndrome for years. It was a chronic tightness in the right lateral knee that would get sore on longer runs or on long drives. Lots of quad stretching and a yoga stretch with an occasional use of ASTYM tools kept it under control and in check, but it was always there.
After six sessions with the MLS laser the pain and tightness resolved permanently. The insertion of the IT band is no longer sore or tight, I can drive hours without having any symptoms and there is not discomfort during or after long runs. There was a definite change in the tissue and it resolved my symptoms.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Knowledgeable about running and loves her job
5.0

I went to Erika to get help with a chronic piriformis injury. I have battled hamstring issues for over 5 years and just cannot seem to improve despite visiting multiple PT’s, LMT’s, Orthopedist, and Chiropractors. During my first appointment Erika video taped me running on a treadmill, evaluated my running, and offered clear advice on how to improve my form to prevent further injury. She then used various methods to treat the injury itself – stretching, pressure point release, and massage. Finally, she prescribed key exercises for me to do on my own. I went to Erika regularly for about 6 weeks and experienced a strong improvement. Erika is a great partner for any runner and can give advice not only on form but also on the correct shoe for your gait. I strongly recommend Erika!

MLS Therapy helped my Plantar Fasciitis pain, thank you Emily Celner
4.5
  • Lisa Campos reviewed 1 year ago
  • last edited 1 year ago

I had Plantar Fasciitis the pain became so bad that I had to just stop daily walking. I heard about MLS Therapy but was not sure if it would help my foot pain. I just needed help and decided to give it a try. I had 6 sessions, she also gave me stretches to do to maximize my results. I can walk again at my quick pace, and I am so very happy with the results of the MLS Therapy, that I went back for some sciatic pain and the MLS Therapy worked for that also.. It is amazing and thank you Emily.

Steve Mitchell helped me
4.0
  • Amy reviewed 3 years ago
  • last edited 3 years ago

I saw Steve Mitchell a couple of years ago when I was training for a marathon and desperately needed to see someone who knows how to adjust the ankle. The talus in my right ankle was locked up, causing really bad right knee pain. He adjusted my pelvis and ankle as needed and gave me some good strength exercises to work on, because my right hip was much weaker than my left, causing the problem with the talus and knee.

Drew is a healer
5.0

Drew is wonderful. He really listens to what you are saying about your injuries and he goes above and beyond what’s required of him to know the most about it and get you healthy. As a former very competitive and successful runner himself he gets it and knows you just want to get back out there. He’s aggressive with treatment but gentle in demeanor. He helped me with many foot injuries, has supported me in my running goals, and provided strength opportunities for me to get stronger and be healthier. Drew is great at what he does.

Great massage!
5.0
  • MJA reviewed 3 years ago
  • last edited 3 years ago

Vicky is awesome! She has kept me running strong throughout marathon training and has been able to find potential problem areas and work them out before they become bigger issues. She can do a super DEEP tissue massage or overall maintenance work depending on what your needs are. Her online scheduling is really convenient and she has been able to squeeze me in on short notice!

Many of my runner friends see Vicky regularly and have nothing but great things to say!

62 year old Ultra Runner and Dr. Jen keeps me running pain free while recently setting PR's !
5.0

I first saw Dr. Jen Davis approximately 2 years ago.

When I originally went to see her I was concerned that I might be approaching the end of running for me. After just a few minutes of analysis she assured me that I’d be running again and probably faster than before.

She was right ! I’m now running further and faster at age 62.

If you have any issue or pain I highly recommend you see Dr. Jen.

Amazing!
5.0

Dr. Hohensee is the best doctor I have ever seen when dealing with injury. Having ran competitively in college, he totally understands runners. I have been having hip issues that have left me unable to run. He worked with me for nearly three hours to identify where my weaknesses were, what I can do to fix them, and how to move forward from this. He is incredibly thorough. I would recommend him to anyone!

amazing pt
5.0

Colleen is as caring and gifted PT. She takes her time to assess the root cause of the problem. She cured my hamstring and toe injuries. She is willing to work with your schedule. She understands runners as she is a competitive runner herself.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Kelly is amazing!
5.0
  • Amy reviewed 3 years ago

I’ve seen Kelly for almost five years, and I honestly don’t know what I would do without her. Her go-to method of treatment is osteopathic manipulations (adjustments), and she is VERY good at them. When I first saw Kelly, I had developed really bad hamstring pain that I couldn’t eliminate with rolling, stretching, and rest. Kelly determined that my pelvis was rotated quite badly which was pulling on my hamstring. She adjusted my pelvis and gave me several exercises to strengthen my core and glutes. With proper care, the hamstring pain went away.

A couple of years later, after a speed workout on the track, I woke up the following morning feeling like someone had taken a baseball bat to one of my knees – it hurt so bad! I iced and took some time off thinking the pain would just go away, but the pain persisted, and I wasn’t able to run. When I saw Kelly, she found that my talus (in my ankle) was locked up, so my ankle was not moving properly. After adjusting my ankle, I was able to begin running again in the next day or two, and my knee healed!

I have had similar experiences several times with Kelly and have learned that when your joints are not moving properly, they will cause strain, injury, and pain somewhere in your body.

The key to having success with Kelly’s treatment strategy is to make sure you’re doing the strength exercises she recommends. Without proper functional strength, your body will revert to bad habits and your alignment will get messed up again. As I’ve gotten stronger, I’ve needed to see Kelly less frequently for adjustments. I’ve also found that incorporating a good stretching and self-massage routine (and supplementing with sports massage) also helps to keep my body properly aligned, so I don’t need to get adjusted as often.

Kelly is also a great sounding board as a fellow athlete. She has great experience from racing Ironmans and understands the training, rest, and health issues that competitive athletes face.

Just to warn you, Kelly’s waiting list for new patients is LONG, but if you can get in to see her, you will be so happy!

Bob Cook
5.0

Bob Cook is an amazing coach not only because of his training but because he really cares and is passionate about what he is doing. I ran into some shoulder issues as well as some knee pain. When I went in to see Bob he took the time to not only listen to me, but he taught me about what my body was doing with certain movements. He put me on my own workout program to focus on specific movements, stretches and lifts to help strengthen the areas around my shoulder pain. He is very knowledgable and truly wants you to be healthy and active. He knows the importance of proper movement and how to correct “bad habits” not only in lifting, but running and day to day movement. As a mother of five kids I didn’t have the time to not be able to move my shoulder…. And with Bob’s programming and visits I was back at it! I highly recommend him to anyone who is looking for professional care from someone who is honest and truly cares about your recovery.

Expert in injury recovery and running.
5.0
  • Dan Holstein reviewed 8 months ago
  • last edited 8 months ago

Thank you Jen Davis in helping me fulfill a longtime goal of running a marathon! I would not have been able to complete this feat if it were not for Jen Davis and the expert advice, manual therapy procedures, exercise, training and rehabilitation. The manual therapy and following a daily regiment of exercises was a key in my recovery. Retraining old thinking and implementing a new set of plans, are easier said than done.Through those procedures, plan and constant encouragement I’m able to run pain free today. This is nothing short of a miracle. 2 years ago I tore my right bi-cep tendon from my knee in a soccer injury. I followed that up with meniscus surgery on my other knee 6 months later. I was told to look at other forms of exercise. As to running a marathon……out of the question. I can’t begin to tell you how good this feels to be back enjoying the activities I love and crossing the finish line at this years Portland Marathon (2015). Thanks again Jen. I’m ready for the 45th Portland Marathon for 2016 this next Sunday. See you out there!

Dr. Evan Ellis--Best Ortho in Town
5.0
  • tmagoo reviewed 2 years ago
  • last edited 2 years ago

As an avid runner with chronic knee problems, I have seen many Sports Med Dr.s, PT’s and Ortho’s throughout the greater Portland area. With more than a decade of treatment under my belt, I am so happy to have finally found someone who truly has made a significant and positive impact. While many Dr.’s have told me to find a new sport, Dr. Ellis decided to work with me to find a way to support my running, keep me healthy, comfortable and active. He has offers unique approaches that don’t always include going under the knife. He is energetic, charismatic, engaging, on time and goes way above and beyond on every visit. I would HIGHLY recommend Dr. Ellis to anyone with knee or shoulder problems. While he specializes in athletes, he treats a wide demographic.

SI issues
5.0

Kelly seems to intuitively know what is wrong and then fixes the issue. I had seen 5 previous physical therapists for SI issues and despite many strength programs, was still all out of whack. Once I saw Kelly, she determined my right side was longer than my left, my tailbone was off and my right SI joint wasn’t moving correctly. She knew in my first visit what needed to be done. I felt so much better!

Kelly has great advice on how to manage a injury (can you run with the injury or need to take running down a notch, speed or no speed etc.) She tries to keep you running as much as possible and understands a runner’s mentality, what is needed for race day, and how your body might react to different types of training.

Kelly’s wait list is long. I was on it for 4 months initially to get in for my first appointment but it was worth the wait. I say, get on it! You won’t be disappointed.

The runner's chiropractor
5.0
  • hornse82 reviewed 3 years ago
  • last edited 3 years ago

Pros:
– Dr. Howell is a runner, so he understands our injuries, and knows what they feel like

  • A visit to Dr. Howell’s office is efficient – assesses your issue, works on issue, gives you take home advice

  • I always feel better when I leave then I did when I came in – he’s a healer

  • Need an appointment today? Usually no problem! I can usually get same day appointments

  • Overall, super nice, knowledgable guy. I wouldn’t see anyone else.

Cons:
– None!

Solid LMT
4.5

I found Vicky to be very target focused, helping me with the specific area where I had pain. She gives deep tissue massage, that is truly “deep tissue” meaning, you may need to grab the table, but she’ll work out the tightness. Incredibly empathetic and solid bedside manner. Very professional and easy to schedule.

Very knowledgeable and helped me return to running!
5.0
  • Anna reviewed 3 months ago

I saw Aarisa after experiencing an unexpected back injury. My biggest complaint was spasm of my gluts and back muscles. I explained to Aarisa my concerns, and she was very diligent about hitting all of my problem areas. I had been improving under the care of my PTs and with her paired treatment, I was able to get out for a run the next day. Aarisa truly understands the body and especially that of a runner. I highly recommend her to those looking to get back to doing the things that they love without pain!

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Great therapy
5.0

Karlee is an excellent therapist. She has an intuitive touch, and knew just where I was hurting. I came in with shoulder pain, my left shoulder was killing me after I did a long hard workout. After just two massages I felt 100% better. I no try to make it part of my training regime to see her after hard efforts. She is the best!

Showing 1 - 50 of 102 results