Reviews

So tight!
5.0

I went to see Vicky while training for a marathon and she worked on my super tight quads, hips, gluts, calves. Her massage was so effective that I felt like my body had been unlocked. A week after one of her massages, I ran a training race and felt like I could move again.

She is a athlete herself and knows when it is most helpful to work a massage into your training week. She gives you information about where your body is tight, in places you might not have known. She can dig deep and really get in there to release your muscles.

I also appreciate her willingness to work with my crazy/tight schedule to fit a appointment in with her. She makes it easy!

I would highly recommend her!

magic hands
5.0

I have been seeing Justin for over 10 years now and would recommend him to anyone that is looking for an ART provider. I have seen him for injuries (IT band, heel/ankle, hamstring, etc) and maintenance over the years and I swear he is the glue that keeps me healthy and on the road! He understands the body and the mind of the runner and his top priority is to get you healthy while keeping you active. He does his best to stay away from the 3 words every runner hates to hear…”take time off”.

Consistent Quality
5.0

I have utilized Drew’s expertise for acute running injuries, general maintenance, and for strength building/stabilization progression. As a former collegiate runner, his passion is to work with runners. He is prompt, offers flexible appointment scheduling (which was especially helpful when you’re stretched thin working a 9-5), and up to date with current techniques and therapies. For me personally, it has always been important to have a deep trust in the knowledge of my health care provider: to work with someone who is professional, focused, and knowledgeable. Drew exceeds my expectations by not only having a comprehensive understanding of anatomy and physiology, but also mastering a runner’s application of the bodily mechanics. I have struggled with patella tendonitis and various hip-related strains for years- Drew has worked with me to correct the imbalances and weaknesses which caused my injuries, and also strengthen myself to prevent recurrences. With his help, I’ve been able to run consistently and make huge improvements in my cumulative fitness.

If you couldn’t tell, I’m a huge fan of Drew’s work. If you’re looking for someone who truly understands athletes (with years of apt experience to back him up), give Kinetic Integration a call. J

Excellent PT
5.0

I first went to see Melissa when I was suffering from a serious bout of achilles tendonitis last year. Using a combination of Graston technique and massage, she got me back out running fairly quickly. Achilles tendonitis is a tough one to get over, and it took a few sessions, but, thanks to Melissa, I was able to get back out and start running and racing again. She also helped me with a back problem I was having last July. Additionally, when I went to see her for some preventative care to try and avoid what seemed like a potential IT band injury, she helped me with that as well. I really appreciate that Melissa is an avid runner herself and thus understands how much a part of your life running can become and also how hard it is when you’re injured and can’t run.

Amazing!
5.0

Dr. Hohensee is the best doctor I have ever seen when dealing with injury. Having ran competitively in college, he totally understands runners. I have been having hip issues that have left me unable to run. He worked with me for nearly three hours to identify where my weaknesses were, what I can do to fix them, and how to move forward from this. He is incredibly thorough. I would recommend him to anyone!

Jen made me into a runner
5.0

I was referred to Jen by my doctor, who is an avid runner herself, when I was training for my first half marathon and developed terrible pain in my left knee. I had encountered this before when I’d tried to start running and always thought I just had bad knees so I couldn’t run. Wrong! I started seeing Jen last November, ran my first half marathon in January, and ran a full marathon in April. There’s no way I could have done it without her. She helped me correct posture and form issues that I’d had my entire life, my balance is greatly improved, and I’m stronger all over. Not only am I a better runner, I feel like I have injury-proofed myself lifelong. It’s obvious when you meet her that she is extremely smart, and she’s very passionate about her work and committed to her patients. She gets people back to running as soon as possible.

Deep!
5.0

Marlena knows what to do and exactly how to do it to work out your problem sites. She is wonderful. She, like Kelly, the PT she works with, seems to intuitively get how your body is working (or not working) and will fix it. She has years of experience so I think she’s seen and worked with everything. Her super strong fingers dig in to get to the issue and I’ve always walked away with so much more mobility back in my glutes, hips, it band, legs, etc.

I appreciate how Kelly and Marlena work together to get my body to a healthier, happier state.

BEST sports massage
5.0
  • bcforster reviewed 3 years ago
  • last edited 3 years ago

I have seen Holley a handful of times and would recommend her to anyone looking for deep tissue, localized work. She has years of experience of working with professional athletes including olympic runners and is great at finding those problem areas and really working them out. The first time I saw Holley was a few weeks before a marathon and I have also seen her post-race and mid-training cycle. She always takes a few minutes to ask about any issues as well as my race schedule so she knows how deep to go. She is also certified in KT Tape and will use it to help extend the benefit of massage.

The runner's chiropractor
5.0
  • hornse82 reviewed 3 years ago
  • last edited 3 years ago

Pros:
– Dr. Howell is a runner, so he understands our injuries, and knows what they feel like

  • A visit to Dr. Howell’s office is efficient – assesses your issue, works on issue, gives you take home advice

  • I always feel better when I leave then I did when I came in – he’s a healer

  • Need an appointment today? Usually no problem! I can usually get same day appointments

  • Overall, super nice, knowledgable guy. I wouldn’t see anyone else.

Cons:
– None!

Perfect for Runners
5.0
  • carmonaj reviewed 3 years ago
  • last edited 3 years ago

This was my first ever massage and i loved it! what i didn’t want was just a “feel good” massage with oils and incense (which i’m sure she would be great at too). Instead it was exactly what i needed and wanted. Karlee was able to work out a large knot i had in my psoas. She hit every spot that runners tend to be tight making me realize how much i need to make this part of my running injury prevention treatment plan:)

Jonathan Eng highly recommended
5.0

Jonathan has helped me on the road to health as I have experienced injuries related to my Achilles. He explains the issue and provides both short term and long term solutions to get you back on the roads. Additionally, as a high school XC coach, I have sent several of my runners to him with great success!!

Expert in injury recovery and running.
5.0
  • Dan Holstein reviewed 8 months ago
  • last edited 8 months ago

Thank you Jen Davis in helping me fulfill a longtime goal of running a marathon! I would not have been able to complete this feat if it were not for Jen Davis and the expert advice, manual therapy procedures, exercise, training and rehabilitation. The manual therapy and following a daily regiment of exercises was a key in my recovery. Retraining old thinking and implementing a new set of plans, are easier said than done.Through those procedures, plan and constant encouragement I’m able to run pain free today. This is nothing short of a miracle. 2 years ago I tore my right bi-cep tendon from my knee in a soccer injury. I followed that up with meniscus surgery on my other knee 6 months later. I was told to look at other forms of exercise. As to running a marathon……out of the question. I can’t begin to tell you how good this feels to be back enjoying the activities I love and crossing the finish line at this years Portland Marathon (2015). Thanks again Jen. I’m ready for the 45th Portland Marathon for 2016 this next Sunday. See you out there!

Portland's new foot and ankle specialist
5.0

I’ve had the pleasure of working with Dr. Meeker on the professional side – not as a patient. He is foot/ankle and ortho trauma trained and a fantastic addition to OHSU Orthopedics. He is very kind and compassionate with his patients – especially the more challenging patients. He’s able to treat sports injuries as well as complex fractures with ease. He has an elegant soft demeanor about him that makes him easy to warm up to and trust. He is an excellent teacher to the orthopedic residents and his staff is lovely to work with. I recommend him without hesitation.

Need relaxation? Need deep work?
5.0

Shannon has an incredible way of making you feel relaxed even during the most painful IT Band work. She has a variety of tricks up her sleeve (cupping, hot stones, foot scrubs, essential oils) to customize your massage to your needs. For those of you ladies who are expecting, her table also has a removable panel and netting for your belly while she works on your back. That’s right, you get to lay on your belly! Sweet space, great massage, and only $45 for your first hour massage! Not a bad deal!

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
I never hesitate to recommend Kimberly
5.0
  • Erika Cox reviewed 1 year ago
  • last edited 1 year ago

Kimberly’s credentials are impressive but the way she listens and recommends and follows up is proof of her qualifications to heal. I’ve seen her for running injuries (feet), my husband has seen her for wrist, shoulder golf injury and my teen sees her for spine, core strengthening for golf longevity. I know dancers see her, tennis players, lacrosse players. Kimberly is an athletes doctor. She knows what questions to ask to find the right road to wellness and it’s as individualized as the person! I never hesitate to recommend Kimberly to friends, especially when I hear, “I’ve had this foot pain all my life.” And I know with Kimberly, she’ll help identify why, what can be done to heal and the route to a pain-free life!

The perfect PT for a runner!
5.0
  • Sarah reviewed 7 months ago
  • last edited 7 months ago

Jen Davis is the best!
A couple weeks after my first 50k my ankle started hurting–I had another 50k on the books, just a few months out. Discouraged, I called Jen. My first appointment was set up immediately. Jen reviewed my running history, past injuries, did a full gait analysis, asked about my previous race results, and my goals. She was thorough.
Jen quickly identified the cause of my ankle pain and treated it with manual adjustments, dry needling, and exercises during our sessions and at home. My treatment plan was so well-rounded that I came out of it a stronger and faster runner. Jen helped me heal my ankle, but also taught me exercises to strengthen my full body, keep me balanced, and increase my running efficiency.
I absolutely recommend Jen to running friends! It’s so wonderful to work with a PT who is also a runner. To get advice and guidance from an athlete who understands I’m not looking for an excuse to stop running for a while. Jen never told me I couldn’t run. She encouraged me to go easy during the healing process and to be mindful as I build up mileage and intensity again. Jen is focused on getting healthy runners to run to their potential. She’s awesome.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Great therapy
5.0

Karlee is an excellent therapist. She has an intuitive touch, and knew just where I was hurting. I came in with shoulder pain, my left shoulder was killing me after I did a long hard workout. After just two massages I felt 100% better. I no try to make it part of my training regime to see her after hard efforts. She is the best!

Knows her stuff!!!
5.0
  • beaver2000 reviewed 3 years ago
  • last edited 3 years ago

I’ve been seeing Holley for a couple years now and she knows her stuff! She’s very experienced in sports related injuries and has gotten me ready for Ironman competitions as well as Half and Full Marathons. She is and will remain a part of my Team!!!!

First timer!
5.0

I was very apprehensive of Thai Massage as a Massage Therapist myself, but DJ changed that for me in my first session. He is very compassionate and understanding about your needs and executes each session with intent to help reach your goals. As a therapist and athlete that believes in massage I will always go to DJ when things feel imbalanced and in need of attention!

Terrific Running Gait Analysis
5.0
  • Michael Cal reviewed 1 year ago
  • last edited 1 year ago

I went to Colleen for a gait analysis. She performed a thorough history and examination before doing a video analysis of my running stride on the treadmill. She showed me how I was running and measured the angles of my stride from multiple camera angles. Then she made suggestions for how to improve efficiency and reduce strain on my body and the risk of injury. I was able to make immediate improvements that, with continued training, should help me to run faster and pain-free going forward.

I would highly recommend Colleen!

Persistent lower back pain went away after a month and a half working with Anna
5.0
  • Owen Rudloff reviewed 6 months ago
  • last edited 6 months ago

In the process of moving to Portland this summer I injured my lower back lifting furniture. I tried to work it out myself but it was persistent enough that I was compelled to seek out physical therapy. I’m a pretty active guy- enjoy running, swimming, basketball, hiking- and the aggravation was severe enough that pain after any of those activities discouraged me from continuing to exercise. A friend recommended Bridgetown and Anna began meeting with me a couple times a week. She worked with me to specifically identify the main pain points of my injury and was really great at communicating her knowledge to help me isolate my symptoms. She developed a regimen of exercises tailored to stretch and strengthen the focal point of my injury, which developed into a series of stretches that I’ve continued to do that have unquestionably led to my recovery. She also did a gait analysis and identified some underlying glute weakness that likely contributed to my back pain and gave me some great band exercises to activate my glutes before running in a way that kept them engaged throughout my run. Finally, when I first went in my back felt like a xylophone. Since I was discharged, I’ve hardly felt a single cavitation. I’d definitely recommend Anna to anyone who’s interested in not only getting completely healed, but also understanding why they got injured in the first place, and how to prevent it from happening again.

Massage
5.0
  • runturner reviewed 3 years ago
  • last edited 3 years ago

Holley is very welcoming and incredibly knowledgeable. She is great at asking questions to get to the root of issues and giving you feedback while she is working on problem areas. She is incredibly knowledgeable and sends you home feeling amazing!

Miracle worker
5.0

I’ve been a runner for 35 years. I used to suffer for months with various types of injuries. After I started working with Rod, I found that he could resolve most issues in one or two visits, many of which I never thought could be fixed by massage. In some cases, orthopedists spent a lot of time and money fruitlessly trying to fix me, only for Rod to fix me in 1 or 2 inexpensive visits.

MLS Laser resolved my chronic IT Band Syndrome.
5.0
  • Lee reviewed 1 year ago
  • last edited 1 year ago

As a physical therapist and distance runner I have had a mild case of IT band syndrome for years. It was a chronic tightness in the right lateral knee that would get sore on longer runs or on long drives. Lots of quad stretching and a yoga stretch with an occasional use of ASTYM tools kept it under control and in check, but it was always there.
After six sessions with the MLS laser the pain and tightness resolved permanently. The insertion of the IT band is no longer sore or tight, I can drive hours without having any symptoms and there is not discomfort during or after long runs. There was a definite change in the tissue and it resolved my symptoms.

Great PT!
5.0
  • Matt Mastrantuono reviewed 6 months ago
  • last edited 6 months ago

I have been in physical therapy with Anna for about 2 months now. Her kind demeanor is immediately disarming and makes an overwhelming situation feel a little bit easier. It was obvious right off the bat that she has a wealth of knowledge. It’s not just what she knows, though, it’s how she applies it. She does extensive work to figure out what’s wrong and then comes up with a comprehensive plan to fix it. My case in particular has been tricky, so she’s been diligent about making course corrections and suggesting alternative regiments. Anna does research about my pathology to make sure I’m getting the best care and she’s responsive to e-mails on her own time — so, I know have a PT that cares for my well being outside of that 45 minute session every week.

In particular, she is an elite runner and specializes in athletes who want to get back to running at full strength. Her personal abilities and knowledge of the sport is abundantly clear.

If you want a PT who knows her stuff, goes above and beyond and specializes in running, you should give Anna a call!

H2C "Miracle"
5.0
  • Es42 reviewed 3 years ago

I was a day out from running Hood to Coast with lots of knee pain. Bob saw me, made some adjustments, did an amazing taping job and I was able to complete the race with little to no problems – I never thought that would happen.
I incorporate running into other athletic activities I do as well. Bob has helped me with various knee and shoulder issues.
Great guy. Former Navy submarine diver, and former bodybuilder. Lifelong athlete. Runs a high performance Crossfit gym at his location as well.

Love Kelly!
5.0
  • MJA reviewed 3 years ago
  • last edited 3 years ago

About two years ago I started experiencing some low back/SI issues. After seeing 2 sports chiropractors for several months without much relief… a friend referred me to Kelly.

Within minutes of my first appointment she was able to identify the problem, find my weaknesses and came up with a plan to get me running healthy with just a couple of follow up visits. I walked out with less pain and with confidence that I would be running healthy soon!

Over time my mileage picked up and I decided to train for my first marathon. I experienced some wear and tear and the beginnings of common running injuries, but Kelly was able to find and treat them before they became major issues.

As a competitive athlete, Kelly understands the way runners think. She is caring, has great energy, and is committed to helping her clients reach their goals.

Now I see Kelly for maintenance and tune ups every 4-6 weeks depending on what I’m training for. She is a miracle worker… I don’t think I would be running strong without her!

Dr. Evan Ellis--Best Ortho in Town
5.0
  • tmagoo reviewed 2 years ago
  • last edited 2 years ago

As an avid runner with chronic knee problems, I have seen many Sports Med Dr.s, PT’s and Ortho’s throughout the greater Portland area. With more than a decade of treatment under my belt, I am so happy to have finally found someone who truly has made a significant and positive impact. While many Dr.’s have told me to find a new sport, Dr. Ellis decided to work with me to find a way to support my running, keep me healthy, comfortable and active. He has offers unique approaches that don’t always include going under the knife. He is energetic, charismatic, engaging, on time and goes way above and beyond on every visit. I would HIGHLY recommend Dr. Ellis to anyone with knee or shoulder problems. While he specializes in athletes, he treats a wide demographic.

Helpful PT
5.0
  • Dee reviewed 6 months ago

After a recent accident I started to receive Physical Therapy services with Anna. Anna has helped me become stronger by strengthening multiple muscle groups to help increase agility and balance. I’m thankful to find a therapist I trust for the rest of my recovery .

If you're looking for the strongest masseuse out there...
5.0

I strongly prefer to see women massage therapists when I need whole body work. I’ve had a hard time finding a woman who goes hard all the time without me having to always ask for more pressure. From the very beginning of the hour Aarisa tests my pain tolerance and relentlessly gets into my knotted body. She will of course go lighter if you ask her. I also like that while sometimes we engage in conversation, sometimes we don’t, and it’s not awkward either way. I get massages from her every few weeks and wish it was even more often! Her rates are great ($60 I think) but your first time is only $40 if you want to give her a try. Oh – and be sure to grab a wonderful bite from Proper Eats on your way out which is below her office, one of my favorite restaurants in Portland!

Amazing PT
5.0

After 2 years of chronic achilles pain, I wasn’t sure if be able to continue to run. I saw Dr Sanatan Golden and not only was I able to run, I ran a marathon, doubled my weekly miles and achieved PRs in all the distances. I did all this while being treated for achilles tendinosis (beyond tendinitis). Dr Golden takes tons of time with you and believes in staying active and running during treatment. He feels that increased activity and blood flow actually will help. I cannot recommend him highly enough!

Great!
5.0
  • Hayley Ney reviewed 1 year ago
  • last edited 1 year ago

I was in serious pain only a few months before a marathon I had spent the last half year training for. Emily worked on my hip over three sessions just prior to the marathon and the treatment helped get me to the finish line! Not to mention she is very professional, friendly and the facility is state-of-the-art. Thank you, Emily!

Professional and effective
5.0
  • Amy reviewed 4 months ago

I’ve been seeing Jenny for massage every six weeks for over a year, and I always look forward to our appointments. She effectively loosens and releases tightness I develop through regular running, sometimes in areas I didn’t even know were tight! I’ve found regular massage is a great way to keep my body in its natural alignment and prevent running injuries. In addition to being a massage therapist, Jenny has a background in athletic training, so she’s also a great resource in treating and recovering from injuries. Often she’ll give me a stretch, strength exercise, or taping strategy to help me heal more quickly. Her massage room is always clean and tranquil, and I love that she heats the massage bed!

Can't live without Kelly!
5.0
  • carmonaj reviewed 3 years ago
  • last edited 3 years ago

Kelly is simply amazing! She knows the body better than anyone i have ever seen allowing her to really figure out what the issue is rather than just treating the “symptom” or pain. I have been seeing her for just about 8 years now and i have learned so much through her as far as where my weaknesses are, how my body compensates, and what strengthening exercises i need to do to stay healthy. The 8 years is not a reflection of how long i have been injured by the way:) I see her most of the time for simply maintenance, making sure everything is in alignment to avoid injury. She is personally one of the nicest, more genuine people i know and spends a lot of time with you really helping you work through your injury or concern.

Great massage!
5.0
  • MJA reviewed 3 years ago
  • last edited 3 years ago

Vicky is awesome! She has kept me running strong throughout marathon training and has been able to find potential problem areas and work them out before they become bigger issues. She can do a super DEEP tissue massage or overall maintenance work depending on what your needs are. Her online scheduling is really convenient and she has been able to squeeze me in on short notice!

Many of my runner friends see Vicky regularly and have nothing but great things to say!

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Shawn is awesome
5.0

I went to Shawn for a serious foot injury and found him incredibly helpful. Not only did he help me get better quickly but he also gave me exercises and drills to complete before my runs that were helpful and made sense. He gave an incredibly thorough evaluation at my first visit and listened carefully to all the issues I had been having. He knows about the body, about shoes, recovery and comeback training plans and more. He is comprehensive and his office in LO has everything you could ever need. I really appreciated Shawn and his staff.

Back and Running!
5.0

I have been skeptical, to say the least, about most doctors and healthcare providers. And as a runner I have attempted to avoid going to the doctor, oftentimes being too late and they tell me to take a break and stop running. I ignore it, get hurt worse, and then sit and mope. With Dr. Dean, I was worried that he would do the same thing. And with a push from friends I made an appointment. With my jaded intentions I walked through the door expecting to hear I had a season ending injury and that I needed to take time off. Exactly the opposite! He sat me down, told me I just had things I needed to do to manage the pain, and in turn fix and eliminate the pain. He said that I could still run the race I had signed up for, and that I would actually become faster with his help! Who doesn’t like to hear that?? Thank you to Dr. Dean for all of his advice. He truly just wants to help runners get out there and enjoy the miles.

So grateful for Karl!
5.0
  • Chelsea Blanchard reviewed 1 year ago
  • last edited 1 year ago

I went to see Karl after struggling to fix a stubborn hip/back/glute/who-knows-what injury. I went in feeling like I was unfixable and expecting to hear that I needed to take time off and hope everything heals with rest. Fortunately, I left with extreme renewed confidence! Not only did I leave the clinic physically feeling better than when I went in, Karl was able to identify the problem and put me at ease that there was hope! I appreciate that he really explains what is going on, by educating I think he sets one up for greater chance of success and less relapse. He provided me with exercises to continue to improve at home, and without him I think I would still be nursing a stubborn and frustrating injury. Most importantly Karl and the entire staff at Rose City Physical Therapy are very kind, what an oasis of positive energy! Grateful for Karl and his staff, I highly recommend their expertise on any injury. I am confident they can fix it!

Give NAET a try
5.0
  • Amy reviewed 4 months ago
  • last edited 4 months ago

Dr. Wagner has helped myself and my two daughter’s heal from several different conditions, and I highly recommend her. An out-of-state friend recommended I try NAET (Nambudripad’s Allergy Elimination Techniques) treatments for my daughter who has suffered from dairy and egg intolerances for several years. A Google search helped me find Dr. Wagner as someone who administers NAET in my area. Dr. Wagner was able to successfully treat my daughter so she can have milk on cereal, cheese and sour cream on tacos, ice cream, and scrambled eggs once again. Seriously life changing. My daughter feels better, is so much happier, and I think she even looks better. It sounds too good to be true, but it’s seriously what we’re experiencing, and I’m so happy about. The same daughter has had eczema for years, and through the NAET allergy treatments, her eczema isn’t perfect but is probably 80% better.

My other daughter saw Dr. Wagner for allergies and asthma, and I’m happy to report she rarely uses her inhaler during sports practices anymore.

Personally, Dr. Wagner has helped me with fatigue, abdominal soreness (which I’ve had on and off for years), and exercise-induced asthma. I’ve stopped taking the three inhalers I used for nearly 20 years and am doing really well. I’m able to eat gluten/wheat again after avoiding it for a couple of years. My sugar cravings are down as an added bonus. I love that Dr. Wagner has natural remedies (herbal supplements, probiotics, anti-viral/bacterial drops and sprays, etc.) for real conditions that work and I can purchase right at her office if I choose. I also love that I can book appointments online through her website! I highly recommend you try NAET if you suffer from food or respiratory allergies or asthma. It hasn’t cured us of 100% everything, but we’ve seen significant improvements.

Drew is a healer
5.0

Drew is wonderful. He really listens to what you are saying about your injuries and he goes above and beyond what’s required of him to know the most about it and get you healthy. As a former very competitive and successful runner himself he gets it and knows you just want to get back out there. He’s aggressive with treatment but gentle in demeanor. He helped me with many foot injuries, has supported me in my running goals, and provided strength opportunities for me to get stronger and be healthier. Drew is great at what he does.

an athlete treating athletes
5.0

I’ve been going to Foland for the last 4-5 years. He has a huge fund of knowledge as an elite runner and how to treat athletes of all abilities. Whether it’s a tight back, my chronic right hip issue, and putting my feet back together, he’s patient, kind, and willing to work with me to get me back out running again.

Simply the BEST!
5.0

I’ve been seeing Jen for a couple of years now and she continues to impress me with how passionate she is about her work. She is always looking to learn as much as she can so that she can give her patients the best treatment. One of Jen’s unique (I think) treatments is dry needling. I’d never even heard of it before I started seeing Jen and it’s amazing how much one session can improve mobility. Jen is great to work with and really helpful in providing materials to help her patients understand what is going on and how to go about getting better. I am admittedly terrible at doing my assigned exercises and she always tries to come up with new and easier ways to help me fit them into my busy schedule. Jen’s focus is running but she understands the way the muscles in the body work so thoroughly that I’m positive she could help with any type of issue you may be having. If you’re looking for a physical therapist I’d recommend Jen in a heartbeat!

Very knowledgeable and helped me return to running!
5.0
  • Anna reviewed 3 months ago

I saw Aarisa after experiencing an unexpected back injury. My biggest complaint was spasm of my gluts and back muscles. I explained to Aarisa my concerns, and she was very diligent about hitting all of my problem areas. I had been improving under the care of my PTs and with her paired treatment, I was able to get out for a run the next day. Aarisa truly understands the body and especially that of a runner. I highly recommend her to those looking to get back to doing the things that they love without pain!

Drew's the man!
5.0

I’ve been seeing Drew for almost all of my injuries for about 2 years now. He is easy to get into which initially attracted me. He understands my goals and necessity for getting healthy ASAP. When I am fairly healthy, seeing Drew and having him work on me for an hour is like flossing my body out. I have been the healthiest I have been in years because of him. The things that makes him stand above the crowd is that he is very humble – for example, he will not force an adjustment like many of my previous chiropractors have. He will also never mention the many professional runners that he treats; rather, he will spend whatever time necessary on you and focus on you. He has come in at 9pm on a Friday night as I was coming back into town and needed an adjustment before my marathon that weekend. He will provide payment plans that work if you don’t have insurance (or it runs out, as in my case). Finally, he offers a free strength class every week to a small group of us which is evidence that he truly cares about you as a runner, to be healthy and meet your goals. He may never make a ton of money because of how generous he is! Very rare to find a doctor with a demeanor like Drew.

Fantastic
5.0

Drew is one of the most professional and top notch healthcare providers I’ve been too. I’ve seen Drew for major injuries, minor aches and pains as well preventative check ups and adjustments. Drew is very thorough and spent a lot of time with me. What I think the clinic does best is pairs manual therapy with strength training. Connected to the clinic is a large, turf floored workout room with med balls, free wights, kettle bells, balance boards, foam rollers, a slide board, ropes and numerous other tools. I’ve spent a lot of time working out under Drew’s guidance. I would definitely recommend the clinic to any runner.

Kyle is amazing
5.0

Kyle helps us ladies with things that we don’t always think are issues: hormones. As we train and as we age, as women, our hormones change and can make recovery tough, can cause weight gain, absorption issues, and exhaustion that we can’t explain. Kyle has been studying these links and helping women deal with these issues for many years. She is a great listener and the office environment is very comforting. If you have night sweats, not recoering, low iron and D, muscle pain and fatigue that you can’t explain, and fogginess…go see Kyle!

Need a doc who gets it?
5.0

I went to Dr. Howard on a referral from my PC, and was dreading having to explain to another non-runner that my mileage is not abnormal, and that stopping running altogether is simply not an option. My hip had been giving me trouble for a while and was not getting much better, so my chiropractor wanted me to try and get an MRI to see what it could be. Dr. Howard started our visit with a general list of questions, and my responses soon changed her questions to those that only fellow runner would know to ask.

Dr. Howard is an accomplished triathlete and Ironwoman who has the experience to understand running/biking/swimming injuries and how those impact the day-to-day life of runners, cyclists, and swimmers. It was not only refreshing, but encouraging to talk with a doctor who spoke my language and understood what taking a few days off of running would mean to me. When she asked me to promise to not run until the results of my MRI came back, I was able to promise without crossing my fingers behind my back and feeling like I was being talked down to.

Not only am I happy to say my MRI came back clean, but Dr. Howard called me herself to tell me and said she would look for me at the tri we are both doing on Sunday. If you have Kaiser, I highly recommend Dr. Howard. She gets it!

Best ever!
5.0
  • Sonya Wilkerson reviewed 8 months ago
  • last edited 8 months ago

I have seen 4 different PT and Lifestyles is the best. They have done an excellent job diagnosis my running injuries. They are very good at patiently describing the exercises I should do. Kelly has let me video her several times so I’m sure I do them right.

I have quickly healed and gotten back to running with their help.

Plus, they are all light hearted and funny!

Lindsy Palisca is amazing!
5.0
  • Alec Josephson reviewed 3 months ago

I’m a 56 year old runner who suffered from plantar fasciitis for almost 18 months. I went to my doctor, a podiatrist, and an orthopedic surgeon. The recommended prescriptions of orthotics, cortisone shots, and stretching did not work. I thought my running career was over. I was referred to Lindsy by the sales person at the local athletic gear store. She said “Lindsy will have you up and running in two weeks.” Well, it didn’t take two weeks. I was up and running after 3 visits! With a couple more visits, I have been running pain free for almost a year. Lindsy is amazing and highly recommended. She knows her stuff, and she is a neat person! FIVE BIG STARS!

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Kelly is amazing!
5.0
  • Amy reviewed 3 years ago

I’ve seen Kelly for almost five years, and I honestly don’t know what I would do without her. Her go-to method of treatment is osteopathic manipulations (adjustments), and she is VERY good at them. When I first saw Kelly, I had developed really bad hamstring pain that I couldn’t eliminate with rolling, stretching, and rest. Kelly determined that my pelvis was rotated quite badly which was pulling on my hamstring. She adjusted my pelvis and gave me several exercises to strengthen my core and glutes. With proper care, the hamstring pain went away.

A couple of years later, after a speed workout on the track, I woke up the following morning feeling like someone had taken a baseball bat to one of my knees – it hurt so bad! I iced and took some time off thinking the pain would just go away, but the pain persisted, and I wasn’t able to run. When I saw Kelly, she found that my talus (in my ankle) was locked up, so my ankle was not moving properly. After adjusting my ankle, I was able to begin running again in the next day or two, and my knee healed!

I have had similar experiences several times with Kelly and have learned that when your joints are not moving properly, they will cause strain, injury, and pain somewhere in your body.

The key to having success with Kelly’s treatment strategy is to make sure you’re doing the strength exercises she recommends. Without proper functional strength, your body will revert to bad habits and your alignment will get messed up again. As I’ve gotten stronger, I’ve needed to see Kelly less frequently for adjustments. I’ve also found that incorporating a good stretching and self-massage routine (and supplementing with sports massage) also helps to keep my body properly aligned, so I don’t need to get adjusted as often.

Kelly is also a great sounding board as a fellow athlete. She has great experience from racing Ironmans and understands the training, rest, and health issues that competitive athletes face.

Just to warn you, Kelly’s waiting list for new patients is LONG, but if you can get in to see her, you will be so happy!

Showing 1 - 50 of 102 results