Reviews

Great way to start your Thanksgiving Day!
5.0
  • Melanie reviewed 1 year ago
  • last edited 1 year ago

My friend Sarah told me about the race just a few days before hand, and I decided to join her! I was very pleasently surprised with the price of the race, especially since I was registering so late! The morning was COLD, probably the coldest race for me so far, and I was so thankful for the hot coffee at the start of the race. The 10K was two loops, clearly marked, and separated the 10K and 5K runners so that we could easily keep running. I actually enjoyed the loop so that I could plan and conserve my energy for the hill in the middle of the course. Overall, I was very pleased with the race and definitely want to do it next year! Oh, and I loved the medal!

Fun race, tons of people
4.0
  • Melanie reviewed 1 year ago
  • last edited 1 year ago

I’ve run both the 15K and the 5K. I loved the 15K, even the challenging course. There were a lot of people, but since the race started earlier than the other events, the morning drive to the event, parking, and pre race went really smoothly. And it was the most delicious beer afterwards. The 5K was completely different. I wasn’t prepared for SO many people. Just get there early (very early) and make sure you find the correct spot in the corals for the time you want to run. I started too far back and was surrouded the entire time, weaving in and out around other runners and walkers. Definitely a fun atmosphere. I’ll just show up 2 hours earlier next time. 😉

Great first marathon
4.0
  • Melanie Rice reviewed 1 year ago
  • last edited 1 year ago

This was my first marathon and I thought it was a fantastic experience. The course had a slight uphill the first half, which made that slight downhill feel fantastic. I really missed the shade and scenic trees those last six miles, but overall I thought the course was great. My only complaint was that the last few aid stations were starting to run out of nutrition by the time I got to them (4 hour pace). I remember thinking how many snacks were at the first stations wishing I had grabbed some! But the volunteers were awesome!

Sneaky challenging marathon but fun
4.0
  • amelia slagle reviewed 1 year ago
  • last edited 1 year ago

I really enjoyed this marathon however I expected it to be less difficult than it was before I ran it based on the course map and elevation changes.

Miles 1-12 went by quickly, very flat and good crowd support
Miles 13-16 on highway 30 were lonely and windy on the main road, no spectators and not pretty scenery
Miles 16-17 climbing up the road to St. Johns bridge was much more difficult than I imagined even after practicing it multiple times, my mile time slowed down a full minute and a half and drained me
Going across the bridge is also pretty windy
Miles 18-21 were flat and the crowd started to pick up however it was really sunny and I should have worn sunglasses and it was hotter than I expected
Miles 21-23 I started to cruise here, you are out of the direct sunlight and you get a good downhill in
Miles 24-26 Back in downtown and the crowd really picks up and it is very flat, good way to finish the race

I would definitely recommend this marathon but be prepared for the draining uphill before the St. Johns bridge, the loneliness of highway 30 and the potential sunshine in your eyes on Willamette.

Excellent Series Race!
4.0
  • Amanda S reviewed 1 year ago
  • last edited 1 year ago

What a fantastic race! I strongly recommend this series to all levels of runners and can’t wait to sign up again next year.

PROS:
-Super affordable (3 races for under $50!) and the nature of a series does wonders for my motivation.
-Very well organized! RunwithPaula does a fantastic job organizing races – runners are well taken care of (water, food, sports drinks, coffee and MORE). I’ve been running for a couple years now and have never bothered repeating a race. Her events always leave me ecstatic and grateful to have spent the money.
-Excellent series for hitting your PR! I shaved a ton of time off over the three races.
-Easy course with no delays from traffic. Good views through a grassy area next to a pond and no pavement problems.
-Great energy from all involved. I’ve never enjoyed a post race party so much (great awards and raffle)
-Beginner friendly with lots of speed walkers.
-Starts a bit later in the day than other winter races, making it so much easier to get there.

CONS:
-It’s a bit of a hard run to start. The first 1/4 mile is through a road passing several office buildings. On the flip side, on your way back it certainly makes the finish line look like gold in the distance.
-Due to flooding (a 2″ thick puddle) you are asked to run up a VERY small but VERY muddy hill, which caused one or two people to slip.
-The course is public so there were a couple slow moving older couples and zippy bicycles to circumnavigate.
-I took the no phones/timing devices rule very seriously on the third race and was left a bit sad to not have music to listen to.

Hilly Beauty
4.0
  • Erica Endicott reviewed 1 year ago
  • last edited 1 year ago

Helvetia was my very first half marathon and it did not disappoint. It is a very hilly course but its so beautiful especially in the morning. Very well organized and nice bling. After party could use a little help, long lines for the helvetia burger but that more than made up for it in taste. Would certainly recommend and will do it again! :)

BEST MARATHON EVER!!
5.0
  • Erica Endicott reviewed 1 year ago
  • last edited 1 year ago

This was my favorite race to date! Amazing course, beautiful scenery, very well organized and bananas on the course(BRILLIANT. Finishing on Hayward Field on the Jumbo Tron was amazing. The after part was so well organized, no lines, lots of water and food and no lines. Would receommend this race to anyone wanting to run a half or full marathon.

Too many people
2.5
  • Erica Endicott reviewed 1 year ago
  • last edited 1 year ago

Fun Race if you don’t mind walking a marathon from your parking spot to get to the starting line in time. Fun after party but the usually soggy weather and long lines for a tiny cup of chowder and a beer make it almost not worth the pain. Really fun course and lots of fun music but not my fav.

MY favorite
5.0
  • Krisi Quayle reviewed 1 year ago
  • last edited 1 year ago

Love this one for so many reasons! Only downside is the cost. Great atmosphere!

Definitely a fun race
4.0
  • Krisi Quayle reviewed 1 year ago
  • last edited 1 year ago

… but the weather is historically bad for it! Carrying drenched shoes up pill hill is a beast, but the downhill on the end makes it all worthwhile. And beer, if you’re into that thing.

Great as a first race!
5.0
  • Krisi Quayle reviewed 1 year ago
  • last edited 1 year ago

Super low key but really well organized! Only downside is the 10k is a two-time loop. Oh well, it’s a pretty one anyway :) Put on by a great group of mom runners. It’s a fun one!

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Low-key trail running fun, and bring your dog!
4.5

We almost missed this, as we got lost trying to find the park (note to self: your GPS unit isn’t technicallycapable of lying to you, so please learn to trust it.) But once we arrived, check-in went smooth and we were ready to roll. It’s a low-key, no frills race which is extremely affordable and the people running it are very friendly and helpful. Bring cash or check for race day registrations. The trail was more challenging than we expected, with some mud pits and some rough terrain — after shredding my ankle on a mud run I’ve been nervous about trail runs and thought this would be a good intro, I think maybe I was a little paranoid but I am not taking any chances! My friend brought her big, happy running dog and he had a BLAST! There were a few big dogs and a few little dogs, just enough to keep our companion pup happy and headed towards the finish line to sniff and wag with his new friends. The park is lovely, and not super busy, so there are nice spots to stretch out in the sun and enjoy the post-race food and drink. Plenty of parking, but it’s in a field, so leave your Lamborghini at home. The only complaint was that the trail can get backed up in spots, especially if you’re behind someone who is determined to not wreck their brand new kicks in a slop pit. My friend is looking forward to this year, and plans to try out the 10k. I highly recommend this to people who are looking to try out trail running and need a friendly, challenging but not miserable race to get started with.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
This is one to run for the cause
4.5

This is a hard one to review, because the course is not very interesting or pleasant, the price is steep, and the tech shirts I’ve gotten over the years have been, well, kinda flimsy and cheaply made. BUT, Albertina Kerr is such a fantastic organization to support that I was willing to ignore the fact that I splashed out some serious cash on another run that goes through the usual PDX industrial blight, the somewhat fragrant and always heartbreaking homeless camp areas, and uses the beloved/hated Barbur Blvd climb and dive. If you can overlook the course and the definitive lack of swag (which in my opinion is getting out of hand — I would rather pay $10 less in reg fees than get something like a “collectible challenge coin” — sorry PDX Marathon!) I would recommend this race. It’s a fun run for people who like a big crowd vibe, and it’s well organized and supported. After the run there are plenty of snacks, coffee, and even mimosas (the line for that was super long, so make sure you’re not in a rush to get out.) Bring your own nutrition on the course. Plenty of porta-potties at the start/finish, which is brilliantly held at the convention center so if it’s crappy out you can stretch, relax, listen to music courtesy of 94.7 FM, and feel sad about your tissue-thin shirt in the comfort of the indoors. The medals, however, made up for the shirt, as they were handmade by Kerr clients, which brings me back to my original thoughts on the race — that it helps to check out Albertina Kerr’s programs if you are on the fence about signing up, as you will be so inspired by the organization that you will put it on your calendar for years to come.

An Oregon running must-do
4.5

This race is a staple that every Oregon runner should do at least once. It’s an established event with a long history, is organized, has a large field of runners at all ability levels, and might be one of your only opportunities to see someone blast past you wearing lederhosen. The course is rolling, with some climbs, but then you get the opportunity to make up speed on the downhills. The optional tech shirt is usually of decent quality and won’t break the bank if you add it to your registration. The start can be crowded as you weave through the streets of Mt. Angel after starting out in a park, but then you’re out in the countryside around the Abbey (which is worth a visit for architecture buffs, as the library was designed by Alvar Aalto) and the crowd thins out a little. I noticed two porta-potties on the course, but I think everyone was in such a rush to finish and get into Oktoberfest that they didn’t stop to use them as I didn’t see lines. My only quibbles were that the course monitors got ignored by the drivers in a few spots, and things got a little nerve-wracking as disrespectful hillbillies sped by. Oh, and some potholes, but I can trip on thin air so maybe that’s just my problem. The age group awards are generous (new achievable goal! Oktoberfest AG Ribbon!) I found parking along the main road in front of the Fest Halle, and there was plenty of room for everyone, but I did have a little bit of a walk to the start–if you get their super early you can find a spot in town near the start. Most importantly, we got FREE BEER and entry to the Oktoberfest, which was AWESOME. Even my German-American “I hate running” husband enjoyed himself!

A small-town gem of a rural run
4.5

This has turned out to be one of my favorite half marathons in Oregon, not because it’s big and flashy, but because it’s a thoughtfully organized run that takes you through some beautiful Willamette Valley farmland via quiet roads that lend themselves to contemplation and the pleasure of running. Speedsters will find plenty of competition, and the course itself is a little challenging — there are a few sections of rolling hills to be found, including a 1/4-ish long, low climb to the finish line. There’s an early start for slower runners and walkers, which is always a nice feature. They do a fun “guess the theme” music competition at the mile markers (which are accurate) to keep you motivated, and also have a fairly decent raffle spread — each mile marker lists bib numbers of winners. In the last stretch of the race you get to run through a covered bridge, which is SWEET. The half finisher’s medals are modest, so if you only run for bling, opt for the shorter distances so you’re not disappointed, or just take comfort in the fact that your SUPER LOW entry fee goes to the school track program. Post race, you get to take part in an amazing baked potato bar. There were four aid stations, some of which are manned by students (so it can be spotty about cup filling, but bless their hearts!) No gel or nutrition, so bring your own. Parking at the start is limited but they have a spiffy shuttle system going that will get you from an ample parking lot to the start in a jiffy.

Mommathon has something for everyone!
5.0
  • arsellers reviewed 1 year ago
  • last edited 1 year ago

I am very fond of this race for a number of reasons. First and foremost is that it is put on by Moms Run This Town, a free running club geared toward getting moms of all fitness levels together for the sake of fitness and friendship. MRTT gave a portion of the Mommathon proceeds to a charity, Girls on the Run, that empowers girls to stay active and fit. I also really liked that MRTT partnered with Uberthons to run the chip timing and other technical logistics. My results were instantly available after I crossed the finish line. The Mommathon course was familiar, being the same route used for the Falcon Relay I had run previously. I enjoyed the fitness challenges post race. And let me tell you, tire jumps are NOT easy after running 6.2 miles!! Mommathon is not just for moms! Men can compete and win prizes too. Kids got their own free race on the high school track as well. What this means is that Mommathon is an event that the whole family can attend and enjoy. There truly is something for everybody.

PRC Winter 5K Series
5.0

At the suggestion of a running coach late in 2014 I looked to add some 5K’s to my training. The PRC Winter 5K Series was coming up so I decided to run all 3 of them. The entire race is really fun. You get to the store greeted by the smiles of Dave and Paula and many of their long time volunteers. Grab a water or coffee and head out to warm up. At several of races they’ve had Nike and Saucony displaying shoes, and if you’d like you can run the race in a pair.

The course is really run. It starts out fairly flat, then dips down a hill into a park where you complete the out and back section (with the heavy rains this year, we deviated up a small grassy hill, which gives you a fun cross country feel :)). Coming home at mile 2 you have about a .5 mile slight uphill to get the blood flowing and then .5 mile back to the finish with a slight downhill the last few hundred yards.

Upon returning to the store you’re greeted by Paula and her crew cooking pancakes. You’ll find a couple tables of vendors like Swiftsock, Garmin, Active Edge Wellness to name a few. Dave reads the results, during which there are lots of prizes and giveaways!!!

It’s been a really fun series with great support for everyone from the “fasties” to the walkers. I’ve run 5 of these now and each one keeps getting better. I plan on running the next race in February. The predict-a-mile.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
A unique race, NOT just for Moms!
5.0

First, I must admit that I may be slightly biased because I am the race director for this event. However, I will try to make my review as unbiased as possible.

The race starts at Liberty High School in Hillsboro. One of the benefits of this is having plenty of real restrooms, not porto potties, to use prior to the race. I don’t think I waited more than 2 minutes.

Admittedly, last year’s race course was a bit awkward. The entry point to the DEQ resulted in a backup of traffic. Also, doing a 180 degree turnaround on the track to start the second lap of the 10K was not ideal. That’s why we changed the race course to a faster and flatter out and back course for 2016.

One of the unique things about this race is that it offers a series of optional fitness challenges after the 5K or 10K run. Last years challenges included burpees, push-ups, planks, box jumps and jump ropes. The participants earned points for scoring in the top 5 by gender. Massive trophies were awarded for the fitness challenge winner and the male and female winners of the 5K and 10K.

The race also offered lots of great food and some amazing prizes in the raffle.

New for 2016, Play.Fit.Fun will be sponsoring a kids’ obstacle course. This is completely free for the kids and they even get a free ice cream coupon for participating.

Please join us on February 27, 2016!

A good race to start your new year
4.0

Vancouver Lake Half Marathon is a unique race in that is one of the only half marathons offered in the Portland metro area in January. Because of that it draws a great mix of competitive and recreational runners.I like that VLH has a reasonable entry fee and the late start time of 10:00 am. I deducted a half a star for the flat, but repetitive course, which can tax the nerves. I deducted another half star because I needed and asked for some medical assistance after the race (my feet were bleeding from ruptured blisters) and had to hobble to several volunteers who did not know who could help. Eventually I was given a tiny bandaid from a first aid kit, but it would not stick on my foot. Obviously I survived, lol, but the first aid station could have been better prepared. Bandaid incident aside, I still would recommend Vancouver Lake Half Marathon and plan on running it again.

Want to challenge yourself?
4.0

Ran the inaugural half marathon last year. It gets hilly during the middle of the course but you get to witness beautiful views of Willamette valley. Friendly volunteers and lots of cheerleaders along the course. Overall well organized event considering the fact that thousands of runners participate in this event.

Fun small race feel
4.5

Ran this race for the first time and I have to say it was fun. Flat and beautiful course and above all friendly volunteers. I missed my PR by 6s :(. Will try to run this race next year too.

Fun Half Marathon!
4.0
  • Sarah Gamble reviewed 1 year ago
  • last edited 1 year ago

Yes this last years Pints to Pasta had some huge issues with the shuttle, I was super grateful to have chosen to run the half marathon distance so the shuttle was a non issue for me. I love running downtown & really enjoyed the course! The after party was great with a nice meal, beer & wine. I loved this race and hope people give a little grace for the traffic/construction/shuttle nightmare, I’m sure they will make this race better than ever next year! I can’t wait to do this one again!

Great way to start off your Thanksgiving morning!
5.0
  • Sarah Gamble reviewed 1 year ago
  • last edited 1 year ago

This is a very well organized event & a super fun way to kick off a day typically filled with overindulgence. This starts & ends at Bridgeport Village, offering a ton of free, available parking as the mall is closed. Our team earned a VIP tent for having a lot of people sign up, we got a nice warm place to stand, heaters, hot coffee, fruit & pastries. It was great! It was also super cold outside so this was a nice touch. There were plenty of porta potties, raffle prizes, a toy drive, and of course great big heavy medals at the end! Uberthons really knows how to throw race! The coarse had a few hills and the 10k was 2 loops. There was more pastries, fruit, coffee & hot chocolate at the end. I will likely do this one again next year!

Love this race!
4.5
  • Sarah Gamble reviewed 1 year ago
  • last edited 1 year ago

This a great race, it is well organized, inexpensive, and super flat. I got my half marathon PR on this course last year. My only complaint is that you pass the finish area several times before it’s actually over, but as long as you know that ahead of time it won’t throw you off too much. The race started right on time, at 10 am, which is pretty late as far as these things go but I liked the chance to sleep in a little on race day. Can’t wait to do this one again next year!

100% proceeds support the Clark County Food Bank!
5.0

I have run this family friendly Turkey Trot the past 3 Thanksgivings in a row. They do a fantastic job from registration online through post race clean up! Ample food, snacks, bathrooms, parking attendants, volunteers, photos, you name it. They make it very clear this is NOT the one to attempt a PR. The Salmon Creek Trail is beautiful this time of year, but shared with the community. The number of runners is capped, but still wayyy toooo many for this to really be a race. It is a time to enjoy and get a run in before Turkey Day starts, while supporting a worthy cause in our local community. The Clark County Food Bank does tremendous work year round and putting on this charity race is a small part of what they do, but they still do it top notch every year!

Showing 26 - 50 of 126 results
Find races in the Portland, OR metro area and beyond - 5k, 10k, half marathons, marathons, ultras, trail races, duathlons, aquabikes, triathlons, relays, kids races, and more. Read race reviews from real runners to help you pick which race fits what you’re looking for, and add race reviews of your own!  Use the Search, Location, Category, and Sort fields on the main Races page to narrow your search and find exactly what you’re looking for.