Reviews

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Best shoes ever!
5.0

I have two pairs of hot pink and neon green Asic Gel Kayanos. Not only do they look flashy and fast, they provide stability for my overpronation with enough foot coushion while not being heavy like many other shoes I have tried. I scrapped my GT2050 rut when I found these for great deals on Roadrunnersports.com. My sister in law that has bad knees just bought a pair of last years model for under $90 bucks at Nordstroms and loves them.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Fabulous lightweight shoe
5.0

The Sayonara is the updated version of the Mizuno Precision. It is a neutral and light-weight shoe. I like it for tempo runs on concrete roads because it has more cushioning than most light-weight and minimalist shoes. It also has a good sized toe box and feels great throughout my runs.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
great light but stable shoe
4.5

I’ve always struggled with trying to find the right shoe. I went back and forth from smooshy too much cushioning to having something with too much stability and across the spectrum. After having months of SI joint and hip issues (and weekly visits to my chiropractor), he suggested getting fit tested again with a gait analysis. I hadn’t done this for quite a while and knew I needed to start from ground zero again. I’d run in the Saucony Kinvara previously and liked the light weight shoe. It also felt stable enough for me.

I tried these along with another Saucony. The Asics were the winner mostly because of it’s much simpler construction. There’s no stitching or logo to battle with across my outer foot or little toe area which seems to always be a problem for me. They are light as a feather. My pronation is no longer as severe so there is enough stability and arch support. As I’ve been working back into my running and getting my hip and core issues sorted out, these are plenty of shoe for me to hit the reset button in.

Review for Brooks Adrenaline GTS 14 women's running shoe
5.0

I recently started to run in Brooks Adrenaline GTS 14 shoe. I would have never selected these shoes but a good friend within the running community asked me to run in them. I am very selective on my running shoes because I have flat feet and have been told many times that I should run in motion control shoes or add inserts for support to my shoes. So for years, I wore Asics Evolution, Asics Foundation, and Saucony Stabil, and didn’t have any problem with my arches. If I ever tried to run more than 3 miles in any other shoe, my feet would begin hurting because the shoes just lacked the support that my feet required.
When my friend fitted me with the Brooks Adrenaline, she told me to go up ½ size up from what I typically had been running in (I typically would wear a 7-1/2 and went up to an 8). She recommended the increase in size because of the high mileage I was doing and she couldn’t have been more right. The shoe is also lighter than what I was currently running in and I noticed it as soon as I laced up and went out for my first run on my new shoes. I highly recommend this shoe to individuals who are flat footed or overpronators. Happy Running!

No "breaking in" required, less joint pain, no black toenails :)
5.0

I’m on my fifth pair of these…I love them. I’ve been running for 17 years, and these are by far my favorite shoe. Barefoot/minimalist running definitely changes your gait (shortens your stride and puts your feet under you instead of extended in front), so when I made the switch to these, I did it gradually to avoid being super sore. I wore them for short runs only at first, and built up to full-time wear over a couple of months. I’m so glad I did. I used to get sharp pain up under my toes sometimes, and never do now. If I ever put my regular running shoes on for a run, I feel that pain again, but for whatever reason, never do in the Five Fingers. I also have way less knee pain in these–almost none.

I ran my first full marathon last spring, and I ran them in these. Loved them every step of the way. Because they fit your feet like a glove, with spaces in between each toe, there’s no jamming of your feet/toes as you run step after step (read: no black or dead toenails). You don’t wear them with socks, which means no blisters. They really are like an extension of your foot. I love them. They’re all I wear now. And because I know what size I am, I can just order a new pair when I need to, slip them on, and go. No breaking them in. Mine have lasted around 500 miles before I wear a small hole in the sole and buy a new pair.

Excellent running socks with awesome padding
5.0
  • Miriam reviewed 4 years ago
  • last edited 4 years ago

Bought 2 pairs of Thorlo Experia running socks and liked them so much that I went back to Dicks Sporting Goods store and bought 2 additional pairs. Dicks had a sale (Buy 1 get 2nd half off). Since they are about $15 a pair, it was a good deal. Now I have 4 pairs and wear them all the time for running, gym and in the house….I have them in almost every color (pink/purple/yellow/gray).
These socks have excellent padding in the heel and forefoot, but not too much padding…just enough. They also seem to hold up in the washer well and be made out of quality material. Since I bought them, I have been telling my friends about them and they all went out and bought a few pairs for running as well. You can’t go wrong with these socks.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Adios Boost is a winner
5.0

The Adidas Adios Boost is the first racing flat to utilize the new “Boost” technology by Adidas and it is fantastic.

The Boost technology claims to return more energy return than any other midsole material used in the running industry. In addition it is not affected by the environment meaning it feels the same at 10 degrees as it does at 110 degrees. That in itself makes the shoe unlike any you have every written.

The Adios Boost uses a slimmer midsole than the Energy Boost and other midsoles in the Adidas running line. The midsole is very responsive and this shoe works for distances up to the half-marathon as well as track workouts and tempo runs. It is extremely responsive with a very breathable upper which comes in a variety of colors. The toe box is roomy and I did not find any stitching or other issues with the upper which would cause irritation.

The outsole has exposed areas of the Boost midsole, but the carbon rubber overlays wear well enough that I have not experienced any issues with the midsole being damaged or compromised over the life of the shoes. You will also likely notice that the outsole wears out before the midsole, which is unusual and gives further testament to the unique properties of the Boost technology.

If you have worn a previous version of the Adios you will find this upgrade very pleasing. The midsole feels softer without compromising performance and as noted above is very responsive. I’ve given the shoe 5 stars because quite frankly there are not a lot of racing flats out there that are comfortable enough to wear for everyday training, which if you like a minimal shoe, the Adios Boost would allow.

Give the Adios Boost a look if you want a lightweight responsive racing flat which can double as a lightweight trainer.

Love this shoe!
4.0
  • MJA reviewed 4 years ago

This is a great neutral, lightweight and soft yet responsive shoe. I wear it for everything from easy runs to track workouts to the marathon. They come in fun, bright colors and are super comfortable.

Reasons I am only giving 4 stars:
*Not the best shoe in the rain
*Have had to replace quicker than other shoes (around 250 miles)

This is my favorite shoe. It feels great on my feet and is light enough for both training and racing!

All Time Favorite Shoe
5.0

The Asics 2000 has been my favorite shoe for the past 15 years. It’s been in the Asics line-up for a long time, so it’s easy to get the older model for cheaper. I try other shoes for fun or different colors, but I usually end up back in this one. There is tons of cushioning.

Great Recovery Day Shoe!
5.0

This shoe is perfect for those days following a workout or long run where I just want to sit back and spit out some slower miles – especially when I have to run on pavement, the softness of the Fresh Foam really helps take away that pounding feeling. I love the pillowy feel while still being extremely lightweight. Lastly, I really appreciate the simple upper and one piece midsole and outsole components – makes for a smooth ride regardless of whether you’re landing on your heel, mid or forefoot!

BEST SHOE EVER!!!
5.0

Hands down. Best shoe ever. And I’ve ran in a lot of shoes. Why, do you ask? Because, everything. The upper fits so well that it feels like nothing is on your feet yet when you run you suddenly feel that perfect amount of cushion. Enough cushion for a marathon! And yet it’s oh so responsive. Racing a road mile in these, I did not feel like I was losing energy in the shoe at all. The shape of the shoe is perfect as well. The 1400 proves that someone with crazy flexible and flat feet like myself can get away with a shoe like this because of the way the shape lets my foot support itself when I run. And can we talk about the colors? Pretty, cute, fun, and glow in the dark. It doesn’t get better than that! I only wish that it was made in widths as the racing fit last is a bit narrow, so I run in a men’s version for the D width. Crazy how a shoe can be so many things at once – my trainer, my racer, my lover…wait…

Favorite running shirt!
5.0
  • Amy reviewed 3 years ago
  • last edited 3 years ago

I have this shirt in the gray color, and it’s definitely my favorite running shirt right now. I wish it was always clean! The fabric is soft and feels really cozy next to my skin. The weight is just right, not too thick or too thin. I love the fit and design of the fabric – the cut is very flattering and the fabric has nice design and detail. Perfect length. Runs true to size. Love the thumb holes. I just found out they make it in a short-sleeve version, too! I bought mine at the Nike Employee Store.

Lululemon running tights
5.0
  • Selltrack reviewed 3 years ago
  • last edited 3 years ago

Just discovered these gems this past winter and I LOVE THEM!!! They are compression tights so legs/muscles feel great, even on super long runs when knees get a little achy. They are thick but not too thick. Keep me very warm when it’s freezing out, and not too hot when temps are a little warmer. I’ve raced in these and trained in them, and EVERYONE NEEDS A PAIR. Totally worth the investment !

A great lightweight structured shoe
3.5

The Nike Zoom Fly is a great lightweight structured shoe. I started wearing this shoe after coming back from a foot injury. The shoe was recommended to me by my sports pt because it has a stiff, structured outside portion which stabilizes your 5th metatarsal and cuboid. The shoe has a narrow feel without a lot of bulk. It is a good shoe for the roads and trails, short runs and long runs as well. It is a nice all-around shoe.

A great racing shoe
4.0

The streak is light and minimal feeling. I’ve used this shoe in track workouts, road workouts and races up to half marathon distance. It has a perfect light and fast feel. If you need support and cushioning this is not the shoe for you. Also you should be careful not to use this shoe too much in general. I liked it so much I used a pair a lot and probably wore them out and ended up hurting my foot. I have since used them less frequently and had no issues at all. I have a narrow foot and find I have to tie them very tight to fit. You will want to wear a thin sock with them as well.

Bulky but comfy
2.5

This is a decent training shoe especially if you need support, stability and cushioning. It does feel a bit bulky at first but for some days it can be a great training recovery shoe. I’ve worn it mostly on the roads as I find it a bit bulky and awkward for the trails.

Fantastic shoe
5.0

I love the NB1400s. First run right out of the box is amazing. You can use this shoe for everything: trail running, road running, track workouts, races of all distances and it is even a fantastic everyday shoe AND hiking shoe! I did a 12mi hike in them and felt great. It fits like a glove and feels like nothing and to me it doesn’t get any better than that for a running shoe. The only downside is they wear out quickly, so you should replace often.

I'm completely addicted to my MobilityWOD Supernova
5.0
  • Amy reviewed 3 years ago

I originally learned about the Supernova last spring from my massage therapist. She sung its praises and credited it with overcoming a running injury. Initially I waited about three weeks to order thinking $40 was steep for a rolling tool. I finally purchased it, and this thing is worth every penny. At $40 bucks, if it saves one visit to a physical therapist or massage therapist, it’s already paid for itself. The nubby ends all around the ball really get into tight spots and break up fascia more effectively than any other rolling tool I’ve tried.

Originally I purchased the ball to help me with hamstring tightness and pain, and it worked like a charm. After a 21-mile marathon training run with 15-miles at marathon pace, I came home going “Uh-oh” in relation to subsequent hamstring pain and tightness. After rolling my hamstrings on the Supernova for a while, the bad tightness was gone and I was able to keep training uninterrupted.

Months later, I use the Supernova once or twice a day to roll out my glutes. My high glutes are habitually tight which prevents my SIs from moving properly (which can cause all kinds of other problems). When I relieve the tightness with the Supernova, my SIs move freely and I run straighter, more symmetrically, and healthier. Since beginning regular use of the Supernova, when I see my PT my alignment is almost straight on target. I credit the Supernova (as well as being diligent with strength exercises) with allowing my alignment to stay spot on despite heavy training because I’m regularly relieving tightness that would otherwise pull my low back and hips out of alignment.

I mainly use the Supernova to roll out my glutes and hamstrings, but I love using it for my low-back up against a wall as well. It also feels great to roll my feet on it.

As another benefit, it’s super easy to pack in a suitcase when I’m traveling. I love this thing! I’m totally addicted.

My form is improving with this shoe
5.0
  • Amy reviewed 3 years ago

The New Balance Fresh Foam 980 is the first 4mm drop shoe that has actually worked for me. I’ve tried the Brooks Pure Flow and Saucony Kinvara previously and they didn’t work out for me. It takes me several runs to decide what I think of a shoe, but after wearing the New Balance 980’s for dozens of miles, it’s promoting a more forefoot strike that is helping my right hip engage and help me run straighter!! My running form feels smoother as a result. It feels soft and supportive while remaining lightweight in feel. It feels stable and neutral underfoot, and I like that it has a slightly lower profile than more traditional running shoes.

I find myself reaching for this shoe time after time. I love rotating it with the New Balance Fresh Foam NYC Zante and the New Balance 1400.

Amaze Ball!
5.0

This ball surpasses all my expectations! I have had low back and SI joint issues and this ball keeps me running and working out to my full potential. I will never use a lacrosse ball or tennis ball ever again. I love how it doesn’t slip because of the gripping surface it has. I recommend this to anyone who uses foam rolling and self care to prevent and treat injury!

Reaching for these shoes more and more
4.5
  • Amy reviewed 3 years ago
  • last edited 3 years ago

When it comes to shoes, I’m kind of like the Princess and the Pea. I’m pretty sensitive to change. My form changes slightly in each shoe, so it takes me several runs to determine what I think. After 11 runs in the Zantes, I think I’m ready to share my opinion.

I was really excited when I heard New Balance was pre-releasing their new running shoe, the Zante, for the NYC Marathon. I ordered it as soon as it was available. It’s a light-weight (6.5 oz for women), low-profile shoe (6mm drop) with more cushioning than just a racing flat. Most of my runs in the Zantes have been recovery/training runs on road, although I did wear them for a couple of mile-repeats on the track a few weeks ago. After a couple of repeats, I switched to the New Balance 1400, preferring them for track speed work over the Zante because I can “feel” the track better in the 1400. The extra cushioning in the Zante seemed to get in the way a bit for speed.

When I first put on the Zantes, I felt a band of prominent cushioning in the forefoot, just ahead of where my arch sits. I wondered if it would bother me, but I’ve gotten used to it and don’t really notice it when I run. (Other friends haven’t experienced the same prominent forefoot cushioning feel. It may just have to do with the shape of my foot.)

I love how light-weight the shoe is while still retaining enough cushioning to feel comfortable on a recovery run. I love the 6mm drop because it promotes a slightly more forefoot foot strike that helps me feel more smooth and symmetrical when I run. The toe box is slightly wider than some other New Balance shoes I’ve worn which is great! The tongue is sewn into the upper so it stays put. The upper is soft and flexible making the shoe feel almost cozy. I LOVE the laces – super soft to touch and the perfect width, so they stay tied securely. The style of the shoe is also super-cute, a fun bonus.

I’m giving the Zantes 4 stars instead of 5 because some days I still come home from a run going “hmmm, what do I think of this shoe?”. Some days they feel amazing, other days just okay. That’s why I love rotating them with a couple other shoes. However, I do notice myself reaching for them more and more, which means I must be liking them and adjusting to them. They’re definitely worth a try if you’re looking for a lightweight, neutral running shoe with a decent amount of cushioning. I love having them in my running shoe rotation.

Update – 5/18/15
In December, I severely injured my right heel while running a marathon. Coming back to running, my foot has been very sensitive to shoes, some making my foot feel really good, and my foot feeling really sore in others (limiting my running distances). Thanks to the review from bcforster, I had the courage to give the Zantes a try while I was still in the major healing phase. I was amazed that my foot felt so much better in the Zantes than in many of my other shoes. I think they encourage a good neutral foot motion and really allow my toes to spread. I still rotate them with other shoes, but the New Balance Fresh Foam Zantes have been great to keep me running as I recover from a foot injury, so I’m increasing my rating to 4.5 stars. Also, I think the reason I used to feel off in them some days is because I’ve discovered my right calf is tight and weak (and these shoes do have a lower drop, 6mm). When I do a good job of stretching my calves, I feel much smoother running in these shoes (and just running in general). Couldn’t live without my Zantes.

This ball changed my life
5.0
  • sabes reviewed 3 years ago

Seriously-I love this ball. This past summer, I was running some high mileage while training for a couple of half marathons. As a result, I started to experience tightness in my SI. My friend kept telling me about the Supernova. Unfortunately, it took me awhile to be convinced. It wasn’t until the tightness in my SI left me completely unable to run that I decided to give the Supernova a try.

I’m so glad I did. I use this ball daily. It has decreased the tightness in my lower back, hip, hamstrings and SI. My husband also swears by it for his quads and even back. In the past, I’ve used foam rollers. They have nothing on the Supernova. This ball allows me to move my body easily in several directions, all while maintaining pressure and relieving tightness.

My husband and I swear by this ball. It goes everywhere with us. I wish I had bought it years ago.

It really works!!!
5.0

I have had many issues with tight hamstrings, glutes, hips, quads, and IT band. I previously used a mix of the foam roller and a lacrosse ball to work out my tightness but found that the foam roller didn’t go deep enough and the lacrosse ball almost went too deep. This ball is the answer and it really works well. If I am tight at all after a long run or workout, I spend a little time rolling out the area. When I wake up the next day, I’m almost surprised to find the tightness gone. But it is! It’s like a targeted sports massage but better because I can use it whenever I need it! I highly recommend the Supernova!

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
UCAN is the best fueling product I have used
4.5

I am not a huge endorser of products unless I truly believe in them. UCAN is one of those products that has made a impact in my running life. I was introduced to UCAN during a time when I could hardly run due to major hydration and GI issues caused by a autoimmune condition. It was suggested I use UCAN by Krista Austin Ph.D, Exercise Physiology & Sport Nutrition to help my body hydrate more effectively. She told me to use it before and after long runs and hard workouts. During that time, it made all the difference in the world in my ability to even run at all.

It’s been years since then and I’m still using UCAN. I’m healthy now but I continue to enjoy the benefits of the consistent energy UCAN provides. I no longer have GI issues and feel my body likes how easy UCAN is to digest and use. I fuel before long runs/hard workouts with the Cran-Raz and use the Chocolate protein after. I like to mix the Chocolate in my blender with peanut butter and sometimes a banana. I look forward to this treat after my long runs!

A bit of a warning, the pre workout powder tastes a bit chalky but it’s worth it. The post workout chocolate is quite good I think. My only complaint about UCAN is I find it to be a bit spendy. Must be worth it though because I’ve used it consistently for three years and don’t plan to stop anytime soon!

Lightweight and helps maintain effective stride!
4.0

I bought these shoes at a running store about one month ago after trying on many options. I noticed right away the low drop which changed the way my heal landed. I wasn’t sure if that would be a good thing or a bad thing with me, but so far I really like them.

I have run long runs, track workouts, and short recovery runs in them. I would recommend these shoes for track workouts or shorter runs, probably nothing over 8 miles. I like the way the shoe fits, like a glove but not squished. I also like that they are supportive, but lightweight. They feel minimal but like there is still shoe there to support your foot. It feels a bit like you aren’t really wearing a shoe, but you are, and they don’t get in my way as I run around the track. I feel these shoes help me stride correctly which I usually do not notice about a shoe.

Give them a try and see what you think!

Showing 1 - 25 of 67 results
Whether you’re looking for a new pair of running shoes, healing and recovery tools to keep you healthy, or a new watch, headlamp, apparel, or nutritional product, you’ve come to the right place. Read reviews from runners of the latest shoes and gear they use and love, reviews that span all running-related products and brands. Share reviews of your own! Use the Search, Category, and Sort fields on the main Shoes & Gear page to narrow your search and find exactly what you’re looking for.