Reviews

Definitely my new favorite water bottle
5.0
  • Amy reviewed 3 years ago
  • last edited 3 years ago

I first heard about Hydro Flask water bottles in July during a hot track workout. The water in my standard plastic water bottle soon tasted like bath water and was hard to stomach. Two friends told me that water in Hydro Flask water bottles stays cold for hours even on a hot summer day. Months later, I read reviews of the Hydro Flask, and I was intrigued. One reviewer said he left the water bottle in his hot car for hours and came back to still hear ice clinking in it. Another reviewer said she loved the water bottle so much she would buy it even if it cost $500. The reviews had me sold. I purchased the 40 oz. Hydro Flask with the optional straw lid (the hardest part was picking the color), and I love it. A few points:

  1. My water really does stay ice cold for hours. I can get my water bottle ready the night before a run or workout, and it’s still ice cold the next day. Amazing! I love being out the door for a workout a little faster in the wee hours of the morning when I’m all bleary-eyed.
  2. I love the 40 oz. size. Before, if I would be away from home for more than a 2-3 hours, I would have to bring two water bottles with me. No more! 40 oz. is plenty of water to keep me hydrated for hours.
  3. Even though the 40 oz. is a big water bottle, it’s narrow enough to fit in the cup holders of my car and my husband’s, a great feature.
  4. This water bottle does not sweat. That means I can leave it on my wooden desk without worrying it will create rings, ruining the surface.
  5. I love the optional straw lid so I don’t have to tip the bottle back every time I want a drink. It makes it much easier to drink on-the-go without spilling and to drink water safely while driving. The straw lid also has a handy notch on it so I can flip it up and down without having to touch the drinking surface, keeping it a little more free of germs. The straw lid also provides really good water flow.
  6. With my old plastic water bottle with straw lid, the water would gradually warm up, and when I flipped open the straw lid, water would come spilling out, creating a mess all over me, my car, or wherever I was. Because the water stays cold in my Hydro Flask bottle, I’ve never had the problem of flipping open the top and having water surge out.

While the water bottle is a little pricey (I paid $33.29 for mine on Amazon and another $9-10 for the straw lid), you really do get what you pay for. With a lifetime warranty, I plan on using this thing forever. I can’t wait to take it around in my car and to the track this summer.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
great light but stable shoe
4.5

I’ve always struggled with trying to find the right shoe. I went back and forth from smooshy too much cushioning to having something with too much stability and across the spectrum. After having months of SI joint and hip issues (and weekly visits to my chiropractor), he suggested getting fit tested again with a gait analysis. I hadn’t done this for quite a while and knew I needed to start from ground zero again. I’d run in the Saucony Kinvara previously and liked the light weight shoe. It also felt stable enough for me.

I tried these along with another Saucony. The Asics were the winner mostly because of it’s much simpler construction. There’s no stitching or logo to battle with across my outer foot or little toe area which seems to always be a problem for me. They are light as a feather. My pronation is no longer as severe so there is enough stability and arch support. As I’ve been working back into my running and getting my hip and core issues sorted out, these are plenty of shoe for me to hit the reset button in.

Lululemon running tights
5.0
  • Selltrack reviewed 3 years ago
  • last edited 3 years ago

Just discovered these gems this past winter and I LOVE THEM!!! They are compression tights so legs/muscles feel great, even on super long runs when knees get a little achy. They are thick but not too thick. Keep me very warm when it’s freezing out, and not too hot when temps are a little warmer. I’ve raced in these and trained in them, and EVERYONE NEEDS A PAIR. Totally worth the investment !

Favorite running shirt!
5.0
  • Amy reviewed 3 years ago
  • last edited 3 years ago

I have this shirt in the gray color, and it’s definitely my favorite running shirt right now. I wish it was always clean! The fabric is soft and feels really cozy next to my skin. The weight is just right, not too thick or too thin. I love the fit and design of the fabric – the cut is very flattering and the fabric has nice design and detail. Perfect length. Runs true to size. Love the thumb holes. I just found out they make it in a short-sleeve version, too! I bought mine at the Nike Employee Store.

Great all around racing shoe!
5.0

I absolutely love this shoe and have raced a 10K and a cross county race with this shoe. I would also wear it for a half marathon and maybe even a marathon. I pronate very badly so was very happy to find a race shoe with a little posting and support but is still very lightweight! I used to race in the 1400 but it just wasn’t enough support for me.

All Time Favorite Shoe
5.0

The Asics 2000 has been my favorite shoe for the past 15 years. It’s been in the Asics line-up for a long time, so it’s easy to get the older model for cheaper. I try other shoes for fun or different colors, but I usually end up back in this one. There is tons of cushioning.

Just what I needed!!
4.5

Coming back from an injury is never fun. As I started to be able to run more miles, I was struggling with what shoe felt the best. Each run, I would put on a different pair and hope for the best, and each run I came home feeling as if something wasn’t quite right. Then, after speaking to a few friends that had the Zante, and reading one of the reviews on this site, I decided to order a pair. And I am so glad I did. My first run in them was the Holiday Half Marathon, an event I was using more as a training run then a race. Instantly, I felt the support in the Zante, and noticed that I finally felt like my old self. This is a great lightweight shoe, with some good arch support. I think it is a great companion to the 1400. I can’t wait for the official launch of this shoe so I can order another pair!

Beautiful Tank
5.0

This is simply a beautiful tank. It’s fitted without being tight and is made with the silkiest, softest fabric. The material is slightly thicker, so it’s perfect for 50º-65ºF mid-season weather and makes a nice layering piece. Fun fact: the tank just so happens to be named after my absolute favorite singer, Gwen Stefani.

A great lightweight structured shoe
3.5

The Nike Zoom Fly is a great lightweight structured shoe. I started wearing this shoe after coming back from a foot injury. The shoe was recommended to me by my sports pt because it has a stiff, structured outside portion which stabilizes your 5th metatarsal and cuboid. The shoe has a narrow feel without a lot of bulk. It is a good shoe for the roads and trails, short runs and long runs as well. It is a nice all-around shoe.

Lightweight and helps maintain effective stride!
4.0

I bought these shoes at a running store about one month ago after trying on many options. I noticed right away the low drop which changed the way my heal landed. I wasn’t sure if that would be a good thing or a bad thing with me, but so far I really like them.

I have run long runs, track workouts, and short recovery runs in them. I would recommend these shoes for track workouts or shorter runs, probably nothing over 8 miles. I like the way the shoe fits, like a glove but not squished. I also like that they are supportive, but lightweight. They feel minimal but like there is still shoe there to support your foot. It feels a bit like you aren’t really wearing a shoe, but you are, and they don’t get in my way as I run around the track. I feel these shoes help me stride correctly which I usually do not notice about a shoe.

Give them a try and see what you think!

Bulky but comfy
2.5

This is a decent training shoe especially if you need support, stability and cushioning. It does feel a bit bulky at first but for some days it can be a great training recovery shoe. I’ve worn it mostly on the roads as I find it a bit bulky and awkward for the trails.

A definite favorite!
5.0
  • Amy reviewed 2 years ago

I’ve had a pair of the Lululemon Inspire Crop tights for a few years (so it’s probably a prior version), and among my many pairs of tights, they’re one of my most favorites. The fabric is soft and smooth against my skin, they fit really well through the hips and crotch (I hate saggy tights!), they have a flattering cut, and a nice rise, (not too low or too high). They breathe really well, so I don’t feel overheated even when I wear them to the gym for cardio. The back zip pocket is big enough to just barely fit my iPhone 5s, and the waistband pockets are great for gels, shot blocks, or a key. I’ve had them for years and they still look like new, they wear so well. Love them!

Running Sports Bra
5.0

After years of searching for a good sports bra that was supportive for those with a C cup or greater, and didn’t chafe anywhere after a long run I found this sports bra at Lululemon. I was fortunate enough to find it on the sale rack in just the right size, and have since bought 6 more. Excellent, supportive sports bra. Has been washed many times after long runs and still continues to smell fresh. Very please with the fact it doesn’t chafe because I always had a problem with that in the center of my chest– I can now train and race with this problem and I don’t have to worry about any issue. Very pleased with this sports bra and would recommend it to everyone, especially those with larger chests!

This ball changed my life
5.0
  • sabes reviewed 3 years ago

Seriously-I love this ball. This past summer, I was running some high mileage while training for a couple of half marathons. As a result, I started to experience tightness in my SI. My friend kept telling me about the Supernova. Unfortunately, it took me awhile to be convinced. It wasn’t until the tightness in my SI left me completely unable to run that I decided to give the Supernova a try.

I’m so glad I did. I use this ball daily. It has decreased the tightness in my lower back, hip, hamstrings and SI. My husband also swears by it for his quads and even back. In the past, I’ve used foam rollers. They have nothing on the Supernova. This ball allows me to move my body easily in several directions, all while maintaining pressure and relieving tightness.

My husband and I swear by this ball. It goes everywhere with us. I wish I had bought it years ago.

A must for marathon nutrition and early-morning workouts
4.0
  • Amy reviewed 2 years ago

I first tried UCAN before a long marathon-training run a few years ago. Because of a route detour, the run ended up going a couple miles longer than planned, but I felt fine. Usually after a super-long run, I feel absolutely desperate for food RIGHT AWAY. With UCAN, I remember just feeling fine and even rather than feeling like I had to eat everything within reach. I used it for the rest of my long runs and the marathon in that training cycle, and I really think it helped me avoid bonking in that last 10k. Because it helps utilize fat for fuel, I think my glycogen stores lasted longer, helping me finish strong in that marathon. I’ve used it in a couple more marathons with positive results.

Recently I’ve started drinking UCAN before early-morning workouts, and I really notice my energy level feels higher throughout the day after the workout instead of feeling really tired. It’s a nice, calm feeling.

The flavors I’ve tried are really gross and medicine-tasting, but the plain powder goes down fine for me. Just be aware that the plain flavor does not include added electrolytes like the flavored varieties.

I will definitely continue to use UCAN before long-long runs and marathons.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Great tool!
5.0
  • MJA reviewed 2 years ago

I love this ball! At first I wasn’t sure if I wanted to spend $40 on a ball… but the lacrosse and tennis balls just weren’t working for me!

I have used the supernova on my glutes, quads, calves and hamstrings. It works really well and gets in super deep and immediately releases tension. I have friends ask to borrow it all the time!

I love how portable it is too! Worth every penny.

It will invite attention
5.0

I bought this tank because it was breathable and lightweight for the stair-master and running. Little did I know that it would attract so much attention! I get so many compliments on it! People that I have never seen or met often tell me that it looks so cool. And while it does its job of being extremely light and airy, be warned, you will want to purchase new sports bras to flaunt underneath.

game changer
5.0

I started using UCAN 4-5 years ago after my chiropractor recommended it to me. I had been struggling with GI distress during races that were causing me to not fuel, bonk and have less than stellar performances. Justin told me that there was “a new product from this small company in Connecticut that some of the pros (MEB!) are starting to use and having some success. Its a little chalky, but you might want to look into it” I came home that day and looked on the Generation UCAN website. I read the science behind UCAN and it made sense to me, so I decided to order some…and it really has been a game changer for me. A couple of times, I have decided to try some other product, but I would experience GI distress and then come right back to UCAN. My favorite flavor is the tropical orange and I always recommend to people that they blend it…it helps to eliminate the chalkiness. I use the superstarch before runs and workouts, as well as before and during races including half marathons, marathons and a half ironman triathlon. The energy is long and sustained, as it helps your body get into a fat burning zone more quickly. I love how simple it made my fueling for my half ironman. Where most athletes were having to fuel every 45 minutes or so on the bike and then every 2-3 miles on the run, I fueled a total of 4 times during my race…once in T1, twice on the bike, and once in T2. I completed the race in just under 6 hours on about 600-700 calories and never once felt energy deprived or like I needed fuel. I recommend UCAN to anyone and everyone I talk to. It is a great product and has made all the difference for me.

Best Ice Pack for Runners!
5.0
  • Amy reviewed 3 years ago

I adore this ice pack. I keep it in my freezer, so I can use it whenever something is achy or painful and needs to be iced. Even when frozen, it stays soft and flexible. When thawing, it stays perfectly dry so icing doesn’t become a wet mess. It can be used as a heat pack as well, but I’ve only used it for icing. They come in various sizes, are very reasonably priced, and are an Amazon Prime item! Love this ice pack!

Great Recovery Day Shoe!
5.0

This shoe is perfect for those days following a workout or long run where I just want to sit back and spit out some slower miles – especially when I have to run on pavement, the softness of the Fresh Foam really helps take away that pounding feeling. I love the pillowy feel while still being extremely lightweight. Lastly, I really appreciate the simple upper and one piece midsole and outsole components – makes for a smooth ride regardless of whether you’re landing on your heel, mid or forefoot!

good, natural bars with real ingredients
4.5

great energy bars before/during a workout; lauren’s mega nuts, smooth caffeinator, and blueberry boomdizzle are some of my favorites.

LOVE lulu
4.5

First off, I love ALL lulu products. there store in Bridgeport mall is fantastic! these pants as well as their whole line is wonderful. definitelyu recommend shopping their

Very good GPS watch
4.0

I have been using this for over an year now. Ran around 600 miles so far using this and I’m quite satisfied with it. Good battery life, gets the signal relatively quickly. I’ve paired it with my HRM and also a foot pod. During indoor runs on treadmills it uses the foot pod to measure the distance and I’m ver impressed to say it is accurate to 0.02 miles. Overall nice gps watch. I’ve used it only for running and not for other sports yet.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Fabulous lightweight shoe
5.0

The Sayonara is the updated version of the Mizuno Precision. It is a neutral and light-weight shoe. I like it for tempo runs on concrete roads because it has more cushioning than most light-weight and minimalist shoes. It also has a good sized toe box and feels great throughout my runs.

Crop running tights
5.0

Definitely my favorite running crops EVER!! I started running in crops about 2 years ago because I thought everyone wearing them looked super cute. After buying my first pair of these, not only were they super cute, but the fit was AMAZING. They have a little compression in them so everything stays in its place, but also stays warm so that knees don’t start to get achy on my longer runs. I wear these in 90 degree weather as well as 40 degree weather (which is freezing here in Southern California). Super cute colors!! Recommend these for EVERYONE!

Showing 1 - 25 of 67 results
Whether you’re looking for a new pair of running shoes, healing and recovery tools to keep you healthy, or a new watch, headlamp, apparel, or nutritional product, you’ve come to the right place. Read reviews from runners of the latest shoes and gear they use and love, reviews that span all running-related products and brands. Share reviews of your own! Use the Search, Category, and Sort fields on the main Shoes & Gear page to narrow your search and find exactly what you’re looking for.