Reviews

Lightweight and helps maintain effective stride!
4.0

I bought these shoes at a running store about one month ago after trying on many options. I noticed right away the low drop which changed the way my heal landed. I wasn’t sure if that would be a good thing or a bad thing with me, but so far I really like them.

I have run long runs, track workouts, and short recovery runs in them. I would recommend these shoes for track workouts or shorter runs, probably nothing over 8 miles. I like the way the shoe fits, like a glove but not squished. I also like that they are supportive, but lightweight. They feel minimal but like there is still shoe there to support your foot. It feels a bit like you aren’t really wearing a shoe, but you are, and they don’t get in my way as I run around the track. I feel these shoes help me stride correctly which I usually do not notice about a shoe.

Give them a try and see what you think!

Fast, light, and good traction
5.0

I love this shoe! One thing I really like about this racing flat is the tackiness on the forefoot. Racing in the Pacific Northwest means alot of racing on wet roads. Unlike other racing flats, I know that when I go to make a move or power up a hill in a race I’m not going to loose ground by slipping with this shoe. The shoe is also feather light (5 oz). I wear these shoes for the half marathon and shorter. I also use this shoes for track work. They are fantastic on the track but yet cushioned enough to handle a long warm-up and cool down on the roads.

protein enhanced UCAN for recovery, meal replacement, anything :)
5.0

I use protein enhanced UCAN (Vanilla Cream is my favorite) on a daily basis. It is a great post-run recovery drink and the super starch helps to keep your blood sugars stable after the workout. I love how I can drink it and it allows me enough time to come home, clean up and then make a good meal decision, instead of coming home after a workout starving and looking for anything to eat. I am also in my car a lot and spend a lot of time on I-5…as you know there are not always the healthiest food choices right off freeway exits. I always keep a packet or two in my car to have as a meal replacement or mid-afternoon snack. While it is great with just water, I also will blend it with things such as almond milk, almond butter, bananas, coconut water, etc…

My form is improving with this shoe
5.0
  • Amy reviewed 3 years ago

The New Balance Fresh Foam 980 is the first 4mm drop shoe that has actually worked for me. I’ve tried the Brooks Pure Flow and Saucony Kinvara previously and they didn’t work out for me. It takes me several runs to decide what I think of a shoe, but after wearing the New Balance 980’s for dozens of miles, it’s promoting a more forefoot strike that is helping my right hip engage and help me run straighter!! My running form feels smoother as a result. It feels soft and supportive while remaining lightweight in feel. It feels stable and neutral underfoot, and I like that it has a slightly lower profile than more traditional running shoes.

I find myself reaching for this shoe time after time. I love rotating it with the New Balance Fresh Foam NYC Zante and the New Balance 1400.

The 1400s has a friend!
4.0

When I first bought the Zantes I thought they were too cute to run in. So I wore them around and they were so comfy. When I went on a trip and realized I didn’t want to pack sneakers and running shoes I just took the Zantes. I ran a few miles on the roads in Palm Springs in them and couldn’t believe that I liked them. Wore them a few more times and thought, hey these are comfy, minimal feeling, I think these are a friend of new balances 1400s, my favorite shoe ever.

I continued to do easy training runs in them and was so happy I’d found another every day trainer where I didn’t feel the shoe! That’s my ideal shoe: when you feel nothing. Not them I’m into super minimal shoes at all. Just a good solid stable shoe without fluff.

Tried them out on trails and whoops! I almost went down, no traction for muddy trails so watch out.

Loving these for daily miles on the roads.

game changer
5.0

I started using UCAN 4-5 years ago after my chiropractor recommended it to me. I had been struggling with GI distress during races that were causing me to not fuel, bonk and have less than stellar performances. Justin told me that there was “a new product from this small company in Connecticut that some of the pros (MEB!) are starting to use and having some success. Its a little chalky, but you might want to look into it” I came home that day and looked on the Generation UCAN website. I read the science behind UCAN and it made sense to me, so I decided to order some…and it really has been a game changer for me. A couple of times, I have decided to try some other product, but I would experience GI distress and then come right back to UCAN. My favorite flavor is the tropical orange and I always recommend to people that they blend it…it helps to eliminate the chalkiness. I use the superstarch before runs and workouts, as well as before and during races including half marathons, marathons and a half ironman triathlon. The energy is long and sustained, as it helps your body get into a fat burning zone more quickly. I love how simple it made my fueling for my half ironman. Where most athletes were having to fuel every 45 minutes or so on the bike and then every 2-3 miles on the run, I fueled a total of 4 times during my race…once in T1, twice on the bike, and once in T2. I completed the race in just under 6 hours on about 600-700 calories and never once felt energy deprived or like I needed fuel. I recommend UCAN to anyone and everyone I talk to. It is a great product and has made all the difference for me.

A must for marathon nutrition and early-morning workouts
4.0
  • Amy reviewed 2 years ago

I first tried UCAN before a long marathon-training run a few years ago. Because of a route detour, the run ended up going a couple miles longer than planned, but I felt fine. Usually after a super-long run, I feel absolutely desperate for food RIGHT AWAY. With UCAN, I remember just feeling fine and even rather than feeling like I had to eat everything within reach. I used it for the rest of my long runs and the marathon in that training cycle, and I really think it helped me avoid bonking in that last 10k. Because it helps utilize fat for fuel, I think my glycogen stores lasted longer, helping me finish strong in that marathon. I’ve used it in a couple more marathons with positive results.

Recently I’ve started drinking UCAN before early-morning workouts, and I really notice my energy level feels higher throughout the day after the workout instead of feeling really tired. It’s a nice, calm feeling.

The flavors I’ve tried are really gross and medicine-tasting, but the plain powder goes down fine for me. Just be aware that the plain flavor does not include added electrolytes like the flavored varieties.

I will definitely continue to use UCAN before long-long runs and marathons.

A great lightweight structured shoe
3.5

The Nike Zoom Fly is a great lightweight structured shoe. I started wearing this shoe after coming back from a foot injury. The shoe was recommended to me by my sports pt because it has a stiff, structured outside portion which stabilizes your 5th metatarsal and cuboid. The shoe has a narrow feel without a lot of bulk. It is a good shoe for the roads and trails, short runs and long runs as well. It is a nice all-around shoe.

Beautiful sports bra that feels great on
5.0
  • Amy reviewed 3 years ago

I have two of these Lululemon Energy Bras, and I love them. They come in vibrant colors, and the criss-crossing straps in the back are cute and unique. Lululemon fabrics are super soft to the skin so it feels great on. Lululemon says it’s a light support bra for yoga, but I found that if I buy a snug size, it’s super supportive (and still no problem to pull on over my head). I like that it comes with removable cups (a standard feature for Lululemon bras I believe). I have friends who have this bra and love it, too! Would definitely recommend it.

Light stability even a neutral runner can love
5.0
  • Amy reviewed 2 years ago

I was reluctant to order this shoe at first since I run almost entirely in neutral shoes, and this one is a lightly posted racing flat. However, I’m so glad I gave it a try! From the first run, it felt amazing. It provides just the right amount of cushioning, so my feet feel smooth on the ground. The posting feels like it’s gently supporting my Achilles without feeling rigid. I totally understand why Runner’s World shoe testers rave about this shoe.

My go-to racing flat is the New Balance 1400 which has a 10mm drop. Sometimes I wonder if the lower drop on this shoe, 6mm, makes it harder for me to push off as fast as I can in a higher drop shoe, but I think I’m probably just weird. :) Overall, I really love this shoe. It consistently feels great.

Excellent running socks with awesome padding
5.0
  • Miriam reviewed 3 years ago
  • last edited 3 years ago

Bought 2 pairs of Thorlo Experia running socks and liked them so much that I went back to Dicks Sporting Goods store and bought 2 additional pairs. Dicks had a sale (Buy 1 get 2nd half off). Since they are about $15 a pair, it was a good deal. Now I have 4 pairs and wear them all the time for running, gym and in the house….I have them in almost every color (pink/purple/yellow/gray).
These socks have excellent padding in the heel and forefoot, but not too much padding…just enough. They also seem to hold up in the washer well and be made out of quality material. Since I bought them, I have been telling my friends about them and they all went out and bought a few pairs for running as well. You can’t go wrong with these socks.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Best shoes ever!
5.0

I have two pairs of hot pink and neon green Asic Gel Kayanos. Not only do they look flashy and fast, they provide stability for my overpronation with enough foot coushion while not being heavy like many other shoes I have tried. I scrapped my GT2050 rut when I found these for great deals on Roadrunnersports.com. My sister in law that has bad knees just bought a pair of last years model for under $90 bucks at Nordstroms and loves them.

Bring on the Rain
5.0
  • Amy reviewed 11 months ago

I have been searching for the ultimate waterproof and breathable running jacket for about four years as I live in the Portland, Oregon area and run in steady rain frequently. With an especially wet October this year, I renewed my quest and decided to give The North Face Hyper Air GTX jacket a try. I was intrigued it is made from a brand new Gore-tex Active material that claims to be ultra breathable and have a permanent beading surface.

Out of the box, I was impressed with how light and thin the jacket is. I tried it on and found the fit to be tailored and flattering, definitely a well-constructed jacket. The hood fits perfectly, there are two deep zip-pockets at the front, the sleeves are nice and long, and there’s adequate room through the shoulders. I like that it dips slightly longer in the back.

My first run in the jacket was nine miles in steady rain (probably 70-75 minutes) in the mid-50’s. I layered a thin wool running t-shirt underneath. The hood was comfortable and stayed on without a problem. I felt damp through my forearms where my arms were bare under the jacket, but I was still comfortable. All the way to the end of the run, water was still beading on the surface of the jacket. After the run, I took it off and was shocked that much of my shirt was still dry. I was a little wet through the center of my chest, but I hadn’t zipped the jacket up entirely for the whole run, so I figured some water had leaked in down my neck. I wasn’t overly sweaty either, just the normal amounts from running (it’s actually breathable!). I was tentatively quite excited that I might have found “the one”.

Since that run, I’ve worn it in two more very rainy runs, both in the low to mid-50’s. One run was 90 minutes with rain coming down so hard in parts I might as well have been standing under a rain gutter. When I got home, my shirt was visibly damp through the chest and shoulders (I think from rain coming down my neck again – I need to see if wearing a hat with a bill eliminates this problem), but there were parts of my shirt that were still visibly dry and the hair on top of my head was completely dry from wearing the hood. I couldn’t believe it! Even more, rather than rushing to the shower right after the run, I took my time stretching, doing core, eating breakfast, and I wasn’t freezing.

I have washed the jacket in the washing machine (on cold, hang dry), and it hasn’t affected the waterproof performance at all. The waterproof properties come from the material itself, not from a coating that can wear off. The jacket really lives up to its claims of being waterproof and breathable.

To view my full blog post on this jacket, visit http://runningfavorites.com/bring-rain-north-face-hyper-air-gtx-jacket-review/

I'm a believer!!
5.0

After hearing about UCAN for over a year from some of my training partners I finally gave it a try about a year ago. I still remember the first time I tried it, I was just starting to train hard for Boston 2014 and I had a 14 miler with 8 at gmp. After asking many questions and getting tips on how to make it not so chalky I gave it a try. Whoa!! What a difference it made. I had lots of energy for my run and I had no GI distress. Plus I did not have to fuel during that run. For runs less than 20 miles I find that I do not need to fuel anymore during the run.
I usually 1/2 plain and 1/2 lemonade in a blender with some ice. I recommend that if you can you blend it. While it is still not my favorite thing to drink it works so well, it is worth it. I have since used it for many long hard workouts, 9 1/2 marathons and 2 full marathons. Before UCAN I struggled to fuel correctly during my workouts and races. I know have it figured out and am so happy with how I feel when I use UCAN. I highly recommend UCAN!!!!

After 175 miles, still deciding
4.5
  • Amy reviewed 2 years ago
  • last edited 2 years ago

I’ve run at least 175 miles in the Vazee Pace, and I still can’t completely make up my mind about them. Some days I think they’re great for my achy foot and provide the right amount of support while remaining very lightweight, and other days I feel like there’s nothing to them, like they’re lacking cushioning, but they feel stiff. The Zante (also by New Balance) is about the same weight as the Vazee Pace but provides more cushioning and softness per ounce.

The Vazee Pace was supposed to replace the 890, but I’m still mourning the loss of the 890v2 (more soft and flexible, felt more like a daily trainer). I wish they would bring it back!

Update – 12/15/15
Several weeks and 50 miles later (on this particular shoe), I find myself reaching for my Vazee Pace running shoes more and more because they help my sore foot feel and function the best. I love the way it wraps around the arch and hugs the heel. I think the bottom of the shoe provides a nice stable platform while still being really light-weight.

Great Recovery Day Shoe!
5.0

This shoe is perfect for those days following a workout or long run where I just want to sit back and spit out some slower miles – especially when I have to run on pavement, the softness of the Fresh Foam really helps take away that pounding feeling. I love the pillowy feel while still being extremely lightweight. Lastly, I really appreciate the simple upper and one piece midsole and outsole components – makes for a smooth ride regardless of whether you’re landing on your heel, mid or forefoot!

Exactly what I wanted in a GPS watch
5.0
  • Amy reviewed 2 years ago

I’ve run with an older Garmin, the Forerunner 305 model, for several years. It worked perfectly but was so heavy and bulky that the only time I used it was on tempo runs and some long runs. I kept wanting to buy a new Garmin but had a hard time justifying the cost when my current GPS watch worked perfectly. Fast forward to Hood to Coast a few weeks ago. The weather was chilly and wet on my night and early-morning legs, but my GPS watch was so bulky I couldn’t even put on and take off a warm-up coat over my Forerunner 305. A few girls in my van had the Forerunner 220 and loved theirs, so I bought one on Amazon (for about $200) before we even reached the beach. So far after 13 runs, varying from long, interval, tempo, and recovery runs, I love it.

Size: Even though the watch face looks large for a small wrist (see photo), the watch feels light and unnoticeable on my wrist. I actually think the design of the watch is pretty cute.

Accuracy: After 13 runs, I feel confident in the accuracy of the watch. One morning I wore it for 800 repeats on the track, and each interval consistently measured 0.50 miles.

Lap Pace: I love this model over the more basic Forerunner 10 because it includes lap pace. This field is so important when I’m on a tempo run or doing off-track repeats so I can see what pace I’m trending for the current lap. There is also a lap button, so it’s easy to start a new lap (repeat) at any point in a workout.

Fields: The only fields I really care about on a GPS watch are time, distance, average pace, lap distance, lap pace, lap time, and time of day. The 220 offers all of these fields and several more. When in use, I have access to three screens on the Garmin 220. There are three customizable fields for screens one and two, and the third screen displays time of day.

Wristwatch: As compared to my old 305, I love that the 220 can remain on all the time and be used as a wristwatch. Because the time of day is synced with satellites, it’s perfectly accurate. Awesome.

Bluetooth: The 220 syncs via Bluetooth with my iPhone. When in unlocked mode, it can connect to my phone and sync my runs with Garmin Connect. I have Garmin Connect set up to link automatically with Strava, so my run data is all there almost instantly when I finish running.

So far, I feel like this was $200 well spent, even with my old GPS still workable. The lighter/smaller profile, ability to use as a wristwatch, and the Bluetooth syncing feature have made it a worthwhile purchase.

Bulky but comfy
2.5

This is a decent training shoe especially if you need support, stability and cushioning. It does feel a bit bulky at first but for some days it can be a great training recovery shoe. I’ve worn it mostly on the roads as I find it a bit bulky and awkward for the trails.

No "breaking in" required, less joint pain, no black toenails :)
5.0

I’m on my fifth pair of these…I love them. I’ve been running for 17 years, and these are by far my favorite shoe. Barefoot/minimalist running definitely changes your gait (shortens your stride and puts your feet under you instead of extended in front), so when I made the switch to these, I did it gradually to avoid being super sore. I wore them for short runs only at first, and built up to full-time wear over a couple of months. I’m so glad I did. I used to get sharp pain up under my toes sometimes, and never do now. If I ever put my regular running shoes on for a run, I feel that pain again, but for whatever reason, never do in the Five Fingers. I also have way less knee pain in these–almost none.

I ran my first full marathon last spring, and I ran them in these. Loved them every step of the way. Because they fit your feet like a glove, with spaces in between each toe, there’s no jamming of your feet/toes as you run step after step (read: no black or dead toenails). You don’t wear them with socks, which means no blisters. They really are like an extension of your foot. I love them. They’re all I wear now. And because I know what size I am, I can just order a new pair when I need to, slip them on, and go. No breaking them in. Mine have lasted around 500 miles before I wear a small hole in the sole and buy a new pair.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
UCAN is the best fueling product I have used
4.5

I am not a huge endorser of products unless I truly believe in them. UCAN is one of those products that has made a impact in my running life. I was introduced to UCAN during a time when I could hardly run due to major hydration and GI issues caused by a autoimmune condition. It was suggested I use UCAN by Krista Austin Ph.D, Exercise Physiology & Sport Nutrition to help my body hydrate more effectively. She told me to use it before and after long runs and hard workouts. During that time, it made all the difference in the world in my ability to even run at all.

It’s been years since then and I’m still using UCAN. I’m healthy now but I continue to enjoy the benefits of the consistent energy UCAN provides. I no longer have GI issues and feel my body likes how easy UCAN is to digest and use. I fuel before long runs/hard workouts with the Cran-Raz and use the Chocolate protein after. I like to mix the Chocolate in my blender with peanut butter and sometimes a banana. I look forward to this treat after my long runs!

A bit of a warning, the pre workout powder tastes a bit chalky but it’s worth it. The post workout chocolate is quite good I think. My only complaint about UCAN is I find it to be a bit spendy. Must be worth it though because I’ve used it consistently for three years and don’t plan to stop anytime soon!

Very good GPS watch
4.0

I have been using this for over an year now. Ran around 600 miles so far using this and I’m quite satisfied with it. Good battery life, gets the signal relatively quickly. I’ve paired it with my HRM and also a foot pod. During indoor runs on treadmills it uses the foot pod to measure the distance and I’m ver impressed to say it is accurate to 0.02 miles. Overall nice gps watch. I’ve used it only for running and not for other sports yet.

Fresh Foam Zante
4.5

The Fresh Foam Zante have been the answer to my second pair of shoes to train in outside of my beloved 1400s, especially for those days I need a little more cush without sacrificing weight or flexibility.

The upper gets a 5+ score. Simple, sock line, amazing. I wish more shoes had an upper this great!

The last also gets a 5. The shoe is on a brand new VL-6 last which has a 6mm offset and slightly curved, which gives my toes plenty of room to spread out and be healthy and strong!

The shoe is more flexible than you would think, which is good and bad. Compared to the Fresh Foam Boracay, the flexibility was a welcome addition, but it also makes for not so good of a hilly trail shoe. My feet felt like they were working really hard on some of those runs. But if flexibility is for you, than maybe this is a good thing!

The simple one piece outsole & midsole is awesome and makes for a perfect road running shoe. On the other hand, it can make for a slippery trail shoe if the trails are muddy and wet.

Although I’ve seen some New Balance athletes love this shoe for tempos and faster days, I’ve preferred my 1400s with a stiffer shank while lending to a still flexible forefoot.

So although this shoe is perfect in most situations, the fact that it’s not an overall go-to shoe for every day (ie fast and hilly/muddy trail days) gives it a 4.5. Because I guess not every shoe I really like should get a 5 :)

Amaze Ball!
5.0

This ball surpasses all my expectations! I have had low back and SI joint issues and this ball keeps me running and working out to my full potential. I will never use a lacrosse ball or tennis ball ever again. I love how it doesn’t slip because of the gripping surface it has. I recommend this to anyone who uses foam rolling and self care to prevent and treat injury!

NAAWK fan
5.0
  • Amy reviewed 2 years ago

I’ve been using NAAWK spray sunscreen SPF 50 and 30 on myself and my kids throughout the summer, and I’ve become a fan. We’ve used it before swimming and running and have found it to be completely effective at preventing sunburns, an absolute must. I love how the nozzle works – the spray comes out very light and even to quickly cover the skin. I feel like I can cover my kids in sunscreen more quickly with this brand than others I’ve tried. The smell is pleasant, and I like supporting a product and company that is environmentally-friendly. NAAWK sent me quite a few samples of their sunscreen at the beginning of the summer which I shared with my running friends, and they give the product rave reviews as well. I highly recommend!

Innovative Suspension
5.0
  • Liz Anjos reviewed 3 years ago
  • last edited 3 years ago

I purchased the Verrazano Bra last fall and it quickly became my go-to sports bra. I think I have it in something like five colors now. It just fits perfectly. The band is snug without being tight. The multiple straps, designed after the Verrazano Bridge in NYC, provide comfortable and even support. The fabric is soft and breathable while remaining compressive. I’ve worn it up to 26.2 miles with absolutely no chafing issues. As a bonus, it comes with removable cups that add just a bit of shape and coverage, but the bra is fine on its own too. I like pairing it with a racerback tank, as the straps peek out for a fun pop of color.

Showing 1 - 25 of 67 results
Whether you’re looking for a new pair of running shoes, healing and recovery tools to keep you healthy, or a new watch, headlamp, apparel, or nutritional product, you’ve come to the right place. Read reviews from runners of the latest shoes and gear they use and love, reviews that span all running-related products and brands. Share reviews of your own! Use the Search, Category, and Sort fields on the main Shoes & Gear page to narrow your search and find exactly what you’re looking for.