Reviews

A definite favorite!
5.0
  • Amy reviewed 2 years ago

I’ve had a pair of the Lululemon Inspire Crop tights for a few years (so it’s probably a prior version), and among my many pairs of tights, they’re one of my most favorites. The fabric is soft and smooth against my skin, they fit really well through the hips and crotch (I hate saggy tights!), they have a flattering cut, and a nice rise, (not too low or too high). They breathe really well, so I don’t feel overheated even when I wear them to the gym for cardio. The back zip pocket is big enough to just barely fit my iPhone 5s, and the waistband pockets are great for gels, shot blocks, or a key. I’ve had them for years and they still look like new, they wear so well. Love them!

See and be seen throughout the winter months
5.0
  • Amy reviewed 1 year ago

Throughout the year, I usually run early in the morning, so in the winter months, it’s DARK (and usually rainy) outside. I wear a headlamp not only to see my footing and where I’m going, but also because it’s one of the best ways to quickly be seen by oncoming traffic and at intersections (i.e. avoid getting hit by a car or bike). I attach a small Nathan Strobe Light (http://www.amazon.com/Nathan-Strobe-Light-Tango-Size/dp/B0099LSWYM) to the back of the headlamp strap, and then I’m confident I can be seen from the front or the back without needing to wear a reflective vest or expensive reflective jacket.

I’ve run with a Petzl headlamp for a few years, but even after changing the batteries, I felt like the light was pretty dim. I searched on Amazon and found this yalumi headlamp with amazing reviews for only $15 and decided to give it a try. In short, I love it. It’s one of my best running-related purchases of the entire year. Super high yield for a great price. I’m amazed at how bright the light is – I can see SOOO much better on my early morning runs, so I’m not worried about stumbling or stepping in a pot hole. After some use, I felt like the light was dimming, but when I replaced the batteries, it was very bright again. The bright beam it casts is kind of narrow – I wish it were a little broader, but I’m still so happy with it. There are three settings on the headlamp: First touch, economy; Second touch, brightest setting; Third touch; strobe setting; Fourth touch; off. The headband is easy to adjust, and the light tilts very well so I can cast the light right were I want it, regardless of whether I’m wearing it right on my head or over a hat.

If you’re looking for a headlamp for dark runs or for an upcoming relay race, buy this one! It’s so bright and such a great price.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Rehab and recovery with Correct Toes
4.5
  • bcforster reviewed 2 years ago
  • last edited 2 years ago

Let me begin this review by saying that I am not the best at always taking care of my feet and legs. I often try to squeeze a run in before work which means I leave little, if any time for rolling, stretching, etc. And then as far as work goes, I stick my feet in 3-4 inch heels and head out the door, where I spend a majority of time in my car…sounds like a recipe for disaster, right? I have been dealing with injuries in both my Achilles Tendons since Boston and decided to purchase Correct Toes a couple of months ago. I had read about them a while back on Lauren Fleshman’s blog and was at the point in my recovery that I was willing to do and try anything if it meant I could get back out on the road and run. The first thing I noticed is how comfortable these toe spacers are. I have tried other, less expensive spacers in the past, but they were always awkward and uncomfortable and therefore I never used them much. The Correct Toes website recommends wearing the spacers in your shoes. I have not been using them this way (again, the 3-4 inch heels). Instead, I have been using them as a recovery tool after my morning runs and in the evenings when I am back home. In the morning, I simply put the spacers in after I shower and wear them while getting ready for work (multitasking at its best). They are very easy to walk in and it quickly has become part of my normal routine. And then, in the evening, I take off my heels and put the spacers in for a couple of hours. I love how the spacers help to stretch the muscles in my feet. I really feel like this is helping to take some of the load off of my Achilles’ and calves. I have already noticed that my toes are more aligned and I do feel this small step is part of the reason why I am back running double digit runs. I also love how they make me feel a little less guilty about not dedicating as much time to rolling…on those busy weekdays I am still doing something to take care of my body and keep me healthy in the future.

My form is improving with this shoe
5.0
  • Amy reviewed 2 years ago

The New Balance Fresh Foam 980 is the first 4mm drop shoe that has actually worked for me. I’ve tried the Brooks Pure Flow and Saucony Kinvara previously and they didn’t work out for me. It takes me several runs to decide what I think of a shoe, but after wearing the New Balance 980’s for dozens of miles, it’s promoting a more forefoot strike that is helping my right hip engage and help me run straighter!! My running form feels smoother as a result. It feels soft and supportive while remaining lightweight in feel. It feels stable and neutral underfoot, and I like that it has a slightly lower profile than more traditional running shoes.

I find myself reaching for this shoe time after time. I love rotating it with the New Balance Fresh Foam NYC Zante and the New Balance 1400.

Favorite running shirt!
5.0
  • Amy reviewed 3 years ago
  • last edited 3 years ago

I have this shirt in the gray color, and it’s definitely my favorite running shirt right now. I wish it was always clean! The fabric is soft and feels really cozy next to my skin. The weight is just right, not too thick or too thin. I love the fit and design of the fabric – the cut is very flattering and the fabric has nice design and detail. Perfect length. Runs true to size. Love the thumb holes. I just found out they make it in a short-sleeve version, too! I bought mine at the Nike Employee Store.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Definitely worth trying!!!
4.0

I had read several blogs of runners who use this product so when I was at REI picking up some fuel and I saw the Sport Legs I decided to give them a try.
Try them for the first time in a marathon, why not?? I followed the instructions and took them before the race. I did not take any during but could have after the 2 hour mark. While I can not say for sure that it was due to the Sport Legs this was by far the best my legs have felt in a race. I did not get the marathon burn until mile 24 and my legs felt really good after the race. Tired but they did not hurt. I did have post race soreness but way less than any of the other 10 marathons I have run.
I will be trying these again once I am doing long hard workouts again.

Fantastic shoe
5.0

I love the NB1400s. First run right out of the box is amazing. You can use this shoe for everything: trail running, road running, track workouts, races of all distances and it is even a fantastic everyday shoe AND hiking shoe! I did a 12mi hike in them and felt great. It fits like a glove and feels like nothing and to me it doesn’t get any better than that for a running shoe. The only downside is they wear out quickly, so you should replace often.

game changer
5.0

I started using UCAN 4-5 years ago after my chiropractor recommended it to me. I had been struggling with GI distress during races that were causing me to not fuel, bonk and have less than stellar performances. Justin told me that there was “a new product from this small company in Connecticut that some of the pros (MEB!) are starting to use and having some success. Its a little chalky, but you might want to look into it” I came home that day and looked on the Generation UCAN website. I read the science behind UCAN and it made sense to me, so I decided to order some…and it really has been a game changer for me. A couple of times, I have decided to try some other product, but I would experience GI distress and then come right back to UCAN. My favorite flavor is the tropical orange and I always recommend to people that they blend it…it helps to eliminate the chalkiness. I use the superstarch before runs and workouts, as well as before and during races including half marathons, marathons and a half ironman triathlon. The energy is long and sustained, as it helps your body get into a fat burning zone more quickly. I love how simple it made my fueling for my half ironman. Where most athletes were having to fuel every 45 minutes or so on the bike and then every 2-3 miles on the run, I fueled a total of 4 times during my race…once in T1, twice on the bike, and once in T2. I completed the race in just under 6 hours on about 600-700 calories and never once felt energy deprived or like I needed fuel. I recommend UCAN to anyone and everyone I talk to. It is a great product and has made all the difference for me.

Bulky but comfy
2.5

This is a decent training shoe especially if you need support, stability and cushioning. It does feel a bit bulky at first but for some days it can be a great training recovery shoe. I’ve worn it mostly on the roads as I find it a bit bulky and awkward for the trails.

Reaching for these shoes more and more
4.5
  • Amy reviewed 2 years ago
  • last edited 2 years ago

When it comes to shoes, I’m kind of like the Princess and the Pea. I’m pretty sensitive to change. My form changes slightly in each shoe, so it takes me several runs to determine what I think. After 11 runs in the Zantes, I think I’m ready to share my opinion.

I was really excited when I heard New Balance was pre-releasing their new running shoe, the Zante, for the NYC Marathon. I ordered it as soon as it was available. It’s a light-weight (6.5 oz for women), low-profile shoe (6mm drop) with more cushioning than just a racing flat. Most of my runs in the Zantes have been recovery/training runs on road, although I did wear them for a couple of mile-repeats on the track a few weeks ago. After a couple of repeats, I switched to the New Balance 1400, preferring them for track speed work over the Zante because I can “feel” the track better in the 1400. The extra cushioning in the Zante seemed to get in the way a bit for speed.

When I first put on the Zantes, I felt a band of prominent cushioning in the forefoot, just ahead of where my arch sits. I wondered if it would bother me, but I’ve gotten used to it and don’t really notice it when I run. (Other friends haven’t experienced the same prominent forefoot cushioning feel. It may just have to do with the shape of my foot.)

I love how light-weight the shoe is while still retaining enough cushioning to feel comfortable on a recovery run. I love the 6mm drop because it promotes a slightly more forefoot foot strike that helps me feel more smooth and symmetrical when I run. The toe box is slightly wider than some other New Balance shoes I’ve worn which is great! The tongue is sewn into the upper so it stays put. The upper is soft and flexible making the shoe feel almost cozy. I LOVE the laces – super soft to touch and the perfect width, so they stay tied securely. The style of the shoe is also super-cute, a fun bonus.

I’m giving the Zantes 4 stars instead of 5 because some days I still come home from a run going “hmmm, what do I think of this shoe?”. Some days they feel amazing, other days just okay. That’s why I love rotating them with a couple other shoes. However, I do notice myself reaching for them more and more, which means I must be liking them and adjusting to them. They’re definitely worth a try if you’re looking for a lightweight, neutral running shoe with a decent amount of cushioning. I love having them in my running shoe rotation.

Update – 5/18/15
In December, I severely injured my right heel while running a marathon. Coming back to running, my foot has been very sensitive to shoes, some making my foot feel really good, and my foot feeling really sore in others (limiting my running distances). Thanks to the review from bcforster, I had the courage to give the Zantes a try while I was still in the major healing phase. I was amazed that my foot felt so much better in the Zantes than in many of my other shoes. I think they encourage a good neutral foot motion and really allow my toes to spread. I still rotate them with other shoes, but the New Balance Fresh Foam Zantes have been great to keep me running as I recover from a foot injury, so I’m increasing my rating to 4.5 stars. Also, I think the reason I used to feel off in them some days is because I’ve discovered my right calf is tight and weak (and these shoes do have a lower drop, 6mm). When I do a good job of stretching my calves, I feel much smoother running in these shoes (and just running in general). Couldn’t live without my Zantes.

No "breaking in" required, less joint pain, no black toenails :)
5.0

I’m on my fifth pair of these…I love them. I’ve been running for 17 years, and these are by far my favorite shoe. Barefoot/minimalist running definitely changes your gait (shortens your stride and puts your feet under you instead of extended in front), so when I made the switch to these, I did it gradually to avoid being super sore. I wore them for short runs only at first, and built up to full-time wear over a couple of months. I’m so glad I did. I used to get sharp pain up under my toes sometimes, and never do now. If I ever put my regular running shoes on for a run, I feel that pain again, but for whatever reason, never do in the Five Fingers. I also have way less knee pain in these–almost none.

I ran my first full marathon last spring, and I ran them in these. Loved them every step of the way. Because they fit your feet like a glove, with spaces in between each toe, there’s no jamming of your feet/toes as you run step after step (read: no black or dead toenails). You don’t wear them with socks, which means no blisters. They really are like an extension of your foot. I love them. They’re all I wear now. And because I know what size I am, I can just order a new pair when I need to, slip them on, and go. No breaking them in. Mine have lasted around 500 miles before I wear a small hole in the sole and buy a new pair.

Fast, light, and good traction
5.0

I love this shoe! One thing I really like about this racing flat is the tackiness on the forefoot. Racing in the Pacific Northwest means alot of racing on wet roads. Unlike other racing flats, I know that when I go to make a move or power up a hill in a race I’m not going to loose ground by slipping with this shoe. The shoe is also feather light (5 oz). I wear these shoes for the half marathon and shorter. I also use this shoes for track work. They are fantastic on the track but yet cushioned enough to handle a long warm-up and cool down on the roads.

I'm a believer!!
5.0

After hearing about UCAN for over a year from some of my training partners I finally gave it a try about a year ago. I still remember the first time I tried it, I was just starting to train hard for Boston 2014 and I had a 14 miler with 8 at gmp. After asking many questions and getting tips on how to make it not so chalky I gave it a try. Whoa!! What a difference it made. I had lots of energy for my run and I had no GI distress. Plus I did not have to fuel during that run. For runs less than 20 miles I find that I do not need to fuel anymore during the run.
I usually 1/2 plain and 1/2 lemonade in a blender with some ice. I recommend that if you can you blend it. While it is still not my favorite thing to drink it works so well, it is worth it. I have since used it for many long hard workouts, 9 1/2 marathons and 2 full marathons. Before UCAN I struggled to fuel correctly during my workouts and races. I know have it figured out and am so happy with how I feel when I use UCAN. I highly recommend UCAN!!!!

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Fabulous lightweight shoe
5.0

The Sayonara is the updated version of the Mizuno Precision. It is a neutral and light-weight shoe. I like it for tempo runs on concrete roads because it has more cushioning than most light-weight and minimalist shoes. It also has a good sized toe box and feels great throughout my runs.

Definitely my new favorite water bottle
5.0
  • Amy reviewed 2 years ago
  • last edited 2 years ago

I first heard about Hydro Flask water bottles in July during a hot track workout. The water in my standard plastic water bottle soon tasted like bath water and was hard to stomach. Two friends told me that water in Hydro Flask water bottles stays cold for hours even on a hot summer day. Months later, I read reviews of the Hydro Flask, and I was intrigued. One reviewer said he left the water bottle in his hot car for hours and came back to still hear ice clinking in it. Another reviewer said she loved the water bottle so much she would buy it even if it cost $500. The reviews had me sold. I purchased the 40 oz. Hydro Flask with the optional straw lid (the hardest part was picking the color), and I love it. A few points:

  1. My water really does stay ice cold for hours. I can get my water bottle ready the night before a run or workout, and it’s still ice cold the next day. Amazing! I love being out the door for a workout a little faster in the wee hours of the morning when I’m all bleary-eyed.
  2. I love the 40 oz. size. Before, if I would be away from home for more than a 2-3 hours, I would have to bring two water bottles with me. No more! 40 oz. is plenty of water to keep me hydrated for hours.
  3. Even though the 40 oz. is a big water bottle, it’s narrow enough to fit in the cup holders of my car and my husband’s, a great feature.
  4. This water bottle does not sweat. That means I can leave it on my wooden desk without worrying it will create rings, ruining the surface.
  5. I love the optional straw lid so I don’t have to tip the bottle back every time I want a drink. It makes it much easier to drink on-the-go without spilling and to drink water safely while driving. The straw lid also has a handy notch on it so I can flip it up and down without having to touch the drinking surface, keeping it a little more free of germs. The straw lid also provides really good water flow.
  6. With my old plastic water bottle with straw lid, the water would gradually warm up, and when I flipped open the straw lid, water would come spilling out, creating a mess all over me, my car, or wherever I was. Because the water stays cold in my Hydro Flask bottle, I’ve never had the problem of flipping open the top and having water surge out.

While the water bottle is a little pricey (I paid $33.29 for mine on Amazon and another $9-10 for the straw lid), you really do get what you pay for. With a lifetime warranty, I plan on using this thing forever. I can’t wait to take it around in my car and to the track this summer.

A must for runners with lower-leg/foot pain
5.0
  • Amy reviewed 2 years ago
  • last edited 2 years ago

This past year, I’ve struggled with pain in my right heel and other parts of the foot. Correct Toes​ have helped decrease foot pain, increase range of motion through my Achilles, and allow me to run and train as much as I want to. I started wearing Correct Toes in March after sustaining a bad heel injury while running the CIM Marathon on December 7, 2014. I started running a little bit in mid-January, but I felt like my foot didn’t really turn the corner until I began stretching my calves several times a day and wearing Correct Toes regularly. Gradually I worked into wearing them several hours a day. I felt CT stretching out my feet and Achilles and even up into my calf initially, and they helped me increase my mileage and incorporate speed workouts again.

When I started doing speed workouts, I remember coming home from one session feeling like “Uh-oh, I might have messed up my foot tonight”. I put in Correct Toes when I got home and felt them stretch out my foot and all was well.

After my foot was feeling decent for a while, I tapered off wearing my Correct Toes just out of forgetfulness. In July, I went on an international trip where I didn’t run very much, and when I came home and started running again, my foot got pretty sore, and I was worried. I started wearing Correct Toes several hours a day and stretching my calves, and my foot felt so much better within 3-4 days.

I really want to see if they will straighten out my toes. As you can see from the attached picture, my toes angle out. I need to be more consistent at wearing them to see if they’ll straighten out my feet over time.

A couple of notes. I did do the pinky-toe modification where I cut off part of the last spacer that goes between the 4th and 5th toe. When I first started wearing them, they would shimmy out from between my toes so I would have to keep bending over and sticking them back in, pretty annoying. I contacted the company and they recommended I wear a loose sock over them, and that works perfectly at keeping them on as I’m walking around.

Honestly, if you’re having any kind of foot/Achilles pain, I highly recommend trying Correct Toes. The cost is less than one PT/Chiropractor/Massage appointment and totally worth it in my opinion.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
UCAN is the best fueling product I have used
4.5

I am not a huge endorser of products unless I truly believe in them. UCAN is one of those products that has made a impact in my running life. I was introduced to UCAN during a time when I could hardly run due to major hydration and GI issues caused by a autoimmune condition. It was suggested I use UCAN by Krista Austin Ph.D, Exercise Physiology & Sport Nutrition to help my body hydrate more effectively. She told me to use it before and after long runs and hard workouts. During that time, it made all the difference in the world in my ability to even run at all.

It’s been years since then and I’m still using UCAN. I’m healthy now but I continue to enjoy the benefits of the consistent energy UCAN provides. I no longer have GI issues and feel my body likes how easy UCAN is to digest and use. I fuel before long runs/hard workouts with the Cran-Raz and use the Chocolate protein after. I like to mix the Chocolate in my blender with peanut butter and sometimes a banana. I look forward to this treat after my long runs!

A bit of a warning, the pre workout powder tastes a bit chalky but it’s worth it. The post workout chocolate is quite good I think. My only complaint about UCAN is I find it to be a bit spendy. Must be worth it though because I’ve used it consistently for three years and don’t plan to stop anytime soon!

Great Recovery Day Shoe!
5.0

This shoe is perfect for those days following a workout or long run where I just want to sit back and spit out some slower miles – especially when I have to run on pavement, the softness of the Fresh Foam really helps take away that pounding feeling. I love the pillowy feel while still being extremely lightweight. Lastly, I really appreciate the simple upper and one piece midsole and outsole components – makes for a smooth ride regardless of whether you’re landing on your heel, mid or forefoot!

It will invite attention
5.0

I bought this tank because it was breathable and lightweight for the stair-master and running. Little did I know that it would attract so much attention! I get so many compliments on it! People that I have never seen or met often tell me that it looks so cool. And while it does its job of being extremely light and airy, be warned, you will want to purchase new sports bras to flaunt underneath.

NAAWK fan
5.0
  • Amy reviewed 2 years ago

I’ve been using NAAWK spray sunscreen SPF 50 and 30 on myself and my kids throughout the summer, and I’ve become a fan. We’ve used it before swimming and running and have found it to be completely effective at preventing sunburns, an absolute must. I love how the nozzle works – the spray comes out very light and even to quickly cover the skin. I feel like I can cover my kids in sunscreen more quickly with this brand than others I’ve tried. The smell is pleasant, and I like supporting a product and company that is environmentally-friendly. NAAWK sent me quite a few samples of their sunscreen at the beginning of the summer which I shared with my running friends, and they give the product rave reviews as well. I highly recommend!

protein enhanced UCAN for recovery, meal replacement, anything :)
5.0

I use protein enhanced UCAN (Vanilla Cream is my favorite) on a daily basis. It is a great post-run recovery drink and the super starch helps to keep your blood sugars stable after the workout. I love how I can drink it and it allows me enough time to come home, clean up and then make a good meal decision, instead of coming home after a workout starving and looking for anything to eat. I am also in my car a lot and spend a lot of time on I-5…as you know there are not always the healthiest food choices right off freeway exits. I always keep a packet or two in my car to have as a meal replacement or mid-afternoon snack. While it is great with just water, I also will blend it with things such as almond milk, almond butter, bananas, coconut water, etc…

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Adios Boost is a winner
5.0

The Adidas Adios Boost is the first racing flat to utilize the new “Boost” technology by Adidas and it is fantastic.

The Boost technology claims to return more energy return than any other midsole material used in the running industry. In addition it is not affected by the environment meaning it feels the same at 10 degrees as it does at 110 degrees. That in itself makes the shoe unlike any you have every written.

The Adios Boost uses a slimmer midsole than the Energy Boost and other midsoles in the Adidas running line. The midsole is very responsive and this shoe works for distances up to the half-marathon as well as track workouts and tempo runs. It is extremely responsive with a very breathable upper which comes in a variety of colors. The toe box is roomy and I did not find any stitching or other issues with the upper which would cause irritation.

The outsole has exposed areas of the Boost midsole, but the carbon rubber overlays wear well enough that I have not experienced any issues with the midsole being damaged or compromised over the life of the shoes. You will also likely notice that the outsole wears out before the midsole, which is unusual and gives further testament to the unique properties of the Boost technology.

If you have worn a previous version of the Adios you will find this upgrade very pleasing. The midsole feels softer without compromising performance and as noted above is very responsive. I’ve given the shoe 5 stars because quite frankly there are not a lot of racing flats out there that are comfortable enough to wear for everyday training, which if you like a minimal shoe, the Adios Boost would allow.

Give the Adios Boost a look if you want a lightweight responsive racing flat which can double as a lightweight trainer.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Can't believe they work so good!
5.0

Due to having a long second toe and a short big toe I am prone to pinched nerves in my feet, and have recently fought with a Morton’s Neuroma in my right foot. I wish that I’d found Toe Spacers sooner, as once I started using it my recovery time has sped up drastically. I’ve always been a “gear skeptic,” but I can’t say enough good things about using spacers to relieve the misery of a foot neuroma. I’m hoping that if I keep using them, the nerve pinches will be a thing of the past.

Innovative Suspension
5.0
  • Liz Anjos reviewed 2 years ago
  • last edited 2 years ago

I purchased the Verrazano Bra last fall and it quickly became my go-to sports bra. I think I have it in something like five colors now. It just fits perfectly. The band is snug without being tight. The multiple straps, designed after the Verrazano Bridge in NYC, provide comfortable and even support. The fabric is soft and breathable while remaining compressive. I’ve worn it up to 26.2 miles with absolutely no chafing issues. As a bonus, it comes with removable cups that add just a bit of shape and coverage, but the bra is fine on its own too. I like pairing it with a racerback tank, as the straps peek out for a fun pop of color.

still my favorite running socks
5.0

been buying these socks for about 5 years now – the cushion in the toe and heel is great, they’re super comfy, stay dry very well, and last pretty long as far as socks go (i put in 60-80 miles a week so i can plow through socks). a little pricey so i’m always looking for sales or discounts.

Showing 1 - 25 of 67 results
Whether you’re looking for a new pair of running shoes, healing and recovery tools to keep you healthy, or a new watch, headlamp, apparel, or nutritional product, you’ve come to the right place. Read reviews from runners of the latest shoes and gear they use and love, reviews that span all running-related products and brands. Share reviews of your own! Use the Search, Category, and Sort fields on the main Shoes & Gear page to narrow your search and find exactly what you’re looking for.