Reviews

Great Recovery Day Shoe!
5.0

This shoe is perfect for those days following a workout or long run where I just want to sit back and spit out some slower miles – especially when I have to run on pavement, the softness of the Fresh Foam really helps take away that pounding feeling. I love the pillowy feel while still being extremely lightweight. Lastly, I really appreciate the simple upper and one piece midsole and outsole components – makes for a smooth ride regardless of whether you’re landing on your heel, mid or forefoot!

A definite favorite!
5.0
  • Amy reviewed 2 years ago

I’ve had a pair of the Lululemon Inspire Crop tights for a few years (so it’s probably a prior version), and among my many pairs of tights, they’re one of my most favorites. The fabric is soft and smooth against my skin, they fit really well through the hips and crotch (I hate saggy tights!), they have a flattering cut, and a nice rise, (not too low or too high). They breathe really well, so I don’t feel overheated even when I wear them to the gym for cardio. The back zip pocket is big enough to just barely fit my iPhone 5s, and the waistband pockets are great for gels, shot blocks, or a key. I’ve had them for years and they still look like new, they wear so well. Love them!

My go-to racing flat
5.0
  • Amy reviewed 2 years ago
  • last edited 2 years ago

The New Balance 1400 has been my go-to racing flat for 2.5 years. It feels light, fast, and comfortable for track workouts and tempo runs and provides just enough cushioning to get me through a marathon. I use it regularly for speed workouts and races, but I like a little more cushioning for recovery days. My only wish is that the toe box was slightly roomier. FYI, after about 200 miles, this shoe is done for me, even when the tread looks okay.

BEST SHOE EVER!!!
5.0

Hands down. Best shoe ever. And I’ve ran in a lot of shoes. Why, do you ask? Because, everything. The upper fits so well that it feels like nothing is on your feet yet when you run you suddenly feel that perfect amount of cushion. Enough cushion for a marathon! And yet it’s oh so responsive. Racing a road mile in these, I did not feel like I was losing energy in the shoe at all. The shape of the shoe is perfect as well. The 1400 proves that someone with crazy flexible and flat feet like myself can get away with a shoe like this because of the way the shape lets my foot support itself when I run. And can we talk about the colors? Pretty, cute, fun, and glow in the dark. It doesn’t get better than that! I only wish that it was made in widths as the racing fit last is a bit narrow, so I run in a men’s version for the D width. Crazy how a shoe can be so many things at once – my trainer, my racer, my lover…wait…

game changer
5.0

I started using UCAN 4-5 years ago after my chiropractor recommended it to me. I had been struggling with GI distress during races that were causing me to not fuel, bonk and have less than stellar performances. Justin told me that there was “a new product from this small company in Connecticut that some of the pros (MEB!) are starting to use and having some success. Its a little chalky, but you might want to look into it” I came home that day and looked on the Generation UCAN website. I read the science behind UCAN and it made sense to me, so I decided to order some…and it really has been a game changer for me. A couple of times, I have decided to try some other product, but I would experience GI distress and then come right back to UCAN. My favorite flavor is the tropical orange and I always recommend to people that they blend it…it helps to eliminate the chalkiness. I use the superstarch before runs and workouts, as well as before and during races including half marathons, marathons and a half ironman triathlon. The energy is long and sustained, as it helps your body get into a fat burning zone more quickly. I love how simple it made my fueling for my half ironman. Where most athletes were having to fuel every 45 minutes or so on the bike and then every 2-3 miles on the run, I fueled a total of 4 times during my race…once in T1, twice on the bike, and once in T2. I completed the race in just under 6 hours on about 600-700 calories and never once felt energy deprived or like I needed fuel. I recommend UCAN to anyone and everyone I talk to. It is a great product and has made all the difference for me.

Crop running tights
5.0

Definitely my favorite running crops EVER!! I started running in crops about 2 years ago because I thought everyone wearing them looked super cute. After buying my first pair of these, not only were they super cute, but the fit was AMAZING. They have a little compression in them so everything stays in its place, but also stays warm so that knees don’t start to get achy on my longer runs. I wear these in 90 degree weather as well as 40 degree weather (which is freezing here in Southern California). Super cute colors!! Recommend these for EVERYONE!

Favorite running shirt!
5.0
  • Amy reviewed 3 years ago
  • last edited 3 years ago

I have this shirt in the gray color, and it’s definitely my favorite running shirt right now. I wish it was always clean! The fabric is soft and feels really cozy next to my skin. The weight is just right, not too thick or too thin. I love the fit and design of the fabric – the cut is very flattering and the fabric has nice design and detail. Perfect length. Runs true to size. Love the thumb holes. I just found out they make it in a short-sleeve version, too! I bought mine at the Nike Employee Store.

protein enhanced UCAN for recovery, meal replacement, anything :)
5.0

I use protein enhanced UCAN (Vanilla Cream is my favorite) on a daily basis. It is a great post-run recovery drink and the super starch helps to keep your blood sugars stable after the workout. I love how I can drink it and it allows me enough time to come home, clean up and then make a good meal decision, instead of coming home after a workout starving and looking for anything to eat. I am also in my car a lot and spend a lot of time on I-5…as you know there are not always the healthiest food choices right off freeway exits. I always keep a packet or two in my car to have as a meal replacement or mid-afternoon snack. While it is great with just water, I also will blend it with things such as almond milk, almond butter, bananas, coconut water, etc…

Fast, light, and good traction
5.0

I love this shoe! One thing I really like about this racing flat is the tackiness on the forefoot. Racing in the Pacific Northwest means alot of racing on wet roads. Unlike other racing flats, I know that when I go to make a move or power up a hill in a race I’m not going to loose ground by slipping with this shoe. The shoe is also feather light (5 oz). I wear these shoes for the half marathon and shorter. I also use this shoes for track work. They are fantastic on the track but yet cushioned enough to handle a long warm-up and cool down on the roads.

Lululemon running tights
5.0
  • Selltrack reviewed 3 years ago
  • last edited 3 years ago

Just discovered these gems this past winter and I LOVE THEM!!! They are compression tights so legs/muscles feel great, even on super long runs when knees get a little achy. They are thick but not too thick. Keep me very warm when it’s freezing out, and not too hot when temps are a little warmer. I’ve raced in these and trained in them, and EVERYONE NEEDS A PAIR. Totally worth the investment !

Best Ice Pack for Runners!
5.0
  • Amy reviewed 3 years ago

I adore this ice pack. I keep it in my freezer, so I can use it whenever something is achy or painful and needs to be iced. Even when frozen, it stays soft and flexible. When thawing, it stays perfectly dry so icing doesn’t become a wet mess. It can be used as a heat pack as well, but I’ve only used it for icing. They come in various sizes, are very reasonably priced, and are an Amazon Prime item! Love this ice pack!

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Lightweight training shoe
5.0

I wore the Mizuno Wave Elixir for years and was worried when they discontinued that line. The Sayonara was recommended to me as a similar shoe that provided neutral support. I love how lightweight they are and low to the ground without being a racing flat.

I love this shoe!!
5.0

I have been running in the 1400’s for a little over a year. I love this shoe. I can wear it on the trail or the road, on dry, wet or snowy surfaces and it always performs. I recent ran in very cold snowy conditions in the Midwest and it had the perfect amount of traction. It is very lightweight and I barely notice that I have shoes on at all. It provides the perfect amount of support for my neutral running self and I love how I can feel the road beneath my feet.
For my last marathon I had to wear a brand new pair out of the box, yes s major racing no no but when they get lost in the mail sometes you do what you have to do. I had absolutely no issues and I loved them!! I highly recommend this shoe!!

Beautiful Tank
5.0

This is simply a beautiful tank. It’s fitted without being tight and is made with the silkiest, softest fabric. The material is slightly thicker, so it’s perfect for 50º-65ºF mid-season weather and makes a nice layering piece. Fun fact: the tank just so happens to be named after my absolute favorite singer, Gwen Stefani.

Great all around racing shoe!
5.0

I absolutely love this shoe and have raced a 10K and a cross county race with this shoe. I would also wear it for a half marathon and maybe even a marathon. I pronate very badly so was very happy to find a race shoe with a little posting and support but is still very lightweight! I used to race in the 1400 but it just wasn’t enough support for me.

Innovative Suspension
5.0
  • Liz Anjos reviewed 2 years ago
  • last edited 2 years ago

I purchased the Verrazano Bra last fall and it quickly became my go-to sports bra. I think I have it in something like five colors now. It just fits perfectly. The band is snug without being tight. The multiple straps, designed after the Verrazano Bridge in NYC, provide comfortable and even support. The fabric is soft and breathable while remaining compressive. I’ve worn it up to 26.2 miles with absolutely no chafing issues. As a bonus, it comes with removable cups that add just a bit of shape and coverage, but the bra is fine on its own too. I like pairing it with a racerback tank, as the straps peek out for a fun pop of color.

I'm a believer!!
5.0

After hearing about UCAN for over a year from some of my training partners I finally gave it a try about a year ago. I still remember the first time I tried it, I was just starting to train hard for Boston 2014 and I had a 14 miler with 8 at gmp. After asking many questions and getting tips on how to make it not so chalky I gave it a try. Whoa!! What a difference it made. I had lots of energy for my run and I had no GI distress. Plus I did not have to fuel during that run. For runs less than 20 miles I find that I do not need to fuel anymore during the run.
I usually 1/2 plain and 1/2 lemonade in a blender with some ice. I recommend that if you can you blend it. While it is still not my favorite thing to drink it works so well, it is worth it. I have since used it for many long hard workouts, 9 1/2 marathons and 2 full marathons. Before UCAN I struggled to fuel correctly during my workouts and races. I know have it figured out and am so happy with how I feel when I use UCAN. I highly recommend UCAN!!!!

Flattering and Functional
5.0

There are so many factors that have to be just right when considering new running shorts. The way they fit, the way they look, and the way they move with you. All of those things considered, the Roga Shorts are it for me. My favorite feature is the wide waistband because it stays put without pinching in, creating a flattering silhouette. The main short material is light and stretchy, and most importantly, never rides up or chafes. The 4” inseam is the perfect length for me, though Oiselle offers a shorter option with the Mac Roga (1.75”) as well as the Long Roga (6”). As a plus, the back pocket is stretchy enough that it fits my iPhone 6. It looks silly, but it works!

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Can't believe they work so good!
5.0

Due to having a long second toe and a short big toe I am prone to pinched nerves in my feet, and have recently fought with a Morton’s Neuroma in my right foot. I wish that I’d found Toe Spacers sooner, as once I started using it my recovery time has sped up drastically. I’ve always been a “gear skeptic,” but I can’t say enough good things about using spacers to relieve the misery of a foot neuroma. I’m hoping that if I keep using them, the nerve pinches will be a thing of the past.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Best shoes ever!
5.0

I have two pairs of hot pink and neon green Asic Gel Kayanos. Not only do they look flashy and fast, they provide stability for my overpronation with enough foot coushion while not being heavy like many other shoes I have tried. I scrapped my GT2050 rut when I found these for great deals on Roadrunnersports.com. My sister in law that has bad knees just bought a pair of last years model for under $90 bucks at Nordstroms and loves them.

Fantastic shoe
5.0

I love the NB1400s. First run right out of the box is amazing. You can use this shoe for everything: trail running, road running, track workouts, races of all distances and it is even a fantastic everyday shoe AND hiking shoe! I did a 12mi hike in them and felt great. It fits like a glove and feels like nothing and to me it doesn’t get any better than that for a running shoe. The only downside is they wear out quickly, so you should replace often.

Definitely my new favorite water bottle
5.0
  • Amy reviewed 3 years ago
  • last edited 3 years ago

I first heard about Hydro Flask water bottles in July during a hot track workout. The water in my standard plastic water bottle soon tasted like bath water and was hard to stomach. Two friends told me that water in Hydro Flask water bottles stays cold for hours even on a hot summer day. Months later, I read reviews of the Hydro Flask, and I was intrigued. One reviewer said he left the water bottle in his hot car for hours and came back to still hear ice clinking in it. Another reviewer said she loved the water bottle so much she would buy it even if it cost $500. The reviews had me sold. I purchased the 40 oz. Hydro Flask with the optional straw lid (the hardest part was picking the color), and I love it. A few points:

  1. My water really does stay ice cold for hours. I can get my water bottle ready the night before a run or workout, and it’s still ice cold the next day. Amazing! I love being out the door for a workout a little faster in the wee hours of the morning when I’m all bleary-eyed.
  2. I love the 40 oz. size. Before, if I would be away from home for more than a 2-3 hours, I would have to bring two water bottles with me. No more! 40 oz. is plenty of water to keep me hydrated for hours.
  3. Even though the 40 oz. is a big water bottle, it’s narrow enough to fit in the cup holders of my car and my husband’s, a great feature.
  4. This water bottle does not sweat. That means I can leave it on my wooden desk without worrying it will create rings, ruining the surface.
  5. I love the optional straw lid so I don’t have to tip the bottle back every time I want a drink. It makes it much easier to drink on-the-go without spilling and to drink water safely while driving. The straw lid also has a handy notch on it so I can flip it up and down without having to touch the drinking surface, keeping it a little more free of germs. The straw lid also provides really good water flow.
  6. With my old plastic water bottle with straw lid, the water would gradually warm up, and when I flipped open the straw lid, water would come spilling out, creating a mess all over me, my car, or wherever I was. Because the water stays cold in my Hydro Flask bottle, I’ve never had the problem of flipping open the top and having water surge out.

While the water bottle is a little pricey (I paid $33.29 for mine on Amazon and another $9-10 for the straw lid), you really do get what you pay for. With a lifetime warranty, I plan on using this thing forever. I can’t wait to take it around in my car and to the track this summer.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Great tool!
5.0
  • MJA reviewed 2 years ago

I love this ball! At first I wasn’t sure if I wanted to spend $40 on a ball… but the lacrosse and tennis balls just weren’t working for me!

I have used the supernova on my glutes, quads, calves and hamstrings. It works really well and gets in super deep and immediately releases tension. I have friends ask to borrow it all the time!

I love how portable it is too! Worth every penny.

See and be seen throughout the winter months
5.0
  • Amy reviewed 2 years ago

Throughout the year, I usually run early in the morning, so in the winter months, it’s DARK (and usually rainy) outside. I wear a headlamp not only to see my footing and where I’m going, but also because it’s one of the best ways to quickly be seen by oncoming traffic and at intersections (i.e. avoid getting hit by a car or bike). I attach a small Nathan Strobe Light (http://www.amazon.com/Nathan-Strobe-Light-Tango-Size/dp/B0099LSWYM) to the back of the headlamp strap, and then I’m confident I can be seen from the front or the back without needing to wear a reflective vest or expensive reflective jacket.

I’ve run with a Petzl headlamp for a few years, but even after changing the batteries, I felt like the light was pretty dim. I searched on Amazon and found this yalumi headlamp with amazing reviews for only $15 and decided to give it a try. In short, I love it. It’s one of my best running-related purchases of the entire year. Super high yield for a great price. I’m amazed at how bright the light is – I can see SOOO much better on my early morning runs, so I’m not worried about stumbling or stepping in a pot hole. After some use, I felt like the light was dimming, but when I replaced the batteries, it was very bright again. The bright beam it casts is kind of narrow – I wish it were a little broader, but I’m still so happy with it. There are three settings on the headlamp: First touch, economy; Second touch, brightest setting; Third touch; strobe setting; Fourth touch; off. The headband is easy to adjust, and the light tilts very well so I can cast the light right were I want it, regardless of whether I’m wearing it right on my head or over a hat.

If you’re looking for a headlamp for dark runs or for an upcoming relay race, buy this one! It’s so bright and such a great price.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Fabulous lightweight shoe
5.0

The Sayonara is the updated version of the Mizuno Precision. It is a neutral and light-weight shoe. I like it for tempo runs on concrete roads because it has more cushioning than most light-weight and minimalist shoes. It also has a good sized toe box and feels great throughout my runs.

Showing 1 - 25 of 67 results
Whether you’re looking for a new pair of running shoes, healing and recovery tools to keep you healthy, or a new watch, headlamp, apparel, or nutritional product, you’ve come to the right place. Read reviews from runners of the latest shoes and gear they use and love, reviews that span all running-related products and brands. Share reviews of your own! Use the Search, Category, and Sort fields on the main Shoes & Gear page to narrow your search and find exactly what you’re looking for.