Reviews

I'm a believer!!
5.0

After hearing about UCAN for over a year from some of my training partners I finally gave it a try about a year ago. I still remember the first time I tried it, I was just starting to train hard for Boston 2014 and I had a 14 miler with 8 at gmp. After asking many questions and getting tips on how to make it not so chalky I gave it a try. Whoa!! What a difference it made. I had lots of energy for my run and I had no GI distress. Plus I did not have to fuel during that run. For runs less than 20 miles I find that I do not need to fuel anymore during the run.
I usually 1/2 plain and 1/2 lemonade in a blender with some ice. I recommend that if you can you blend it. While it is still not my favorite thing to drink it works so well, it is worth it. I have since used it for many long hard workouts, 9 1/2 marathons and 2 full marathons. Before UCAN I struggled to fuel correctly during my workouts and races. I know have it figured out and am so happy with how I feel when I use UCAN. I highly recommend UCAN!!!!

Flattering and Functional
5.0

There are so many factors that have to be just right when considering new running shorts. The way they fit, the way they look, and the way they move with you. All of those things considered, the Roga Shorts are it for me. My favorite feature is the wide waistband because it stays put without pinching in, creating a flattering silhouette. The main short material is light and stretchy, and most importantly, never rides up or chafes. The 4” inseam is the perfect length for me, though Oiselle offers a shorter option with the Mac Roga (1.75”) as well as the Long Roga (6”). As a plus, the back pocket is stretchy enough that it fits my iPhone 6. It looks silly, but it works!

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Can't believe they work so good!
5.0

Due to having a long second toe and a short big toe I am prone to pinched nerves in my feet, and have recently fought with a Morton’s Neuroma in my right foot. I wish that I’d found Toe Spacers sooner, as once I started using it my recovery time has sped up drastically. I’ve always been a “gear skeptic,” but I can’t say enough good things about using spacers to relieve the misery of a foot neuroma. I’m hoping that if I keep using them, the nerve pinches will be a thing of the past.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Best shoes ever!
5.0

I have two pairs of hot pink and neon green Asic Gel Kayanos. Not only do they look flashy and fast, they provide stability for my overpronation with enough foot coushion while not being heavy like many other shoes I have tried. I scrapped my GT2050 rut when I found these for great deals on Roadrunnersports.com. My sister in law that has bad knees just bought a pair of last years model for under $90 bucks at Nordstroms and loves them.

Fantastic shoe
5.0

I love the NB1400s. First run right out of the box is amazing. You can use this shoe for everything: trail running, road running, track workouts, races of all distances and it is even a fantastic everyday shoe AND hiking shoe! I did a 12mi hike in them and felt great. It fits like a glove and feels like nothing and to me it doesn’t get any better than that for a running shoe. The only downside is they wear out quickly, so you should replace often.

Definitely my new favorite water bottle
5.0
  • Amy reviewed 2 years ago
  • last edited 2 years ago

I first heard about Hydro Flask water bottles in July during a hot track workout. The water in my standard plastic water bottle soon tasted like bath water and was hard to stomach. Two friends told me that water in Hydro Flask water bottles stays cold for hours even on a hot summer day. Months later, I read reviews of the Hydro Flask, and I was intrigued. One reviewer said he left the water bottle in his hot car for hours and came back to still hear ice clinking in it. Another reviewer said she loved the water bottle so much she would buy it even if it cost $500. The reviews had me sold. I purchased the 40 oz. Hydro Flask with the optional straw lid (the hardest part was picking the color), and I love it. A few points:

  1. My water really does stay ice cold for hours. I can get my water bottle ready the night before a run or workout, and it’s still ice cold the next day. Amazing! I love being out the door for a workout a little faster in the wee hours of the morning when I’m all bleary-eyed.
  2. I love the 40 oz. size. Before, if I would be away from home for more than a 2-3 hours, I would have to bring two water bottles with me. No more! 40 oz. is plenty of water to keep me hydrated for hours.
  3. Even though the 40 oz. is a big water bottle, it’s narrow enough to fit in the cup holders of my car and my husband’s, a great feature.
  4. This water bottle does not sweat. That means I can leave it on my wooden desk without worrying it will create rings, ruining the surface.
  5. I love the optional straw lid so I don’t have to tip the bottle back every time I want a drink. It makes it much easier to drink on-the-go without spilling and to drink water safely while driving. The straw lid also has a handy notch on it so I can flip it up and down without having to touch the drinking surface, keeping it a little more free of germs. The straw lid also provides really good water flow.
  6. With my old plastic water bottle with straw lid, the water would gradually warm up, and when I flipped open the straw lid, water would come spilling out, creating a mess all over me, my car, or wherever I was. Because the water stays cold in my Hydro Flask bottle, I’ve never had the problem of flipping open the top and having water surge out.

While the water bottle is a little pricey (I paid $33.29 for mine on Amazon and another $9-10 for the straw lid), you really do get what you pay for. With a lifetime warranty, I plan on using this thing forever. I can’t wait to take it around in my car and to the track this summer.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Great tool!
5.0
  • MJA reviewed 2 years ago

I love this ball! At first I wasn’t sure if I wanted to spend $40 on a ball… but the lacrosse and tennis balls just weren’t working for me!

I have used the supernova on my glutes, quads, calves and hamstrings. It works really well and gets in super deep and immediately releases tension. I have friends ask to borrow it all the time!

I love how portable it is too! Worth every penny.

See and be seen throughout the winter months
5.0
  • Amy reviewed 1 year ago

Throughout the year, I usually run early in the morning, so in the winter months, it’s DARK (and usually rainy) outside. I wear a headlamp not only to see my footing and where I’m going, but also because it’s one of the best ways to quickly be seen by oncoming traffic and at intersections (i.e. avoid getting hit by a car or bike). I attach a small Nathan Strobe Light (http://www.amazon.com/Nathan-Strobe-Light-Tango-Size/dp/B0099LSWYM) to the back of the headlamp strap, and then I’m confident I can be seen from the front or the back without needing to wear a reflective vest or expensive reflective jacket.

I’ve run with a Petzl headlamp for a few years, but even after changing the batteries, I felt like the light was pretty dim. I searched on Amazon and found this yalumi headlamp with amazing reviews for only $15 and decided to give it a try. In short, I love it. It’s one of my best running-related purchases of the entire year. Super high yield for a great price. I’m amazed at how bright the light is – I can see SOOO much better on my early morning runs, so I’m not worried about stumbling or stepping in a pot hole. After some use, I felt like the light was dimming, but when I replaced the batteries, it was very bright again. The bright beam it casts is kind of narrow – I wish it were a little broader, but I’m still so happy with it. There are three settings on the headlamp: First touch, economy; Second touch, brightest setting; Third touch; strobe setting; Fourth touch; off. The headband is easy to adjust, and the light tilts very well so I can cast the light right were I want it, regardless of whether I’m wearing it right on my head or over a hat.

If you’re looking for a headlamp for dark runs or for an upcoming relay race, buy this one! It’s so bright and such a great price.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Fabulous lightweight shoe
5.0

The Sayonara is the updated version of the Mizuno Precision. It is a neutral and light-weight shoe. I like it for tempo runs on concrete roads because it has more cushioning than most light-weight and minimalist shoes. It also has a good sized toe box and feels great throughout my runs.

I'm completely addicted to my MobilityWOD Supernova
5.0
  • Amy reviewed 2 years ago

I originally learned about the Supernova last spring from my massage therapist. She sung its praises and credited it with overcoming a running injury. Initially I waited about three weeks to order thinking $40 was steep for a rolling tool. I finally purchased it, and this thing is worth every penny. At $40 bucks, if it saves one visit to a physical therapist or massage therapist, it’s already paid for itself. The nubby ends all around the ball really get into tight spots and break up fascia more effectively than any other rolling tool I’ve tried.

Originally I purchased the ball to help me with hamstring tightness and pain, and it worked like a charm. After a 21-mile marathon training run with 15-miles at marathon pace, I came home going “Uh-oh” in relation to subsequent hamstring pain and tightness. After rolling my hamstrings on the Supernova for a while, the bad tightness was gone and I was able to keep training uninterrupted.

Months later, I use the Supernova once or twice a day to roll out my glutes. My high glutes are habitually tight which prevents my SIs from moving properly (which can cause all kinds of other problems). When I relieve the tightness with the Supernova, my SIs move freely and I run straighter, more symmetrically, and healthier. Since beginning regular use of the Supernova, when I see my PT my alignment is almost straight on target. I credit the Supernova (as well as being diligent with strength exercises) with allowing my alignment to stay spot on despite heavy training because I’m regularly relieving tightness that would otherwise pull my low back and hips out of alignment.

I mainly use the Supernova to roll out my glutes and hamstrings, but I love using it for my low-back up against a wall as well. It also feels great to roll my feet on it.

As another benefit, it’s super easy to pack in a suitcase when I’m traveling. I love this thing! I’m totally addicted.

My form is improving with this shoe
5.0
  • Amy reviewed 2 years ago

The New Balance Fresh Foam 980 is the first 4mm drop shoe that has actually worked for me. I’ve tried the Brooks Pure Flow and Saucony Kinvara previously and they didn’t work out for me. It takes me several runs to decide what I think of a shoe, but after wearing the New Balance 980’s for dozens of miles, it’s promoting a more forefoot strike that is helping my right hip engage and help me run straighter!! My running form feels smoother as a result. It feels soft and supportive while remaining lightweight in feel. It feels stable and neutral underfoot, and I like that it has a slightly lower profile than more traditional running shoes.

I find myself reaching for this shoe time after time. I love rotating it with the New Balance Fresh Foam NYC Zante and the New Balance 1400.

My favorite tank!!
5.0

Hands down my ultimate favorite tank to run in during hot weather or indoor exercise is the Nike Fly Tank . The breathable material combined with the minimal design provides ultimate airflow for optimal cooling. If you have ever wanted to go sports bra on a treadmill or machine but its against the gym dress code, this tank is for you. Now as a pregnant runner, I also prefer not showing off my bare belly when running, so this gives just enough coverage without the excess fabric. Goal accomplishing – staying as cool as possible in the heat of Arizona. I love the t-back design.

Bring on the Rain
5.0
  • Amy reviewed 6 months ago

I have been searching for the ultimate waterproof and breathable running jacket for about four years as I live in the Portland, Oregon area and run in steady rain frequently. With an especially wet October this year, I renewed my quest and decided to give The North Face Hyper Air GTX jacket a try. I was intrigued it is made from a brand new Gore-tex Active material that claims to be ultra breathable and have a permanent beading surface.

Out of the box, I was impressed with how light and thin the jacket is. I tried it on and found the fit to be tailored and flattering, definitely a well-constructed jacket. The hood fits perfectly, there are two deep zip-pockets at the front, the sleeves are nice and long, and there’s adequate room through the shoulders. I like that it dips slightly longer in the back.

My first run in the jacket was nine miles in steady rain (probably 70-75 minutes) in the mid-50’s. I layered a thin wool running t-shirt underneath. The hood was comfortable and stayed on without a problem. I felt damp through my forearms where my arms were bare under the jacket, but I was still comfortable. All the way to the end of the run, water was still beading on the surface of the jacket. After the run, I took it off and was shocked that much of my shirt was still dry. I was a little wet through the center of my chest, but I hadn’t zipped the jacket up entirely for the whole run, so I figured some water had leaked in down my neck. I wasn’t overly sweaty either, just the normal amounts from running (it’s actually breathable!). I was tentatively quite excited that I might have found “the one”.

Since that run, I’ve worn it in two more very rainy runs, both in the low to mid-50’s. One run was 90 minutes with rain coming down so hard in parts I might as well have been standing under a rain gutter. When I got home, my shirt was visibly damp through the chest and shoulders (I think from rain coming down my neck again – I need to see if wearing a hat with a bill eliminates this problem), but there were parts of my shirt that were still visibly dry and the hair on top of my head was completely dry from wearing the hood. I couldn’t believe it! Even more, rather than rushing to the shower right after the run, I took my time stretching, doing core, eating breakfast, and I wasn’t freezing.

I have washed the jacket in the washing machine (on cold, hang dry), and it hasn’t affected the waterproof performance at all. The waterproof properties come from the material itself, not from a coating that can wear off. The jacket really lives up to its claims of being waterproof and breathable.

To view my full blog post on this jacket, visit http://runningfavorites.com/bring-rain-north-face-hyper-air-gtx-jacket-review/

Review for Brooks Adrenaline GTS 14 women's running shoe
5.0

I recently started to run in Brooks Adrenaline GTS 14 shoe. I would have never selected these shoes but a good friend within the running community asked me to run in them. I am very selective on my running shoes because I have flat feet and have been told many times that I should run in motion control shoes or add inserts for support to my shoes. So for years, I wore Asics Evolution, Asics Foundation, and Saucony Stabil, and didn’t have any problem with my arches. If I ever tried to run more than 3 miles in any other shoe, my feet would begin hurting because the shoes just lacked the support that my feet required.
When my friend fitted me with the Brooks Adrenaline, she told me to go up ½ size up from what I typically had been running in (I typically would wear a 7-1/2 and went up to an 8). She recommended the increase in size because of the high mileage I was doing and she couldn’t have been more right. The shoe is also lighter than what I was currently running in and I noticed it as soon as I laced up and went out for my first run on my new shoes. I highly recommend this shoe to individuals who are flat footed or overpronators. Happy Running!

Amaze Ball!
5.0

This ball surpasses all my expectations! I have had low back and SI joint issues and this ball keeps me running and working out to my full potential. I will never use a lacrosse ball or tennis ball ever again. I love how it doesn’t slip because of the gripping surface it has. I recommend this to anyone who uses foam rolling and self care to prevent and treat injury!

NAAWK fan
5.0
  • Amy reviewed 2 years ago

I’ve been using NAAWK spray sunscreen SPF 50 and 30 on myself and my kids throughout the summer, and I’ve become a fan. We’ve used it before swimming and running and have found it to be completely effective at preventing sunburns, an absolute must. I love how the nozzle works – the spray comes out very light and even to quickly cover the skin. I feel like I can cover my kids in sunscreen more quickly with this brand than others I’ve tried. The smell is pleasant, and I like supporting a product and company that is environmentally-friendly. NAAWK sent me quite a few samples of their sunscreen at the beginning of the summer which I shared with my running friends, and they give the product rave reviews as well. I highly recommend!

No "breaking in" required, less joint pain, no black toenails :)
5.0

I’m on my fifth pair of these…I love them. I’ve been running for 17 years, and these are by far my favorite shoe. Barefoot/minimalist running definitely changes your gait (shortens your stride and puts your feet under you instead of extended in front), so when I made the switch to these, I did it gradually to avoid being super sore. I wore them for short runs only at first, and built up to full-time wear over a couple of months. I’m so glad I did. I used to get sharp pain up under my toes sometimes, and never do now. If I ever put my regular running shoes on for a run, I feel that pain again, but for whatever reason, never do in the Five Fingers. I also have way less knee pain in these–almost none.

I ran my first full marathon last spring, and I ran them in these. Loved them every step of the way. Because they fit your feet like a glove, with spaces in between each toe, there’s no jamming of your feet/toes as you run step after step (read: no black or dead toenails). You don’t wear them with socks, which means no blisters. They really are like an extension of your foot. I love them. They’re all I wear now. And because I know what size I am, I can just order a new pair when I need to, slip them on, and go. No breaking them in. Mine have lasted around 500 miles before I wear a small hole in the sole and buy a new pair.

A must for runners with lower-leg/foot pain
5.0
  • Amy reviewed 2 years ago
  • last edited 2 years ago

This past year, I’ve struggled with pain in my right heel and other parts of the foot. Correct Toes​ have helped decrease foot pain, increase range of motion through my Achilles, and allow me to run and train as much as I want to. I started wearing Correct Toes in March after sustaining a bad heel injury while running the CIM Marathon on December 7, 2014. I started running a little bit in mid-January, but I felt like my foot didn’t really turn the corner until I began stretching my calves several times a day and wearing Correct Toes regularly. Gradually I worked into wearing them several hours a day. I felt CT stretching out my feet and Achilles and even up into my calf initially, and they helped me increase my mileage and incorporate speed workouts again.

When I started doing speed workouts, I remember coming home from one session feeling like “Uh-oh, I might have messed up my foot tonight”. I put in Correct Toes when I got home and felt them stretch out my foot and all was well.

After my foot was feeling decent for a while, I tapered off wearing my Correct Toes just out of forgetfulness. In July, I went on an international trip where I didn’t run very much, and when I came home and started running again, my foot got pretty sore, and I was worried. I started wearing Correct Toes several hours a day and stretching my calves, and my foot felt so much better within 3-4 days.

I really want to see if they will straighten out my toes. As you can see from the attached picture, my toes angle out. I need to be more consistent at wearing them to see if they’ll straighten out my feet over time.

A couple of notes. I did do the pinky-toe modification where I cut off part of the last spacer that goes between the 4th and 5th toe. When I first started wearing them, they would shimmy out from between my toes so I would have to keep bending over and sticking them back in, pretty annoying. I contacted the company and they recommended I wear a loose sock over them, and that works perfectly at keeping them on as I’m walking around.

Honestly, if you’re having any kind of foot/Achilles pain, I highly recommend trying Correct Toes. The cost is less than one PT/Chiropractor/Massage appointment and totally worth it in my opinion.

Excellent running socks with awesome padding
5.0
  • Miriam reviewed 3 years ago
  • last edited 3 years ago

Bought 2 pairs of Thorlo Experia running socks and liked them so much that I went back to Dicks Sporting Goods store and bought 2 additional pairs. Dicks had a sale (Buy 1 get 2nd half off). Since they are about $15 a pair, it was a good deal. Now I have 4 pairs and wear them all the time for running, gym and in the house….I have them in almost every color (pink/purple/yellow/gray).
These socks have excellent padding in the heel and forefoot, but not too much padding…just enough. They also seem to hold up in the washer well and be made out of quality material. Since I bought them, I have been telling my friends about them and they all went out and bought a few pairs for running as well. You can’t go wrong with these socks.

This ball changed my life
5.0
  • sabes reviewed 2 years ago

Seriously-I love this ball. This past summer, I was running some high mileage while training for a couple of half marathons. As a result, I started to experience tightness in my SI. My friend kept telling me about the Supernova. Unfortunately, it took me awhile to be convinced. It wasn’t until the tightness in my SI left me completely unable to run that I decided to give the Supernova a try.

I’m so glad I did. I use this ball daily. It has decreased the tightness in my lower back, hip, hamstrings and SI. My husband also swears by it for his quads and even back. In the past, I’ve used foam rollers. They have nothing on the Supernova. This ball allows me to move my body easily in several directions, all while maintaining pressure and relieving tightness.

My husband and I swear by this ball. It goes everywhere with us. I wish I had bought it years ago.

still my favorite running socks
5.0

been buying these socks for about 5 years now – the cushion in the toe and heel is great, they’re super comfy, stay dry very well, and last pretty long as far as socks go (i put in 60-80 miles a week so i can plow through socks). a little pricey so i’m always looking for sales or discounts.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Adios Boost is a winner
5.0

The Adidas Adios Boost is the first racing flat to utilize the new “Boost” technology by Adidas and it is fantastic.

The Boost technology claims to return more energy return than any other midsole material used in the running industry. In addition it is not affected by the environment meaning it feels the same at 10 degrees as it does at 110 degrees. That in itself makes the shoe unlike any you have every written.

The Adios Boost uses a slimmer midsole than the Energy Boost and other midsoles in the Adidas running line. The midsole is very responsive and this shoe works for distances up to the half-marathon as well as track workouts and tempo runs. It is extremely responsive with a very breathable upper which comes in a variety of colors. The toe box is roomy and I did not find any stitching or other issues with the upper which would cause irritation.

The outsole has exposed areas of the Boost midsole, but the carbon rubber overlays wear well enough that I have not experienced any issues with the midsole being damaged or compromised over the life of the shoes. You will also likely notice that the outsole wears out before the midsole, which is unusual and gives further testament to the unique properties of the Boost technology.

If you have worn a previous version of the Adios you will find this upgrade very pleasing. The midsole feels softer without compromising performance and as noted above is very responsive. I’ve given the shoe 5 stars because quite frankly there are not a lot of racing flats out there that are comfortable enough to wear for everyday training, which if you like a minimal shoe, the Adios Boost would allow.

Give the Adios Boost a look if you want a lightweight responsive racing flat which can double as a lightweight trainer.

It really works!!!
5.0

I have had many issues with tight hamstrings, glutes, hips, quads, and IT band. I previously used a mix of the foam roller and a lacrosse ball to work out my tightness but found that the foam roller didn’t go deep enough and the lacrosse ball almost went too deep. This ball is the answer and it really works well. If I am tight at all after a long run or workout, I spend a little time rolling out the area. When I wake up the next day, I’m almost surprised to find the tightness gone. But it is! It’s like a targeted sports massage but better because I can use it whenever I need it! I highly recommend the Supernova!

It will invite attention
5.0

I bought this tank because it was breathable and lightweight for the stair-master and running. Little did I know that it would attract so much attention! I get so many compliments on it! People that I have never seen or met often tell me that it looks so cool. And while it does its job of being extremely light and airy, be warned, you will want to purchase new sports bras to flaunt underneath.

Exactly what I wanted in a GPS watch
5.0
  • Amy reviewed 2 years ago

I’ve run with an older Garmin, the Forerunner 305 model, for several years. It worked perfectly but was so heavy and bulky that the only time I used it was on tempo runs and some long runs. I kept wanting to buy a new Garmin but had a hard time justifying the cost when my current GPS watch worked perfectly. Fast forward to Hood to Coast a few weeks ago. The weather was chilly and wet on my night and early-morning legs, but my GPS watch was so bulky I couldn’t even put on and take off a warm-up coat over my Forerunner 305. A few girls in my van had the Forerunner 220 and loved theirs, so I bought one on Amazon (for about $200) before we even reached the beach. So far after 13 runs, varying from long, interval, tempo, and recovery runs, I love it.

Size: Even though the watch face looks large for a small wrist (see photo), the watch feels light and unnoticeable on my wrist. I actually think the design of the watch is pretty cute.

Accuracy: After 13 runs, I feel confident in the accuracy of the watch. One morning I wore it for 800 repeats on the track, and each interval consistently measured 0.50 miles.

Lap Pace: I love this model over the more basic Forerunner 10 because it includes lap pace. This field is so important when I’m on a tempo run or doing off-track repeats so I can see what pace I’m trending for the current lap. There is also a lap button, so it’s easy to start a new lap (repeat) at any point in a workout.

Fields: The only fields I really care about on a GPS watch are time, distance, average pace, lap distance, lap pace, lap time, and time of day. The 220 offers all of these fields and several more. When in use, I have access to three screens on the Garmin 220. There are three customizable fields for screens one and two, and the third screen displays time of day.

Wristwatch: As compared to my old 305, I love that the 220 can remain on all the time and be used as a wristwatch. Because the time of day is synced with satellites, it’s perfectly accurate. Awesome.

Bluetooth: The 220 syncs via Bluetooth with my iPhone. When in unlocked mode, it can connect to my phone and sync my runs with Garmin Connect. I have Garmin Connect set up to link automatically with Strava, so my run data is all there almost instantly when I finish running.

So far, I feel like this was $200 well spent, even with my old GPS still workable. The lighter/smaller profile, ability to use as a wristwatch, and the Bluetooth syncing feature have made it a worthwhile purchase.

Showing 1 - 25 of 67 results
Whether you’re looking for a new pair of running shoes, healing and recovery tools to keep you healthy, or a new watch, headlamp, apparel, or nutritional product, you’ve come to the right place. Read reviews from runners of the latest shoes and gear they use and love, reviews that span all running-related products and brands. Share reviews of your own! Use the Search, Category, and Sort fields on the main Shoes & Gear page to narrow your search and find exactly what you’re looking for.